We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorhiti Apartments

Save Saved
You added Lorhiti Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lorhiti Apartments
Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cosy home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed here recently for 4 nights during my first visit to Lord Howe.
I cannot saty enough good things about Lorhiti.
From the pickup at the local airport to the drop off 5 days later, property managers Pete and Deb were always available as needed, gave informative tips and most importantly, maintained a friendliness and honesty throughout that made me feel immediately welcome.
The property itself is beautifully maintained with some amazing gardens that blend very well with the native vegetation.
The location is great: close to town centre and Ned's Beach, and I was there during muttonbird mating season so enjoyed the dusk walks down to the nearby Kentia palm forest to watch them come in in their hundreds from the ocean.
The rooms are spacious, clean, basic and well maintained: I cant comment too much here as I only spent the nights here: rest of the time was far too active enjoying the adventures available on LHI!
Will definitely return here, well recommended.
(I only gave 4 rather than 5 stars for sleep quality ONLY because the calling of the muttonbirdfs kept me awake, in a good way!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review . It really sounds as though you had a fantastic time and were well looked after by Deb & Pete . It is lovely to hear that you felt so welcomed on arrival and throughout your stay and that you enjoyed the garden , location and apartment .

We do hope you will return for another visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    27
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
123
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and two friends stayed here mid November as our first ever visit to Lord Howe. Beautifully maintained property, large spacious bedroom, ensuite and fully self contained kitchen/lounge/dining combined villa.
Located close to town centre and popular Ned's Beach, short walk to culinary delights, like Pandanus and Greenbacks if you decide that cooking while on holidays is not your style.
Hosts were terrific and obliging and always near by if you needed help, a lift or advise.
We all enjoyed our stay and will most likely be returning.

Room Tip: As all properties on Lord Howe use tank water, confirm hot water stability from shower prior to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks very much for taking time to post a review . We are so pleased that your group all enjoyed your stay and found the close proximity to town and beautiful Ned's beach a bonus .

Thank you for making mention of your hosts Deb & Pete . They are always willing to help the guests in any way possible and it is always nice for them to hear that their efforts are appreciated .

We look forward to welcoming you back soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband, John, and I spent 7 fabulous nights at Lorhiti Apartments and cannot recommend it highly enough. It was well equipped and clean with good storage, including wardrobes. The bedroom was spacious and the king-sized bed super comfortable. The outlook from the room was over the well-maintained garden and verdant. Each apartment is equipped with a verandah from which you can sit and enjoy an aperitif whilst watching the Golden Whistler and white terns flit around the branches. Barbecue facilities under cover of a pergola were available and modern. Set near the top of the hill above the lagoon it is only a 5 minute cycle "home" from the lagoon, whilst a 5 minute walk will take you from your apartment through the palm forest along Lorhiti's private track to Ned's Beach.
Onsite managers, Deb and Pete were on hand whenever they were needed and provided a wealth of information. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel very welcome.
A communal phone is available on the premises (60c for a local call, useful for booking restaurants and activities). There is no mobile phone connectivity on the island. Internet access was free at Lorhiti - although a little patchy when the weather was inclement, as was the TV reception.
Lorhiti Apartments will definitely be our Number One choice on our hoped for return trip to Lord Howe Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review and wonderful recommendation of Lorhiti as your number one choice to other travellers .

We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and also hear that you would like to return .

We look forward to welcoming you back with the same great service and amenities .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Lorhiti for 3 nights in September 2013. From the moment we arrived at Lorhiti we were made to feel like old friends welcomed home by the caretakers Deb and Pete. Our room was spacious, quiet, spotlessly clean and with everything, and more, than we would need. Lorhiti is located near the top of the hill of the main loop of accommodation, stores and resturants on Lord Howe Island. It is a short steep ride near the end from town, but it really only takes a few minutes to ride or walk up. Deb and Pete are absolutely lovely and cannot do enough to make sure your stay enjoyable. We would highly recommend staying at Lorhiti - it has everything you could want for a relaxing stay on Lord Howe Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review . It is so nice for us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and especially how welcomed you felt on arrival when you met our caretakers Deb & Pete .

It is great to know you found the apartment quiet , spotlessly clean and with everything you needed for a relaxing holiday .

Thank you for highly recommending Lorhiti to other guests . We do hope to look after you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just spent 7 nights at Lorhiti Apartments.Everything you require is supplied. Pete and Deb are fabulous. Nothing is too much trouble. I would hazard a guess that they are the best on the island!

We had the most relaxing wonderful holiday (and it really was a holiday with no mobile phone access!). Lord Howe Island is so beautiful. There is so much to see and do. We think it is the best holiday we have ever had.

We would not stay anywhere else on the Island except Lorhiti. The accomodation was so comfortable, clean and welcoming. We went out every night for dinner. It was such a treat to be taken to a restaurant and then driven back to Lorhiti again.

We loved walking along Lorhiti's lovely private path to Ned's Beach and swimming and seeing those amazing fish. The family of Woodhens living in the tropical garden at Lorhiti was a bonus to see.

Deb and Pete were great to talk to. They couldn't have done more for us. They made you feel so welcome and they made you feel so relaxed. We had lots of laughs together.

I was so excited about coming to Lord Howe Island and Lorhiti. It was more beautiful than I ever could have imagined.

Hopefully we can visit again one day.
Andrea

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review . It is fantastic for other guests to hear what you thought about your stay at Lorhiti .

Our caretakers Deb & Pete are pretty special people and it really shows in all the fantastic comments and reviews that the guest send us . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that they looked after you so well .

From reading your review it shows that you really did have a wonderful holiday and enjoyed everything on offer at Lorhiti . It is rewarding for all of us to know that you had the holiday you dreamed of and everything met your expectations .

We look forward to looking after you next holiday .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Lord Howe is an amazing place, and these apartments are well situated close to Ned's beach, where the fish will nibble your toes. Nice gardens. Pleasant apartment, but not furnished to luxury standard, and some of the kitchen cupboards smelt a bit musty - I suspect most guests eat out rather than self-cater. 5 stars for the island, 4 for the accommodation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your Lord Howe island experience with others . We are so glad that you appreciated the beauty of the gardens and found the apartments well situated . We are very lucky to have the close proximity to Ned's Beach . It really is a beautiful beach to swim , snorkel and hand feed the fish .

We do hope to look after you again when next you visit beautiful Lord Howe .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went to Lord Howe for a quiet relaxing holiday – we got it. Lorhiti typified LHI – it was laid back, it had birds and plants in a garden setting and it was delightfully quiet. It has two outdoor undercover areas including the bbq area. Its location is great – easy walking distance to everything – it is up a small hill but not a hard walk. It has its own easy bush track down to Ned’s Beach where feeding the fish had us acting like kids (we are both in our 50’s).
Lorhiti is small and consists of six units. Each unit has a front verandah which is perfect for coffee or the afternoon drinks or doing nothing. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and blankets. We had spare towels; the kitchen had all the necessary things for self catering; there is a tv and dvd player; the lounge was very comfortable. Plenty of room for two people. The unit was very clean and well maintained.
We were met at the airport as promised and given a guided tour of the island by Di. We were driven to our restaurant every evening and someone from the restaurant drove us home afterwards. We could have walked to the restaurants but were lazy. Having read on tripadvisor about Pete and Deb, we didn’t meet them as they were on holidays. Instead we met Di and Jessie. They were great – cheery, fun, bubbly, very happy to help or advise or talk about the island. Their energy was daunting.
There is no mobile phone reception on LHI, we didn’t try to do internet, we took ebook readers. We didn’t hire bikes – we happily walked everywhere. We saw everything we wanted to. We had a great time. Lorhiti was a special part of it.

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 6 have only one shared wall - others have 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of your stay at Lorhiti .

We really appreciate you taking so much time to detail your experience for others to share . You have covered everything that we offer in such a positive light and while thanking you for your review , we are also mindful and happy that we were able to meet your expectations and provide a service and special place for you to enjoy your stay .

We are sorry you didn't get to meet Deb & Pete , whilst they enjoyed a well earned holiday but so glad that you were able to be looked after well by Di & Jess .

We very much enjoyed having you with us and hope to look after you again on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lorhiti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorhiti Apartments

Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LORHITI BOUTIQUE SUITES. An oasis of seclusion in one of the best locations on Lord Howe Island, Lorhiti is the closest resort to stunning Ned's Beach and central to Island facilities, beaches, tours, and attractions.Six Bali/Thai style one bedroom King Suite apartments surrounded by a 2 hectare oasis of secluded tropical gardens. Property Features: BBQ, gazebo, laundry, private beach access, stunning gardens, transit lounge and library, away from main roads, public telephone, free evening transport to restaurants, 24 hour caretaker. Rooms Features: modern amenities, flat screen TV/CD/DVD, free movies, free in-room Wi-Fi, king or twin king single beds, full kitchen, sandwish press , airy veranda's, ceiling fans, insect screens, King & King single bed, en suite bathroom, electric blankets and heater, excellent lighting, beach towels, linen, towels, ceiling fans, coffee plunger and sandwich press, iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, back pack, hair dryer, clock radio, sarongs and bathrobes, insect spray and air freshener, torch, games and cards and umbrella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lorhiti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorhiti Apartments Hotel Lord Howe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorhiti Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.