We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorhiti Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lorhiti Apartments to your Saves list
Lorhiti Apartments
Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Paradise....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Don't expect a flash 5-star Noosa style resort, but Lorhiti suited us perfectly and ticked all the right boxes. The one-bedroom units are spacious and comfortable and include a fully equippped kitchen. Bedding is excellent and there was plenty of storage space in the bedroom. There was also an ensuite shower/toilet and front verandah with outdoor setting. The gardens are beautiful and there is a gazebo with BBQ and dining setting. It was a short walk through the rainforest to Ned's beach. It was a slightly longer walk to Lagoon Beach and the shops and restaurants, but that didn't bother our party. Some extras which were really handy were an umbrella, backpack, insect spray (not that we were particularly bothered by mossies) and torch. Di and family are excellent, friendly hosts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Marian , thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our resort . We always value feedback from our guests and I know future visitors enjoy reading about other guest experiences . It is good to hear you found the units spacious and comfortable and enjoyed the extras small items provided in the apartment .
We look forward to looking after you again when next you visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    28
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
139
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

From the time Diane Owens met us at the airport until her daughter, Jess, returned us a week later, we enjoyed an excellent, friendly, thoughtful and very comfortable stay at beautiful Lorhiti Apartments. Diane's warm, friendly greeting set the tone not only for Lorhiti, but for our total experience on Lord Howe Island. Diane and Jess were particularly caring in arranging for a doctor at the hospital to examine my wife Marianne after her fall when boarding the plane in Sydney. On Valentine's Day, Diane left delicious muffins wrapped in pink on guests' decks! Our apartment was comfortable, well equipped and faced onto luxuriant gardens front and back. It is just a short walk to Ned's Beach through a lush forest. We made friends with other guests and enjoyed wine and a barbeque together in the garden. Sadly, the week evaporated too quickly. Thanks Diane and Jess. We look forward to our next visit and of course will stay at Lorhiti, our home on Lord Howe Island!

Room Tip: All apartments are eqally suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you Miles for your fabulous review . We are so pleased your stay was a pleasant and enjoyable one, and your feedback is greatly appreciated. Di & Jess were only too happy to look after you and were happy to hear that you appreciated the fresh Muffins on Valentines day . We look forward to welcoming you back home again for your next stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just home from our week on Lord Howe Island and our stay at Lorhiti. Great accommodtion, comfy king size beds and all the amenities you could want. Deb and Peter were always willing to help - from answering our many questions about island life to giving us a lift to dinner when needed.

We certainly made the most of our week - hiking on many of the tracks. The highlight being the Goat House Cave - after which we decided Mt Gower was too big a day and we didn't want to loose a few days recovering. We also hiked Malabar, North Beach and Transit hill.

Did a snorkling cruise on the lagoon which was great but loved just being able to walk in off the beach at Ned's and snorkle there. Was amazing sensation when all the fish swim around your legs at Ned's beach.

Everything on the island is expensive due to the freight costs. We took our own breakfast cereal and snacks and found the Coral Cafe had the best sandwiches and coffee for a reasonable price for lunch.

Monday pie night at the Bowling club is a must. Delicious home made beef or chicken pies with mash, peas and gravy only $15. For dessert the apple pie with ice cream is a must but you must book and get in early for the apple pie.

Hired bikes and rode everywhere which was fun, had been a long time since we had done any bike riding and never quiet got to the top of the hill outside Lorhiti, but that didn't matter.

Would definitely stay at Lorhiti if we get the chance to return to Lord Howe Island.

Sadly the baby bird a previous reviewer mentioned was taken by a bigger bird on our last day which was upsetting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
It was wonderful to receive your most positive review. We will continue to go from strength to strength with reviews like this .

It helps keep us motivated at all times and ensures expectations of all guests are not only met, but exceeded.

I am sure " The Diamond" will appreciate your fantastic feedback on her Monday night Pie night at the Bowling club . She is a legend and does a meal to remember . It is a must to book ahead so you dont miss out . On some "Special" nights , you might even be treated to some surprise entertainment !

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Lorhiti .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I loved our time at Lorhiti. The property was clean, exceptionally well presented, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Kitchen utensils for self catering were excellent with stores nearby for groceries and a lift to restaurants for nights off. We enjoyed our time resting and absorbing the natural beauty of Lord Howe. And then in the afternoons the short walk down to Ned's Beach saw us swimming in clear, calm waters. We've come home feeling relaxed and rejuvenated - a great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your review . I am pleased to hear that you found the property clean , well presented and that Deb & Pete looked after you well during your stay . We enjoy looking after our guests and endeavour to provide everything they require in the apartments .Our main aim is to make sure you have a relaxing stay , so it is good to know that you went home feeling relaxed and rejuvenated .

We continue to ask our guests if there is anything we can improve on and that is one of the reason why you found plenty of kitchen utensils in the apartment !! It is great that you made use of the beach track to Ned's beach for a refreshing dip in the afternoons and then the courtesy bus of an evening to the restaurants .

It is satisfying to know that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to providing the same experience when next you return . Thankyou .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

What a great spot. Lorhiti welcomed us at the airport and then looked after us very well. Di (and family and staff) present Lorhiti exceptionally well - magnificent gardens especially. We even had a White Tern newly born chick in the nearby tree.

The Garden Units have a kitchen (microwave but no oven) which is handy for brekky, toast etc, but the cost of food on the island is such that you might as well go out to dine - restaurant, golf club, or bowling club.

The snorkelling at Ned's beach (a short walk from Lorhiti) is among the best on the island - lots of fish, and even a Galapagos Shark.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thanks for your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and beautiful gardens complete with newly born White tern .....what a magnificent species they are and so good to see them up close .

I'm glad you enjoyed the snorkelling at Neds . It is a fantastic spot for a swim , snorkle or feeding the fish on the shore and nice that it is just a short stroll through the palms .

Thanks again and we hope to look after you again when next you visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My wife and I spent the week 12-19 Feb 2012 at Lorhiti on Lord Howe. The location was wonderful particularly with Lorhiti's beautiful private (and short) path to Neds Beach. The accommodation was exceptional as was the service, cleanliness and facilities. The huge king bed was a plus together with the large lounge room and modern kitchen. Being my 3rd trip to LH this is the 1st time at Lorhiti, I can only speak well of Lorhiti and will certainly stay again. LH speaks for itself with its natural beauty, friendly locals, beautiful coral and wonderful fish and turtles. Swimming with turtles, fish feeding, bush walks snorkeling etc etc, what more can I say????

Room Tip: Room 6 was perfect as it was at the end of the row of rooms and offered wonderful privacy for a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hi Ian & Natalie , thanks so much for your fantastic review . I didn't realize that you had been to Lord Howe on 2 previous occasions , so it's great to know that you would come back and stay at Lorhiti when next you visit .
I'm glad you enjoyed the location , service , cleanliness , facilities and privacy that Lorhiti offers . It sounds without doubt that you made the most of what Lord Howe has to offer as well , with your fish feeding , swimming with the turtles , bush walking etc .
Thanks also for your more then generous offer to fix our cupboard door , if we could fly you back and put you up !! I will keep that in mind . A good builder is hard to find :) . Best wishes and we hope to see you back again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We are first time visitors to Australia and chose LH to visit as a really special treat. We loved the island and everything about it.
Lorhiti was our chosed place to stay due to its price and proximity to Ned's Beach. We were not disappointed and would choose to stay there again if we were ever to return to the island.
Highly Recommended and clearly popular due to the non stop flow of guests arriving to replace those that had departed.

Room Tip: Number 1 is the nicest as it is at the end of the row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorhiti, Public Relations Manager at Lorhiti Apartments, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you so much to our overseas friends for posting your review and highly recommending Lorhiti to others !
It can be difficult choosing accommodation from afar and we are so pleased that you were not disappointed with your choice of Lorhiti , in one of our Garden apartments .
We hope you have very happy memories of your holiday at Lorhiti and your first visit to Australia and we look forward to welcoming you back should you return to Australia again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorhiti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorhiti Apartments

Address: Anderson Road, Lord Howe Island, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LORHITI BOUTIQUE SUITES. An oasis of seclusion in one of the best locations on Lord Howe Island, Lorhiti is the closest resort to stunning Ned's Beach and central to Island facilities, beaches, tours, and attractions.Six Bali/Thai style one bedroom King Suite apartments surrounded by a 2 hectare oasis of secluded tropical gardens. Property Features: BBQ, gazebo, laundry, private beach access, stunning gardens, transit lounge and library, away from main roads, public telephone, free evening transport to restaurants, 24 hour caretaker. Rooms Features: modern amenities, flat screen TV/CD/DVD, free movies, free in-room Wi-Fi, king or twin king single beds, full kitchen, sandwish press , airy veranda's, ceiling fans, insect screens, King & King single bed, en suite bathroom, electric blankets and heater, excellent lighting, beach towels, linen, towels, ceiling fans, coffee plunger and sandwich press, iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, back pack, hair dryer, clock radio, sarongs and bathrobes, insect spray and air freshener, torch, games and cards and umbrella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lorhiti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorhiti Apartments Hotel Lord Howe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorhiti Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.