We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good challenge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Howe Island Walking Trails

Lord Howe Island Walking Trails
Lord Howe Island, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Trails
Attraction Details
Toowoomba, Qld
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A good challenge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Lord Howe Island is one of those places that a lot of people plan to visit "one day". Don't wait because you are missing out on one of the premier holiday and hiking destinations in Australia. We hiked nearly every day during our 1 week stay and most walks had some quite challenging sections. My wife did the Mt Gower guided walk (I was diving) and she rates it as one the best and hardest she has done.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lord Howe Island walking trails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

An idyllic slice of paradise. Coral fringed lagoon with the two imposing mountains, Mt Lichbird and Mt Gower, visible from most parts of the Island. Native Kentia palms add to the tropical feel. Walking tracks to suit every fitness level are well marked. Malabar hill walk gives great views of the red tailed tropic birds flying close doing their courting rituals, if you go in the beginning of December.

Climb to the Goat House Cave is quite hard, but the views from the top are truly magnificent, especially if you edge around to the south to see Balls Pyramid in the distance. To the top should take you less than 1 hour 30 minutes. If you take longer, don't even attempt Mt Gower, which is twice the distance.

Ned's Beach is not to be missed. Feed the fish and watch them swim around your legs. Snorkel amongst them, and out to the coral. Equipment can be hired at the beach.

The Gulch at low tide allows access by clambering along the rocks at the right side and around to the herring pools. Stunning.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful isle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

There are walks to suit all ages and levels of fitness in Lord Howe. The reward is lovely views, interesting vegetation and wildlife. The hardest walk we took was to Goat House Cave. It would be slippery if there had been recent rain, but the views were wonderful.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleniffer
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and flora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We did a number of walks on the island, despite the weather being windy and showery.
A good beginning was the walk over Transit Hill, through unique palm forests, with its view both ways across the island. We continued to Clear Place, where we had a view of Balls Pyramid around the point as well as nesting terns on the rocks below. We were treated to the sight of a mother wood hen with fluffy chicks, foraging together. A detour into the Valley of the Shadows to wander among the giant banyan trees was wonderful, followed up by descending to Middle Beach, where we snorkelled a while, before walking the length of the beach and up the steps at the opposite end to return to our accommodation.
The following day, we did the Malabar circuit, starting at Settlers Beach on the advice of the staff at Arajilla. This turned out to be good advice, as walking in this direction you are walking towards the view of the island all the way around. The red-tailed tropic birds were nesting all along the cliffs and wheeled around us as we walked and the views were amazing. The view from Kim's Lookout is justifiably called one of the best on the island. There are 2 points to watch if you walk in this direction. The first is that at the plaque to the plane crash, it is difficult to find where the track continues. It disappears down a slot between 2 rocks and is hard to see. Just keep heading in the same direction you've been walking and you'll find it. Then, at the end of the rocky ridge, you need to take a sharp left turn into the paddock to find the path to Ned's Beach, totally invisible as you stand at the foot of the rocks looking at the paddock below you.
The final walk we did was the Goat House Cave, a good substitute for Mt Gower if you're daunted by the latter as you get to see some similar country but in smaller quantity. This is a fairly short but arduous climb, with rope assisted sections through the forest and around the rocks at the end. The views back along the island and down to Boat Harbour are spectacular and, if you're game to go round the path at the end of the cave, you can see Ball's Pyramid sticking out of the sea.
All in all, great walking in most unusual terrain with memorable views in all directions.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a variety of difficulty levels, with stunning scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

There are a lot of different walks available. The views from Kim's lookout was lovely, and highlighted the small size and diversity of Lord Howe. The walk had steep steps, but was very easy to follow. Some trails were marked in terms of distance, others weren't - not so much of an issue if doing the walk is your only agenda item at that time! It is worth getting to as many of the walks as possible!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Howe Island Walking Trails also viewed

Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 

Been to Lord Howe Island Walking Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Howe Island Walking Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lord Howe Island Walking Trails to your Saves list