We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lightning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wallangulla Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lightning Ridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wallangulla Motel
Save
You added The Wallangulla Motel to your Saves list
Morilla St, Lightning Ridge, New South Wales 2834, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lightning Ridge
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lightning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at The Wallangulla. While walking across the road to the Bowling Club for dinner the sky lite up with "Lightning" First rain they have had in nine months followed.
Did an early walk around town and met a local who explained some of the history.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
10
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Wallangulla is certainly the pick in the Ridge. There are two sections, the "original" section and the new section. Obviously the new section is better but the "original" section has been brought up to scratch and is quite acceptable. I am refering to the new section here.

The rooms are large, a bit on the spartan side but all the necessities are present and in good order. A microwave, good quality TV with Austar and Fox 1-2-3, GOOD LIGHTING!!, OK beds, good heating and cooling. Bathroom similarly spacious, getting a little dated by now. Has one of those one switch-light/ceiling fan arrangements which is annoying at times, and "water-saving" shower heads, but in fairness it is a dry part of the country that relies on artesion bore water (which I will never come to love).

The motel is owned by the famous LR Bowling Club across the road and meals can be booked back to your room. Don't expect too much, the tucker is pretty stock-standard club fare, not exciting but reliable. A warning- if there is a bus tour group staying at the motel, get in early at the club or you'll find a solid queue. The beer is good which is more important.

I highly recommend the bacon and eggs for breakfast, 12 bucks and cooked to order by an old-fashioned bush cook who understands the importance of starting the day with plenty of petrol in the tank. Puts fancy city hotel breakfasts to shame.

All that and a "nothing is a problem" attitude on the front desk make it my first choice whenever I'm at the Ridge.

Room Tip: New section on two levels. Ask for ground floor if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes NSW
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Probably the most appealing motel (externally) in a tourism-oriented town. This motel offers a range of room styles (and prices) that should suit anyone but the dedicated 5 star traveller. I stayed in one of the dearer rooms, and found it to be fairly standard for the industry in terms of furniture, bathroom and other appointments. Everything was clean and functional, if starting to become a bit dated or tired.
Eating is very convenient, with chargeback for meals from the club across the street and a breakfast room for the mornings. Motel is a short walk from the CBD for basic supplies, and can assist with bookings for tours etc. Even though it is located on the main road into town, noise through the night is not an issue and there is no feeling of insecurity that you might experience in some nearby towns

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The motel is owned by the Bowling Club and the evening meals are available across the road at this very large club. The motel itself is 5 start country Australian. Very hard to beat for all aspects, including the swarm of professional women who run this large establishment. Very quiet - well the whole town seems to be un-noisy at night! A must if you stay for a few night - 3 in our case.

Room Tip: All/most rooms had a double and two single beds, good linen, small kitchen facilities, spotless bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finley, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We recently stayed, the motel was dated but clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's position on the main road into Lightning Ridge and opposite the bowling club was great. We were able to book up our meals and drinks at the club to our room, and when we played social bowls we made very welcome and met some really nice people. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I got the last room in the motel, which meant that I had a single bed. That was fine by me as the room had a long bench so I could do some work. I noticed that other rooms were a good standard.

The motel uses bore water, which is iconic to this region. It was so enjoyable to relax under the water for a short time. Although the bed was a single, it was still suitable and provided me with a good night sleep.

Across the road is the bowls club, which owns this motel. This means that the meals can be charged back to the room if you desire. The restaurant had a great selection of specials on offer and I struggled to pick one as they all look and smelt fantastic.

The next day I went for a swim in the large open air artesian baths, which are thoroughly recommended before leaving town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Gem court room. The room was reminiscent of a 2 man detention cell, tiny, poorly laid out & a drab grayish interior, certainly nothing like the description of the room on the video posted on this motel's website. On the second day I noticed the one bed left unmade, the second bed had been made. When the manager was approached as to why, I was informed if anything was on the bed (pj's on the pillow) the 'girls' were not allowed to touch the beds due to OH&S issues, this being the excuse even though the second bed had pj's on it. Go figure! Does that mean the 'girls' would be unable to change the sheets after guest departure, due to OH&S issues? And how about cleaning the showers and toilets (Yes they were very clean) Wouldn't this also put the 'girls' at risk of OH&S issues. The mind is still boggling over this excuse.

Room Tip: Stay for one night if you are exhausted from traveling
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wallangulla Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallangulla Motel

Address: Morilla St, Lightning Ridge, New South Wales 2834, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Lightning Ridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lightning Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wallangulla Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.