We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackboard Deli & Cafe

Blackboard Deli & Cafe
50 Pacific Parade, Lennox Head, New South Wales 2478, Australia
+61 2 6687 4333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Lennox Head
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My friend and I enjoyed lunch there. She enjoyed the eggs florentine from the breakfast menu and I had the haloumi salad - both were full of flavour. My friend raved about their crepes with fresh fruit as well as their pear cider. The iced chocolate was a bit on the basic side, 'tho. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Great location, nice open air decor. Thank you!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“casual chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a great location to meet up with friends and family. The atmosphere is casual and breezy thanks to the open plan and friendly staff. Our breakfasts were delicious and the coffee great and we felt so relaxed that the temptation to stay a bit longer to enjoy a second coffee was too great to resist! I love that the produce is sourced locally wherever possible and the menu simple and tasty. I returned again with a friend for dinner where we enjoyed the fresh fish with ratatouille sauce and pickled beetroot and the seafood soup and were not disappointed. A great all round experience where I will be sure to head next time I am visiting Lennox!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place is the best. I visited Lennox over summer and went to blackboard a few times. Their breakfast is great, my favourite is the Spanish eggs and the juices (in jars!). The dinner menu is even better. Love the friendly and relaxed vibe with cute and simple decor. Owners clearly have a passion for their business and make Blackboard a great place to visit. Coffee is the best in the area! Lovely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Simply ....... marvelous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This little place has it all. The breakfast we were served was delicious and fresh. Coffee was full-flavoured and the staff were delightful. Such an amazing contrast to the rush and bother of most of the city eateries that we are accustomed too. I guess that the friendly, cheerful nature of Lennox Head just produces nice people. Our experience at Blackboard was remarkable. We were served complimentary gourmet cheeses, as a bonus, by a lovely girl and attended by very courteous young people that exhibited a professionalism that was totally refreshing. Blackboard was just one of the very wonderful experiences we had in beautiful Lennox Head. Awesome ! Thank you!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast is buzzing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Been here once a while ago for breakfast and it was pleasant enough, but I recently went there for dinner and I think it was not up to scratch. The menu was very limited and the offering was "wintery". Nothing light - all fairly heavy in the traditional French style and probably the chef's TOP 10. Because what we ate was delicious (Duck confit). We also had the standard rocket, pear and parmesan salad and 3 scallops for entree.The "kids menu" had a better range. The service was very attentive (we were the only ones there) and I might try it again in winter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackboard Deli & Cafe also viewed

Lennox Head, New South Wales
Lennox Head, New South Wales
 
Lennox Head, New South Wales
Lennox Head, New South Wales
 

Been to Blackboard Deli & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackboard Deli & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.