We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bale Salt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bale Salt to your Saves list
Peppers Bale Salt
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pass Street, Bells Boulevard, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kingscliff
australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beachfront luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a fantastic destination for families. The units are spacious and set in lovely surrounds. We rented privately so had no issues with service. The pool, spa and fantastic beach were the focus of our relaxing family holiday. We love that this is absolute beachfront accommodation. The two bed units are well suited to two couples with a child in tow each. The playgrounds, bike paths and great open green spaces were well used. We have stayed at Peppers Salt, the much larger neighbour of Bale too. We all prefer Bale, smaller, but still with access to Salt facilities. Salts gym is very poor. But the beach is a much better workout venue. We stayed over the Easter long weekend, and it never felt crowded. The area is well stocked with bunnies roaming the streets, which gave the kids great joy, as they got to meet the Easter bunny in the flesh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppers2487, General Manager at Peppers Bale Salt, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Aussiesnowlover,
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments - great tips and great to see yo enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
36
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, QLD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If I'd been writing this review immediately following our last trip to Bale in Sept 2011, I would have given it 6 stars if it were possible. When we travelled last we not only enjoyed the beautiful surrounds, spacious well equipped apartment and tranquil environment, but also the personal service. The front desk concierge (ahhhh Ibrahim, did we miss you this time!) and the amazing and friendly housekeeping folks really made the experience a notch above the rest. In fact, everyone at Bale seemed, and seems, so friendly and accommodating, right down to a couple of maintanence folks we happened to pass in the parking garage! It may seem a little thing, but that personal, friendly and helpful service is the factor that makes the difference for us.

Our expectations being very suitably elevated, my darling husband and I couldn't wait to take a long overdue break at Bale again this year (too long between holidays and in MUCH need of pampering). As others have mentioned, we also found the lobby of Bale empty, but found there was someone waiting to assist us with our check-in (they were just hidden around a corner). Belinda was friendly and efficient and extremely understanding in helping us settle in for our holiday. The apartment was everything we've come to expect and we were thrilled to find the wi-fi and in-house movie difficulties we'd run into last year had clearly been well resolved. The enormous, beautiful beach was waiting for us (LOVE that beach) and the nice comfy bed kept us well rested.

On the down side, the lobby desk was predominantly unoccupied for the whole of our stay. It's not a big thing, but was missing that personal touch we'd so enjoyed last time. Our spa experience was pleasant (putting aside the usual "resort markup") and again, friendly and helpful. There was an ENORMOUS crowd at Peppers (and a few at Bale) for weddings on the weekend we were due to leave, but the staff appeared to manage the situation well (though I confess the husband and I were happy to be leaving before school holidays really kicked off). Bit noisy.

The only real let down was unfortunately the last experience we had with the resort this time. The husband and I were pretty disappointed there was no one at Bale to facilitate the check-out process. Equally, the luggage trolley had gone wandering, to who knows where. Granted this was check-out time, but still. We called across to Peppers and they were good enough to bring over a trolley for us. We then had to go and stand in line with folks at Peppers to check-out. OK not ideal, but managable I guess. Just a missed opportunity to give you the feeling you were leaving a 5 star resort, instead making you feel a bit ordinary again. And the final indignity, apparently all credit card transactions now incur a 2% surcharge!?!? Sorry, but that's just plain ridiculous to our mind. Who isn't going to pay a couple of thousand dollar bill with a credit card?!?! Felt a bit like a forced tip to me, though I doubt the surcharge was going directly to any of the people who'd provided the excellent service to us. Unfortunately the woman assisting with our checkout was pretty underwhelming as well. Didn't have any interest in hearing the positive feedback about housekeeping (actually her reaction seemed one of surprise, which I found a bit insulting frankly), and not overly warm. Just not the Bale experience we had come to expect.

We are Brisbane based and dearly want to make Bale our home away from home. But may have to review our expectations if we're to continue to travel there in the future. Unfortunately we're concerned the hay-day may be over.

PS. I'm a die hard foodie, but guys, could I suggest Season's might want to include a couple of items on the menu that appeal to the "meat and three vege" amoung us? Perhaps other than a steak? We actually didn't come into the restaurant at all because the husband couldn't find anything palatable to him. Too much fussiness he says:) Bellini's (OMG, the lasagne there!!) and Sea Salt (thanks for your flexibility in making us a salad off menu guys) got alot of our business as a result. Can't speak too much to lunch options - we were largely too full from breakfast to consider midday food;).

PPS. For those wanting to take a wander into Kingscliff proper - the fish and chip shop on the waterfront next to Subway has the nicest food made by the most lovely woman - and an incredible view to boot! A definite find on this trip. We hope to visit again:):):).

Room Tip: I have a few travel phobias, so usually request an elevated room but still prefer to have an ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Bale Salt, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear CealR,

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay at Peppers Bale Salt.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your suite & that the WiFi was up and running for you. I am also pleased that you found our housekeeping team to be of a very high standard. I will certainly ensure that the team receives your feedback.

In regards to the Bale reception, we staff this from the main Peppers Resort during the quieter months, providing a team available 24 hours. I do apologise that this was not what you had come to expect. We have since worked hard to ensure the Bale lobby is hospitable with complimentary coffee & pastries and we ensure the Bale reception remains staffed by a dedicated team member during the busier days.

It really is the perfect distance from Brisbane & we do hope we can be your preferred weekend getaway in future.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Damian Sillars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment in the Peppers Bale with our two young children and were really pleased with the quality of hotel accomodation, and housekeeping. L'Occitance toiletries, spacious and comfortable rooms and good quality fittings and well equipped kitchen, made it really easy to enjoy the best of hotel accom but the the freedeom of self-catering (if you wished). Access to the beach was fabulous, and the resort amenities were well-kept although a little lacking in atmosphere and service. The staff and management could benefit from a bit of experience in other world holiday destinations to see how much more service and attention can really add to a top class resort. All in all - the Bale suited our requirements, and was well kept, and the situation on the beach is superb. But it wasn't a world-class resort holiday.

Room Tip: Nearer the beach is better. But all Bale rooms have some sort of beach view. Some rooms suffer a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Bale Salt, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear VictoriaK007,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Peppers Bale.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the quality of the rooms and the amenities. Thank you also for your review of the housekeeping service, I will be sure to share this with the team.

I thank you also for your constructive feedback on the front of house service. Our Bale resort is operated from the Peppers complex during the quieter winter months and a dedicated team of professionals are on hand 24 hours should you need any assistance. I certainly do apologise that this did not meet your expectations.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again soon to Peppers Bale Resort.

Warm regards,

Damian Sillars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We were disappointed. No welcome at reception ... In fact no one at reception our whole stay! Would have received a warmer welcome if we rented from a local real estate agent. Apartment is very nice but could do with more mod cons eg wifi, coffee machine, iPod dock. Went to Golden Door but also a disappointment - short massage, hard non adjustable tables and masseur hopped in the steam room afterwards! I don't think so! Overall, a nice apartment but not blown away, and certainly no attempt to connect with or care for guests.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Bale Salt, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear R W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Peppers Bale Salt.

As a large multi resort complex, the reception area has been designed to operate from the Bale reception during peak periods and the Peppers Salt Resort and Spa reception during quieter winter months; I offer my apolgies that you felt the welcome was not appropriate.

I will certainly take your feedback on board regarding the mod cons you have mentioned and liaise with our owners to gauge their interest; we have just started to add docking stations to the resort rooms at Peppers so this could be a great option for our Bale suites also.

I will pass through your feedback to the independantly run Golden Door Day Spa on your behalf.

Once again R W thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, I do hope we can welcome you back to Peppers Bale Salt in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Apartment was very, very spacious - luxurious and balcony was also large and felt private from other room balconies. Beds were so comfortable and kitchen was user friendly and offered options for self-catering. Secure accommodation - carpark and doors only opened into lobby using room key after 9pm or so.
Buffet breakfast and Seasons was delicious - plenty of variety.
Highly recommend for families (or couples/groups) wanting a 5star apartment to relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: ask for a beachfront room or park view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Bale Salt, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear P812,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Peppers Bale Salt.

It's great that you enjoyed the apartment and it was suitable for your needs; I thank you for your feedback regarding Season restaurant also.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Peppers Bale Salt in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed just one night, but the service was very personalized and great.
The apartment was stunning with more than enough spaces for our family of three. The only setback was the view which overlooked car parking.
The pool area looked beautiful, however, the spa was out of order unfortunately. Therefore, we used the pool area of the nextdoor property ( Peppers Salt Kingscliff) which was crowded.
Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Bale Salt, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Hirominbrisbane,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Peppers Bale Salt.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your night away with great personalised service. It's also great to read that you found the apartment stunning.

The Salt Park is the feature of the Salt precinct and this is the focal point of our marketing, I'm sorry you did not enjoy the views.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here with some work colleagues in the 3 bedroom penthouse. What a place! Absolutely beautiful. Everything is high spec. Each bedroom has it's own ensuite. Immaculately presented. Beds are very comfortable although pillows were a little on the high side. Great roof top deck. Very private and also very quiet. Pool looks beautiful at night. Lobby has great coffee machine but couldn't work out how to use it! In the morning they had complimentary pastries which were a delight. I wish I could live here!

Room Tip: 3 bedroom penthouse overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Bale Salt, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Kate A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Peppers Bale Salt.

I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience here along with the great feedback you have provided regarding the Penthouse suite

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Bale Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bale Salt

Address: Pass Street, Bells Boulevard, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
#4 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Bale Salt 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Bale Salt turns the tide on the traditional beach holiday by offering seaside escapism, stylish accommodation and unique personal service that combines to create a lasting impression. Peppers Bale Salt offers a Guest Services Manager to cater for guests' every whim. From booking restaurants, spa treatments and day tours to arranging leisure activities like surf lessons, kayaking, dancing and pilates, you're sure to find a unique experience to suit your style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Bale Salt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bale Salt Hotel Kingscliff
Peppers Bale Salt Kingscliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bale Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.