We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, secluded location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santai Retreat Apartments Casuarina Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santai Retreat Apartments Casuarina Beach to your Saves list
Santai Retreat Apartments Casuarina Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Dianella Drive, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, secluded location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Theres not a lot around this hotel, and you definitely need a car, but the hotel itself is beautiful, new, and fresh and the bathrooms excellent. Landscaping is indeed like Bali. The place was virtually empty when i visited in winter. Good for a romantic getaway or a family holiday with kitchenette facility.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    74
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
130
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed with a group of friends for a birthday dinner. It was a cool but sunny day and on our arrival we felt like we had arrived at a resort in Bali. The finishes eg ponds and gardens and architecture are tropical. The beach is only a very short walk away and we could see the sea from our apartment. We had fabulous cocktails and finger food by the pool under the gas heaters then moved into the restaurant which was fabulous - great food and lovely atmosphere. Only negative were the crows early in the morning after a big night out.

Room Tip: Some second and third floors have views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for one night, what a gem. The apartments are spacious with a big balcony or terrace and a small kitchen. The pool was beautiful, felt like we were in Bali. We took our bicyles with us as there are paths running behind the hotel which take you as far as you would like to go one way down to Kingscliffe and the other right through to Cabarita. The only disappoint was that there was no bars or restaruants open as it was a public holiday. Would definitely recommend this one

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I spent 2 weeks here in a studio apartment on ground level facing the main pool. The room was exceptionally quiet which was a pleasant surprise..In spite of the fact that it faced the pool the apartment still felt very private due to the clever lush planting of tropical palms. It was a pleasure waking up to this view every morning. I didn't really have much to do with resort staff and hardly saw them as I did not need to pass through the main lobby area at all. I liked this aspect as it helped to make my holiday seem much more relaxed. Another great aspect of this hotel is it's close proximity to the beach. It's a short walk to both the fantastic cycle path that goes for several kilometers in each direction and 20m further to the actual beach. More often then not I only saw a handful of people whilst out walking or cycling....wonderful!

The furnishings in the apartment we had were great as were the fixtures and fittings however I did not like the open plan style of the bathroom area and in particular the sub-standard tiling in the shower / toilet area. Instead of causing water to flow toward the drain it flowed toward the toilet. This meant that the floor needed to be mopped after every shower which I think is unacceptable for a hotel of this standard.

The other major problem we had at this hotel was lack of mobile phone and wireless internet connection. I had to leave the room every time I wanted to make a call or go on-line. This issue alone means that I will not re-book here. It was simply too inconvenient for my purposes.

So as I mentioned in the title of this review this hotel was very quiet & relaxing but there is definitely still some room for improvement.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are equally well furnished but if you want easy pool access go for one on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed in a spacious open planned studio apartment in this attractive resort April 2012. Saw only a few other guests during our time so very quiet and peaceful. We had a room facing towards the dunes and south. Heated spa was great, but pool a little cool this time of year. A car is needed to go out at night, though it is a gorgeous long (about 2km) walk along the beach to the Salt Village. We ate one night at the restaurant, and it was okay, thought the entrees were a little bland.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to dunes and south are quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a lovely resort with pool and spa adjacent to the restaurant. We chose this resort as it is an entirely non-smoking property - even outdoor areas which is great for a healthily holiday. Relaxing and classy. Very short walk to beach. Surrounded by nature to east and south of resort.

Room Tip: Southern most rooms are quietest, the surf can be heard from the whole resort tho! We love that! By...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend and found it great! Santai is a wonderful little resort, tucked away in an unlikely location. Location is both positive and negative, but unfortunately there are no shuttle buses and few taxis in the area, so when you go out to dinner at the closest restaurant (other than the hotels) somebody has to drive, which was unfortunate for us as we were planning on celebrating with champagne.

The rooms themselves are wonderful, provided it is you and your partner and could be quite embarrassing if you were with a friend etc, as there is little privacy. Staff at the hotel were kind, but were very unorganised and had some confusion with my booking and payment.

Santai is a wonderful romantic weekend getaway to lay by the pool and relax, it was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santai Retreat Apartments Casuarina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santai Retreat Apartments Casuarina Beach

Address: 9 Dianella Drive, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santai Retreat Apartments Casuarina Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Santai Retreat Apartments Casuarina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santai At Casuarina Beach Hotel Kingscliff
Santai At Casuarina Beach Kingscliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santai Retreat Apartments Casuarina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.