We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay - loved every moment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Salt Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Salt Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Bells Boulevard | South Kingscliff, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kingscliff
Amherstburg, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous stay - loved every moment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We had a fabulous time at the Peppers Spa Resort and Spa.
This was a last minute choice for us because we were recently diverted from our original plan of spending 8 days on Hamilton and Hayman Islands - we had to evacuate due to Cyclone Yasi. We found this resort for our R&R time during our honeymoon and loved every moment.
Everything was perfect - very romantic. I would recommend booking a room with a personal plunge pool. There were a lot of couples on this resort and also a lot of families - so you do have the option to bring children. Great place for children too.
If I can make a recommendation to the hotel - the breakfast was the same every day. Great food - but for the future you should change the selection every couple of days. If you are staying there for 5-6 days the breakfast can get boring.
The restaurants to choose from on this resort were superb! Excellent food and excellent service! :)
The price per night was great which included breakfast, free movies in the room and free internet access - very reasonable price.
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Salt Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Diva Girl,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback in relation to your recent stay at Peppers Salt Resort and Spa.

I'm pleased to read that we could help with your relocation from the cyclone affected Tropical North and that you were able to enjoy a great honeymoon experience.

I certainly appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast and will liaise with our Kitchen brigade to see what we can do to change some options for our longer staying guests.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Peppers Salt Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    269
    77
    41
    32
See reviews for
199
351
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We spent a weekend at Peppers during a visit to the Gold Coast from the UK. What an amazing resort, definately a hidden gem. The weather was fabulous and we were looking forward to parking the car and making the most of the facilities.

The apartment was excellent, our daughters age 10 and 14 loved the independence of having their own self contained bedroom. Control over the huge selection of movies may have added to the huge smiles on their faces. Although we did not use the facilities within the apartment it was very well equipt.

The buffet breakfast was fantastic offering a huge selection of fruits, cereals, bread, pastries and hot food. We had dinner in Seasons on the Saturday evening. The food was superb and the staff were excellent. I understand that the restaurant has recently been refurbished and renamed. We had enquired when booking the availablity of a childrens menu and were delighted to discover that this was available.

The larger pool area was definately the 'icing on the cake'. Beautifully laid out with lots of shade and only a few steps from the bar offering a varied lunch menu and cold drinks. The pool itself was perfectly safe and the children were always in our sights.

We had looked forward to our weekend at Salt and it was all we imagined and more.

Thankyou

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Salt Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Peppers Salt Resort and Spa.

I hope the rest of your trip from the UK was a great success also.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experiences and service encountered at the resort. Our Restaurant SEASON has recently been renovated and relaunched so I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your experience.

If you ever do return to Australia, I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Peppers Salt Resort and Spa.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Peppers Salt Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

My husband, 6 month old and I just arrived back from a very relaxing stay at Peppers. The weather was gorgeous and the pool was very relaxing. Even with our little one and other kids running around, we were quite relaxed. 1 point to make though... there isn't much to do besides hang by the pool or walk down to the beach along the short strip of shops/restaurants (without a car). We had fantastic weather, which is why we were quite relaxed. We had an issue with our room, but they were very accommodating and looked after us. We would recommend this to any family, young or old... just newly weds need to be aware of school holidays.... the kids WILL take over the pool! :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Salt Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback relating to your recent stay at Peppers Salt Resort and Spa.

I'm very pleased to read that you had a relaxing stay and that the issue with your room was rectified and looked after quicky.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Peppers Salt Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I have just returned from Salt this afternoon and I would not hesitate in recommending this resort to anyone, whatever their reasons for being in Kingscliff might be.

We managed to secure a one bedroom suite for $198/night, and our location was a garden path away from the incredibly beautiful lagoon pool situated in the centre of the resort. This rate also includes a full buffet breakfast, complementary movie channel (over 40+ movies available on the room's television), free wireless internet in the room and a late checkout for 1pm.

I can not rave about the room or the resort enough. The room was very large, beautifully decorated and well cleaned. We had our six month old son with us, and there was plenty of room for his cot beside the very comfortable king sized bed. We loved that we could partition off the bedroom from the rest of the open plan area.

The bathroom is large and airy with a beautiful shower and an amazing (and very deep) spa bath as well. There are plenty of towels, beautiful toiletries and the included pool towels for our use were an unexpected surprise. Much easier than having to lug wet towels back home with us!

The kitchen area is well equipped - microwave, full sized fridge/freezer, dishwasher and stove top; and beside it a washing machine and dryer, which is very handy when traveling with a baby. The lounge room is quite large with a very comfortable couch, as well as a 4-seater dining table and direct sliding door access to the patio and lagoon beyond.

Each room comes with a small electronic safe located in the wardrobe, which has plenty of room available for important documents, personal valuables and equipment such as laptops or ipods.

One interesting point is that the resort room and 1 bedroom suites are adjoining rooms, each with their own keycarded door. However they share a common secured entrance/foyer. This in fact means the 2 bedroom suites are actually the resort room and the 1 bedroom suite; which may not work so well, should you have young children (as they effectively have their own security entrance; as well as exit to the balcony/lagoon area; or plunge pool area). The management highlight this saying that they recommend leaving the keycarded foyer entrance locked; and keeping the two doors behind it open at all times.

The breakfast is quite substantial, and what you would expect from a four and a half star establishment. Located in the Seasons restaurant, it has a wide selection of cereals, breads, fruit, yoghurts, pastries, fruit juices and hot drinks; as well as hot foods such as bacon, scrambled eggs, poached eggs, hash browns, cooked tomatoes, sausages, baked beans, spaghetti and pancakes. We had about a ten minute wait for a table during our stay, but the staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient in making sure we did not have to wait too long.

The surrounds of the Salt village are simply superb. A beautiful patrolled beach; lovely gardens; beautiful paved walkways and many restaurants and shops in the vicinity. There is also a well-stocked IGA supermarket, should you not want to eat out every night.

The room service menu is appetizing and quite extensive; and I was very impressed with the options on offer for children. Much better than the standard nuggets/pizza/spaghetti fare (although they are also available). The minibar was priced as expected; so we recommend stocking up on bottled water and snacks before you arrive.

There are three things I will mention as a caution for people staying here. They aren't big issues, but if not aware of them could make your stay a little less pleasant.

1) Closing off the bedroom from the rest of the open plan area (there are sliding partitions on two sides) effectively shuts it off from the flow of the air conditioner. This makes for a very stuffy sleeping situation.

2) The sliding door to the patio and beyond to the lagoon does not have keycard capability; which means it's not a very effective means of entry/exit, should you be wanting to leave your room secure. Perhaps this is something the management of Salt can consider for future renovations to the rooms on the ground level?

3) Due to the shared foyer area, this can create an 'echo' chamber, making it quite noisy whenever your neighbour decides to enter or leave their room.


Despite these small issues, we found the resort to be beautifully laid out, the staff exceptionally friendly, the food superb and the lagoon amazing. We will definitely return to Peppers Salt - but next time hopefully for a bit longer than just one night!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Salt Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback in relation to your recent experiences at Peppers Salt Resort and Spa.

I am very pleased to read of your experiences and thank you for your valuable feedback.

I also thank you for your advice on recommendations to improve our guests comfort; something we will certainly take into consideration come refurbishment time.

Once again I do thank you for your valuable contribution and hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Peppers Salt Resort and Spa in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Peppers Salt Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

This is the first time I have left a review but felt this hotel was definitely worth the effort. We have a 5 year old son and he has enjoyed every minute of our stay in gorgeous Kingscliff. Highly recommend Fins and Salt bean...coffee is awesome! We have spent every day at the lagoon pool, is very kid friendly and the cocktails are awesome!! Peppers is a lovely place to stay especially with children. The staff have been lovely...the only thing we could probably fault was the room service menu is very limited for options for adults but the kids are very well catered for. Plus, the noisy airconditioner on the balcony was a bit of a pain at nights when kids are trying to sleep. Will definitely be back again...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Salt Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Holiday Lover,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Peppers Salt Resort and Spa.

It certainly gives us pleasure that you felt our resort was the first worthy of feedback from you.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the services on offer at the resort; especially for your five year old son.

I will be sure to mention to our Lobby Bar team that you enjoyed the cocktails by the pool, it's great to hear.

I do apologise that the balcony air conditioning compressor was noisy, it is something we are looking to resolve throughout the whole property within the coming year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Salt Resort and Spa in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Peppers Salt Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed at Peppers Salt for six nights prior to Christmas with our two girls aged 9 and 12.

We are quite discerning when choosing a hotel or resort and we were not disappointed during out stay. The resort is beachy casual but a cut above the usual family friendly variety. We stayed in a "dual key two bedroom suite" which was perfect for a family of four. Through the main door there were two more doors - the kids hotel style room with its own bathroom, balcony and TV and through the other door was our one bedroom apartment with kitchen, dining area, lounge area, separate bedroom and bathroom with spa bath plus a larger balcony. Another bonus was the washing machine and dryer and full sized fridge. There are also free in room movies and there seemed to be hundreds to choose from.

The main lagoon pool is probably one of the best I have seen - huge, heated, plenty of sun lounges and two sandy beach areas for kids to play on.

A breakfast buffet in Season restaurant is included daily and offers a huge variety of juices, fresh and stewed fruit, cereals, bakery items as well as all the usual hot options. This is a breakfast you would usually expect to pay $30 - $40 for in a hotel.

The staff from check in to house keeping to waitresses were all fabulous and friendly.

The beach is a short walk across the park. It is absolutely pristine (we saw dolphins swimming) and it is patrolled every day of the year. Finding a place to sit was never a problem as it is so vast.

Salt Village is a small collection of shops, restaurants, a family friendly pub with great food and an IGA and it is just a few minutes walk across the park.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Peppers Salt to a family looking for a relaxing holiday in a great resort away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Salt Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Good afternoon,

Thanks you for taking the time to provide feedback on your family'srecent trip to Peppers Salt Resort and Spa.

We truly appreciate the in depth review you have provided outlining our resorts faciilties and services and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.

I will be certain to send your review to all team members on site so they are aware that their services are appreciated along with the Chef's so they can certainly be proud of their breakfast offering.

I hope we get to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Peppers Salt Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Stayed here in a 1 bedroom suite, with daily breakfast (very good!). Checked in and initially didn't really like our view (over the road) so they very happily changed us to a park and ocean view- no problems!!
Pool areas are lovely, happy, friendly staff, nicely appointed rooms, awesome movie selection. Housekeeping a little slack (floors pretty sandy and housekeeper turned the dishwasher on a 'heavy' cycle for 4 mugs????!!!)
Great for people with kids as the pool areas are very child friendly, although we left ours with the grandparents, it was still reasonably romantic.
Restaurant had great food, great service...
Just lovely!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Peppers Salt Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Peppers Salt Resort and Spa.

I'm glad to hear that your room allocation was sorted with ease and you were comfortable with your room move.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also your experiences with the staff, restaurant and facilities (sorry about the heavy cycle for the 4 mugs - I will certainly chat with our housekeeping staff about that one)

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Peppers Salt Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Salt Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Salt Resort & Spa

Address: Bells Boulevard | South Kingscliff, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Salt Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa is located on absolute oceanfront only 15 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport and within easy reach of the attractions of the Gold Coast and 30 minutes from Byron Bay. Surrounded by plunge, lagoon pools and tropical foliage, the resort combines Northern NSW seaside-village charm with all the luxuries you'd expect from a Peppers Resort. The resort offers beautifully decorated Hotel Rooms and self- contained suites, ranging from one to three bedrooms, just metres from Salt Beach. All Rooms include a private balcony with outdoor furniture, air-conditioning, LCD screen colour televisions, Austar and video on demand channels, CD player, STD/ISD direct dialling, minibar, refrigerator, bathroom, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, ironing equipment. All Suites also include a fully-equipped kitchen as well as laundry facilities including washing machine and dryer. The resort offers a range of recreational facilities and resort services for all guests including 24 hour reception, undercover car parking, dry cleaning services, high speed internet access and wireless capabilities. Choose to laze the day away by the selection of resort and lagoon style pools or venture down to the beach to feel the sand between your feet and breathe in the salt air. Alternatively treat yourself to a massage at the onsite world-class spa facility, or hire a bike and explore the beautiful surrounds of the resort at your own pace. In the evening treat yourself to the culinary delights featured on the gourmet menu of the resort's signature onsite restaurant or explore the dining options at Salt Village only a short stroll away. Surf, swim, cycle, explore the World Heritage listed National Parks, fish or cruise along the Tweed River, or simply relax in one of the boutique restaurants that Kingscliff has to offer. Positioned seaside at Kingscliff on the border of New South Wales and Queensland, the resort boasts first class facilities set amongst a charming village setting ideal for your next weekend away or family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Peppers Salt Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Salt Hotel Kingscliff
Peppers Salt Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Salt Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.