We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms Nice Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Salt Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Salt Beach to your Saves list
Mantra on Salt Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kingscliff
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice rooms Nice Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My family and I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the pool. The room was 2 rooms, 1 x 1 bedroom apartment with a kitchen and the second room was a hotel room. The doors between were held open for access and a separate main door. The room was light and airy and the fittings were a very nice touch. The kids playground was great and the Tropical pool (heated) was great for the kids. The shopping district around the corner was great for snacks and meals other that at the hotel.

We had a great time and enjoyed our break away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
HI Shane,

Perfect getaway with children and glad you enjoyed the facilities. Would love to see you back in summer to enjoy so much more we have to offer.

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown-Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    229
    100
    24
    17
See reviews for
138
258
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The breakfast is a must. We never used the kitchen and went to try out all the restaurants and had a wonderful experience. Long walks on the beach are great. Only complaint would be the toilet/bathroom is open to your bedroom which made it uncomfortable to go to the loo in privacy without sending your partner out to the balcony. There's everything you need honestly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. Great to see you enjoyed the property.
Small tip- The bathroom shutters which open up to the bedroom, do close so your privacy can be restored.

Cheers

Lisa Brown-Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here when going to Bluesfest over Easter. We were fortunate to have one of the ocean front 2 bedroom rooms. Complete with 2.5 bathrooms, a kitchen and euro-laundry, lounge room, dining room and two balconies we could not have been happier with the space for two couples. From the second floor we had some ocean views over the tree tops and pathway below.

With two swimming pools and endless activities available you have no need to leave.

The facilities around the resort are limited if you want to eat out. For dinner there are several choices within walking distance. However for breakfast, if you choose to leave the resort there is only one choice which is not bad, but not fantastic.

In all I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a quiet break or a perfect place to stay when in the area for Bluesfest. We had a car and did not want to stay in Byron to fight the crowds there. This was 30 mins drive from the festival site but it meant we had quiet nights and mornings to enjoy at the beach before heading to the fun of Bluesfest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our great property.

Glad to see you enjoyed!

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown-Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A beautiful location. The convenience of salt village is a bonus. A great place to take children of all ages. Being able to get to the beach in no time at all was fantastic. Only a 30 min trip to Robina shopping centre and 5 min into Kingscliff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the property.

As I have said many times Salt is a great location to enjoy with a young family. Sun, sand, parks and bike tracks.

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown-Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Mantra On Salt is feeling a bit tired.

Our "hotel style" room was on the small side, but I was happy to accept the size for the price we paid. It was the condition of our room (1303) that was disappointing, the door to the fridge cupboard was water damaged and looked mouldy, the air conditioner remote couldn't hold any batteries in place, the AC unit itself was loud, had broken louvres, and made a horrible clicking noise when set to oscillate. It seems Mantra On Salt was built on the cheap, and the cracks are starting to show.

The pool area is nice and relaxing (I enjoyed how someone has scratched all the "L"s off the Pool Safety Notices) and the location to the beach is great. The restaurants in the surrounding complex seem a bit complacent with the regular flow of tourists, I'd head into town if your looking for a quieter, friendly atmosphere.

Staff were generally friendly, and there was a good selection at the included breakfast buffet, but I'd pass on the dry eggs.

A welcome card encouraged us to " Find your Mantra," I think mine is to "try somewhere else next time".

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Nick,

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Salt and its facilities.
I appreciate your honesty about your room features. Our rooms ahve a refurbishment in place and this is an item for replacement. As all units are individually owned this process can sometimes take time. The signage has been replaced, thank you for highlighting it.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in the 1 b/r spa suite and it was terrific. good size, well fitted out, nice balconies and outdoor furniture, kitchenette has more than you need as there are all kinds of restaurants in the complex and we had breakfast included in the package. Beautiful gardens, swimming pools, tennis, beach nearby. Bed was plush and great bathroom with spa bath plus separate shower. Absolutely loved the place.

Room Tip: We were in wing 4 northern side which got the sun as well as pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
"Best ever" I will take that as a huge compliment.

Thank you for your review, it is so nice for the staff to read such nice reviews.

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown-Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Once again we stayed at salt and they delivered. The family loved the facilities and the pools are great.
Restaurants are first class and a good range of choices.
Tavern was great for the kids.
Really nothing bad to say the staff were great and right on the beach.
Was a great base to do our exploring.
Apartments are very nice .

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks Hayden- So nice to hear you enjoyed your time at Salt.

It is a wonderful area to holiday particulary with young children.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown-Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a large lagoon style pool with views of the stunning coastline, Mantra on Salt Beach, Kingscliff is centrally located within Salt Village providing guests with access to the The Spa at SALT, a number of retail stores including IGA / Sunburn / Witchery / Salon 35 and a wide range of restaurants including Seafood, Italian, Thai and Saltbar Beachbar & Bistro. Offering a range of hotel rooms and self contained one and two bedroom suites specially designed to enhance the natural beach surroundings, all rooms at Mantra on Salt Beach resort feature balconies which take advantage of the coastal or hinterland views. Mantra on Salt Beach is also a unique conference and event destination on the picturesque Tweed Coast, half an hour north of Byron Bay and just 20 minutes from Gold Coast Airport. Conference facilities have a modern Australian feel and a tropical air. Facilities include a large conference room with theatre style seating for up to 240 people, a pavilion filled with natural light and an entertainment deck overlooking the lagoon pool (which includes seperate kids pool) and ocean. Group activities at Salt and in the region are diverse and plentiful. Just 15 minutes drive from the Gold Coast and 30 minutes from Byron Bay, the seaside village of Kingscliff is known for its expanse of uncrowded beaches and rewarding fishing. Perfectly located to explore the Tweed River Valley and bordering hinterland, Mantra on Salt Beach Resort provides a relaxed, casual atmosphere well suited to a beachside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Salt Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.