We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Salt Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Salt Beach to your Saves list
Mantra on Salt Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kingscliff
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a place !! Everything is on our door step that you need Beach swimming pool ! Restaurants cafe's, hotel (pub) grocery store and much more. Salt village has it all will be a regular visitor. These apartments are very comfortable and spacious feels like home away from home.

Room Tip: Club suite's are ocean frontage stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Good Morning the Burkes from Oz,

Appreciate your comments on your visit to Salt.

Look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown-Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    228
    100
    24
    17
See reviews for
136
258
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed 16th May, 2013. Booked a one bedroom apartment. Had a great stay though one night only. Would stay 3-4 days next time. Had wonderful seafood hot cold platter at the Tavern. Good value at $69 and was very well cooked and presented. Best for many years.

The shower needed a bit of a clean around the glass edge near the bottom with a brush and lounge floor mat needed a shampoo, but otherwise the room was excellent and was clean. Breakfast was good to above average. In a very beautiful spot. Restaurants are very pricey and this was why we tried the tavern. Sister also said try the tavern and it seemed excellent.

The Ocean room view was great. The resort management will need to keep on top of maintenance in the future as these types of buildings always seem to age.

A great stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review.

Your comments are appreicated and will be useful in the development of our teams.

Best regards for future travels, Lisa Brown-Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Got an awesome discount on the standard room tariff, so the value for money on this was fantastic. This was the base for the 2013 BOTB Cycling Stage Race, so perfect location. Underground parking made life with bikes and spares easy - the complex is large and spread out with some curious positioning of lifts and stairs - sometimes it may be more convenient to find the street side access and park there. Most rooms are dual keyed entrances - never liked the concept but it works ok. Rooms are simply appointed but clean and serviceable. Agree on the comments elsewhere about smelly drains - quite noticeable. There are lots of restaurants and coffee shops available on site. Staff friendly and efficient. Check in and checkout a breeze. Room type: Hotel, which appears to basically be the dual keyed ensuite side of a larger apartment.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Paul,

It is always a win when your chosen accommodation destination is in the hub of the event you came for. Great event each year and the rained held off enough for competition.

Hope you had success. Many thanks for your review.

Lisa Brown-Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Mantra on Salt Beach. The grounds and buildings are clean and appealing to the eye. The staff were friendly and the one bedroom ocean view apartment was suitable for a couple with an 18 month old infant.

We paid the $10 extra for a cot, but a travel cot was supplied. Had we known this, we would have brought our own travel cot for our daughter. We were hoping for a proper sized cot. The king bed mattress was also too hard for my husband to get a good night sleep, but other than those 2 things, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location next to the beach was perfect and having the 'village' of restaurants/cafes in walking distance also made the stay with a walking infant that much easier.

It would have been nice to have cocktails by the main pool, but every time we visited the pool around 3pm, the cafe/bar was closed.

Also on Friday and Saturday nights, the salt bar which is located underneath the rooms/apartments in building 2, had a live band playing that cranked up the music between 11pm-12:30am. The music can not be heard outside, only coming up through the floor, so this was a little annoying with a baby sleeping. So if you are there on a weekend & worried about noise, ask to stay in a room away from the Salt Bar.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review,

Salt is a great destination for families. Would love to welcome you back next time you have cause to travel.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Brown-Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Couldn't get a better location everything within walking distance & lovely facilities no need to move the car all weekend. Perfect for families, romantic weekends, everyone. The pools are well kept and beautiful there are manicured lawn / garden areas with BBQs a wonderful to have lunch, throw a ball, frisbee or play bouchée. The resort links the beach which is picturesque with a flagged area for swimming &brilliant walking paths that to all the way to the township. Pub with great kids play area right next door along with a strip of restaurants, shops, IGA. All this you can walk to undercover from the Mantra in case it is raining. We had single bedroom apartment with fold out sofa bed for the little one giving us brilliant value. We had an amazing time and would come again and again and again. LOVE IT !!

Room Tip: The quieter areas are blocks 5/6/7. For little kids the lower level is better, garden suites are pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Cute-Fruit,

Thank you for your kind words. Glad to hear you had amazing time and enjoyed the facitlies.

Much Appreciated,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We don't have much time away from the children but managed to get 3 days off and quickly disappeared to this resort. We thought we were going somewhere special. We weren't!. The staff were polite and friendly but not out of their way helpful. The beds are cheap and hard. The pillows are poor quality and the linen was inferior. Any resort can do well if their patrons get a good sleep. We complained about the bed and was told we could have more pillows, a bed topper and a better blanket. We got a holey old blanket and more poor quality pillows. We went back and complained again and were given another room where we could at least see something other than the lady in her house across the road. When we had unpacked in the new room, the front desk called to say there would be an extra charge for cleaning as we had moved rooms. Again the bed was fairly bad and the pillows very sad. There was mould though out the room. The taps were on upside down and dripped through the night. 3 nights of no sleep. The other bad thing was the lacklustre breakfast that we had pre paid for. It would have been much better to go to one of the food outlets or hotel next door for breakfast. The hotel next door has great meals and entertainment. The best meal we had there was at a place in kingscliffe called The blu scooter. Absolutely amazing steak at an Italian restaurant. The beach is beautiful and very romantic at night. I know this as my longtime partner got down on one knee and proposed to me under a full moon. Definitely made the trip special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Kali,

Firstly thank you for your comments. Your reviews show some positive and negative comments which shows your honesty. Congratulations on your engagement, A treasured moment I am sure. I am dissapointed the room did not meet your expectations and disapointing to hear breakfast was not your liking. This is one of our most popular service times and we generally recieve great reviews from.

I wish you well for the future exciting times ahead...

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The location could not be more perfect. The weather was great so that helped to add to the experience but it was wonderful. It is so well located,appointed & truly relaxing. A short stroll to the beach (which we could see from our balcony) & great to have all the restaurants & up just underneath. No need to go anywhere else. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Seriously kids,

The name tells me your have family - so this resort is the most perfect spot. Appreciate your comments.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a large lagoon style pool with views of the stunning coastline, Mantra on Salt Beach, Kingscliff is centrally located within Salt Village providing guests with access to the The Spa at SALT, a number of retail stores including IGA / Sunburn / Witchery / Salon 35 and a wide range of restaurants including Seafood, Italian, Thai and Saltbar Beachbar & Bistro. Offering a range of hotel rooms and self contained one and two bedroom suites specially designed to enhance the natural beach surroundings, all rooms at Mantra on Salt Beach resort feature balconies which take advantage of the coastal or hinterland views. Mantra on Salt Beach is also a unique conference and event destination on the picturesque Tweed Coast, half an hour north of Byron Bay and just 20 minutes from Gold Coast Airport. Conference facilities have a modern Australian feel and a tropical air. Facilities include a large conference room with theatre style seating for up to 240 people, a pavilion filled with natural light and an entertainment deck overlooking the lagoon pool (which includes seperate kids pool) and ocean. Group activities at Salt and in the region are diverse and plentiful. Just 15 minutes drive from the Gold Coast and 30 minutes from Byron Bay, the seaside village of Kingscliff is known for its expanse of uncrowded beaches and rewarding fishing. Perfectly located to explore the Tweed River Valley and bordering hinterland, Mantra on Salt Beach Resort provides a relaxed, casual atmosphere well suited to a beachside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Salt Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.