We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Salt Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Salt Beach to your Saves list
Mantra on Salt Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kingscliff
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“fun for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We loved that everything was there and we didn't have to pack toddler into the car to go to the beach or dinner.
Buffet breakfast was good and an ample selection. We were only there 4 nights and ate at resort which was easy. I hadn't realised cafes were all so close. Handy having IGA just there too - but we should have been more prepared with supplies.
The pool was busy with kids and I felt sorry for any couples without kids as hard to avoid but all the families were happy.
Definately worth having ocean view for outlook. Got the best deal with free upgrade the ocean view through Flight Centre. 1 bedroom fine and nice size balconies. Even though the hotel was busy it never seemed too crowded or noisy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We value all comments and trust we will see you again real soon.

Much Appreciated,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    229
    100
    24
    17
See reviews for
138
258
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I just returned from four nights at Mantra on Salt Beach at Kingscliff, and can honestly say it was a fantastic trip. The hotel is recommended, and my family will stay there again next time we visit (we stopped by the adjacent Peppers for a meal and it had a less inviting vibe).

The hotel's site is very deceiving. It is much bigger than what you're expecting. We booked a stay 4 nights pay for 3 deal in a 1 bedroom spa suite and were impressed with how big it was. The place is stocked well, with tv, stereo, dishwasher, fridge, cooktop and all cutlery etc., spa bath and shower, air con. Plenty of tea and coffee which we liked as big drinkers of both. We were situated away from the pool area, which I'd recommend requesting as the rooms near the pool seemed way too noisy given the popularity of the pool at all hours. Everything else was taken care of, with buffet breakfast and dinner put on by the hotel each night at Surge Restaurant and Bar, as well as a small gym which I made use of. I highly recommend checking out the nearby restaurants though, next to the hotel. Very popular and while expensive and in some cases heavily overpriced, the fish and chip shop and Salt Bar are great.

The best thing about Mantra is the vibe. The staff are friendly, no one gets in your way and everyone is laid back. It has a good atmosphere. Only downside is that the place is full of children, so if you aren't into kids and families this place is not for you. Otherwise, definitely go there.

Also, it's right on the beach. I swam in the ocean all day every day. It was great. A must if you're wanting to surf and swim.

Last recommendation... Get a spa treatment at Golden Door Spa. Very expensive, but it made my trip. Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the pool for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your time with us.

This resort is fantastic for kids for all the above mentioned.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on line.

Much Appreciated,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went for the New Years weekend, very nice hotel, small room but that didn't matter, comfortable beds, well situated short walk to beach, lots of shops close by. You stil have to take the car out if you want a sheltered swim depending on the weather. Hotel pool quite small and not many sun lounges, as the beach conditions were dangerous and everyone was in the pool. Enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: had a room on south side which got the prevailing southerly with no common area noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your response,

The team value all comments as it assists consumers with an inside view to a 'real stay'.

Glad you enjoyed your time,

Many Thanks,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great place to treat yourself to sun beach pool and resort holidaying. Facilities are excellent and location by the sea perfect. Great eating options at Salt Village to suit different budgets and tastes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed Mantra!

Perfect for all the reasons mentioned.

Much appreciated,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Staying here for Christmas Break. In short summary the resort does not cater well during busy season. There are never enough beds around the pool - even at 7.30am in the morning we are unable to get one. The restaurants in Salt Village are over priced and rude - particularly the pizza place. Often a wait for breakfast tables and there seems to be a constant need to top up the breakfast supply which doesn't happen fast enough to meet demand.

Apartments are nice enough and reasonably child friendly apart from coffee and nest tables.

Definitely have a car so you can venture out if resort and avoid overpaying for everything you need.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I take all your comments on board. I agree we are a very busy resort during these summer months especially during the Christmas New Year period and as everyone enjoys the morning sun over breakfast it can be busy.

Please make the time to visit the area in the quieter months if an escape is more your desire.

Happy New Year!

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Don’t risk it is my summary. I have stayed all over the world and never given a bad review here – this is my first. As you can see there are many varied comments, some good, some bad. That should be the first warning sign. I can see if you have a trouble free stay how this place would be a great holiday – the problem is too many of us seem to have problems!

Mine started with a stay at Mantra for my birthday weekend in November. I am a Club C U Soon member and booked through there. But when I arrived I was in a disabled room. What this means is the bathroom and shower feel like you are in a hospital – it is a really poor experience for a weekend away. I understand they have disabled rooms and if the hotel is booked they may have to use them – but the guests should be told this and either given a discount or given the option to not book because the hotel is full.

I rang reception and asked to be moved and were told they were full. A few minutes later they rang back and moved us – which I am eternally grateful. But even the move was fraught with problems – they booked the new people into the room before we had even vacated. The new family turned up while we were still there – very awkward. Which also meant they did not check the room between us exiting and the new family staying. I felt very sorry for the new family. I even got a follow up phone call later that day saying we had left some of our bags in our öld room - not so, these were the bags of the new family staying there. The mix ups continued...

We were also told when we checked in that breakfast had been added to our stay. No, I did not book with breakfast, but they told us they were giving it to us - again we were happy for a moment. But when we went for breakfast the next day, we were told we were not on the sheet. They rang reception – nope, we were not getting breakfast. I went to reception to discuss this and explain we were given breakfast when we checked in – we were still told we were not getting breakfast and that they had no record of us being told that and we should not have been told that. No apology, no explanation for the mix up – one minute we were told we were being given it, then they took the offer away. We ended up paying for breakfast anyway, but that is because it was 10am and we were already there and did not have a plan b.

The facilities are just okay too – I have stayed in far better. The resort covers a lot of ground – it is a rabbit warren – so you could walk for a very long time and not get to your room. Similarly the small pool is tiny for a resort this size. And most of the rooms look out over car parks or into other people's front yards and houses!!

Salt Village is okay, but I found the service very ordinary. This village has 3 big resorts surrounding it so clearly does not have to work hard for their clientele and this shows.

And don’t get me started on the pizza restaurant in Salt Village. The rudest rip off merchants I have ever seen. Do not eat there.

The one shining light was the Day Spa at Peppers – the Golden Door Spa. It was divine. Definitely treat yourself.

But all in all one of the worst weekends away I have had (and we do this about 4-5 times a year) - there are many other choices far better.

Room Tip: Make sure you stipulate in your booking "No disabled room"" Also ask for a room faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi Vanessa,

I thankyou for your honest opinion of the resort it's layout and the surrounding facilites of the Salt Village. Some of these mentioned are out of my direct control,however so disspointing to read about the service and the mishaps which occured during your stay.

I sincelery apologise for the shortcomings during this stay. This is not what our guests have come to expect of this resort or a standard we pride ourselves on.

I have passed this feedback through to all team members who I know will be devestated with the comments.

Vanessa, please accept my apologies.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights during early September, a little early for me to swim but a few kids were enjoying the pool.

This hotel was nice, clean and friendly staff. No complaints at all. They even moved us as our first room felt like people in the restaurant could see directly into our room, that was very kind of the staff.

Buffet breakfast was nice, not as efficient as Peppers though and sometimes had to wait but it's not a major issue.

We wanted to try this hotel after staying at Peppers and loving it, so my review is a little more of a comparison.

Personally, I'd rather spend an extra $20 or so a night and stay at Peppers, it's a bit more private (Mantra's rooms circle the pool), the movies are free in the room if you feel like chilling out, I thought the breakfast was a bit better - hey isn't that what holidays are for?? eating heaps, and they will give you a free late checkout if they can (Mantra will charge). I found that Mantra was a bit more of a family resort which isn't really what we are after.

Some positive points...
- The bathroom was really nice, and our room came with a bath that had jets, really nice bath gels and moisturisers.
- The room is huge for a "resort room" it had a little dining area, a kitchen, washing machine etc, bedroom that had cheeky blinds to the bathroom and some deck chairs to chill on the balcony, I enjoyed that a lot.
- The pool looked nice too even though I didn't brave it.
- The staff were all so friendly and welcoming.

In conclusion, I would stay here again but I think for a special couples occasion I'd rather spend a little extra at Peppers.

Hope this is helpful to you.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask to be moved, they might not be able to but they were very helpful for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay late last year. It is fantastic to see you have chosen this destination again for a getaway.

This destination has great facilites and surrounds to make it an attractive resort for families. I thank you for your comments on our staff. Our team do strive to ensure our guests have the best possible experience and service,

Wishing you a fantastic New Year,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a large lagoon style pool with views of the stunning coastline, Mantra on Salt Beach, Kingscliff is centrally located within Salt Village providing guests with access to the The Spa at SALT, a number of retail stores including IGA / Sunburn / Witchery / Salon 35 and a wide range of restaurants including Seafood, Italian, Thai and Saltbar Beachbar & Bistro. Offering a range of hotel rooms and self contained one and two bedroom suites specially designed to enhance the natural beach surroundings, all rooms at Mantra on Salt Beach resort feature balconies which take advantage of the coastal or hinterland views. Mantra on Salt Beach is also a unique conference and event destination on the picturesque Tweed Coast, half an hour north of Byron Bay and just 20 minutes from Gold Coast Airport. Conference facilities have a modern Australian feel and a tropical air. Facilities include a large conference room with theatre style seating for up to 240 people, a pavilion filled with natural light and an entertainment deck overlooking the lagoon pool (which includes seperate kids pool) and ocean. Group activities at Salt and in the region are diverse and plentiful. Just 15 minutes drive from the Gold Coast and 30 minutes from Byron Bay, the seaside village of Kingscliff is known for its expanse of uncrowded beaches and rewarding fishing. Perfectly located to explore the Tweed River Valley and bordering hinterland, Mantra on Salt Beach Resort provides a relaxed, casual atmosphere well suited to a beachside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Salt Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.