We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ritzy Gritz New Mexican Grill

Ritzy Gritz New Mexican Grill
40 Collins Street, Kiama, New South Wales 2533, Australia
02 4232 1853
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 43 restaurants in Kiama
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
“Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Got there and was told they're all booked out, however they have a table but you can only have it until 7pm (it was 540).. Ok great if you can serve us then we'll take it. Was seated then nothing..... Finally ordered food then it took forever for the entree to come out. Got to 645 and still hadn't seen our main meal, asked to change to take away.. Tried to over charge us... Got home food was cold, terrible, tasted like crap. Then got sick for the rest of the night.

Overall a terrible experience & will never return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    13
    22
    13
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Overpriced and under seasoned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner with my wife and kids. Paid $80 for 2 main meals a kids meal and 3 drinks. Food was bland and generic Tex mex. very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good meal and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Whilst on holidays last week in Kiama our family dined here and we thought it was really nice. Great proportions, friendly service, plenty of tables and good value. We chose to share a Fajitas for 2 when it came to the main meal and this was a good decision as there's plenty to eat. Can't find fault with Ritzy Gritz, thoroughly enjoyable !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty generous portions, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We decided to have a mix of starters rather than a main meal, and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the portions. Well prepared and tasty with a homely feel and friendly service from the staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Been there done that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I was pressured into going here rather than Italian so I had a negative feel before I got here. Nothing changed the feeling as we waited for some time to order and had to wait for the drinks which only arrived within seconds of the meal. You judge the meal on what you leave behind I feel and we all left plenty not because there was a lot as meals were a good size but I don't know what the taste of Mexico should be but I think we missed it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritzy Gritz New Mexican Grill also viewed

 
Kiama, New South Wales
Kiama, New South Wales
 

Been to Ritzy Gritz New Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritzy Gritz New Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.