We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean and homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terralong Terrace Apartments

Save Saved
You added Terralong Terrace Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terralong Terrace Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Terralong St, Kiama, New South Wales 2533, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Kiama
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean and homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The 4 of us spent 2 nights at Terralong Terraced Apartments to explore Kiama and the Southern Highlands. The apartment is situated along the main street, Terralong St. I believe there were roadworks but we were not affected as we were given an apartment at a quiet area as requested. We had a pleasant surprise when we were given an upgrade to a apt with a bigger balcony as it was the lull season. The place looks exactly like how is it in the pictures. There was a big kitchen with cutlery, kitchenware, dishwasher, fridge, mircrowave.. everything u need except the food. There are 2 toilets, 1 with the washer and 1 with the shower which makes it very convenient for 4 person. I had no issue with the bed as we all slept very well through the night. Each room has their own allocated car park lots so there are ample spaces to go around. Rooms are cleaned daily. The location was fantastic as we had Centro Kiama right beside so its just a short 2 min walk to Woolies.. and also a fantastic indian restaurant beside which you can get a discount if you're staying at Terralong Apartment. I have stayed at Sebel but the experience at Terralong is unrivaled :)

A fantastic experience cannot be without great hospitality from the host. Manager Candy is really passionate about the south coast, ask her anything and she'll tell u all the beautiful places to go. Thanks Candy our next trip to Kiama and Terralong Terraced Apt will not be far away!

Room Tip: just get a room away from the main street. i find kiama generally very quiet at night though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candy A, General Manager at Terralong Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear gryphonmonster

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic and informative review! We are very happy that you had such a great experience in Kiama and in the surrounding region and especially pleased that our apartments met your expectations in terms of space, comfort and location.

I also agree with your recommendation for enquirers to request a room away from the main street because, although Kiama is a fairly quiet town, there is always some road noise at the front of the complex where our one bedroom apts are located. We always make a point of explaining this to people booking directly with us by phone or email and we also try to accommodate requests for quieter rooms whenever possible.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Terralong Terrace on a future visit!

Candy Andersen
Manager Terralong Terrace Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a fabulous time here, Great to walk around by the park and ocean. Nice restaurants and take-aways around and in the nearby park down by the beach. close to a great surf beach. We will return. The staff were lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candy A, General Manager at Terralong Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear mayw643

Thank you for your positive review. Great to hear that you had a fabulous time in Kiama and that you appreciated our central location and friendly staff!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Candy Andersen
Manager Terralong Terrace Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our 4 night stay here was very relaxing. The apartment was well equipped and it was a pleasure to return to it after a busy day. The apartment is in a great location to access the local supermarket and nearby restaurants. The selection of restaurants in close proximity gave us great choice and variety. We were welcomed by a very efficient manager and it was obvious she wanted her guests to have a pleasant experience. She was always on hand to check if everything was going well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terralong, General Manager at Terralong Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Annette D

What a great review you have given us! We are very pleased that you had such a relaxing stay at Terralong Terrace Apartments in Kiama and we are also very appreciative of your taking the time to share your positive experience!

Once again, it is clear that many of our guests really like our central location and accessibility to restaurants, shops etc.

Yes, it is important for myself and my staff that our guests enjoy their stay with us and their overall experience in the Kiama area. I am passionate about the South Coast of NSW and really believe it is one of the most beautiful parts of Australia.

Kind regards
Candy Andersen (Host/Manager Terralong Terrace Apartments)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Terralong apartments, we travelled from Sydney by train ( cost 8.40 aus dollars single journey ) the location of the apartment was within walking distance of the train, local supermarket, shops, restaurants, take aways and local attractions, you can walk along the coast line in both directions. The receptionist was very helpful, the apartments were clean and well maintained. Three days was sufficient to see everything, the pilots museum was very interesting the ticket collector became our guide and was very knowledgable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terralong, General Manager at Terralong Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Denise D

My staff and I are delighted that you enjoyed your 3 day stay in Kiama and that you appreciated the cleanliness and central location of our apartments.

I am always pleased to see guests travelling here from Sydney by train as it's a great option if you are an overseas visitor who doesn't want to hire a car or even a local or interstate guest who wants to have a break from driving. The spectacular train trip from Sydney is in fact highly recommended and, for anyone planning to make this trip, make sure you sit on the left hand side of the carriage (ie coastal/eastern side) to ensure the best view!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Australia!

Kind regards
Candy Andersen (Host/Manager Terralong Terrace Apartments)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very well kept apartments. Knowledgeable office staff with helpful information on the local area. 1 block from large grocery store/bottle shop complex. Numerous reasonably priced eateries within walking distance. Train station is an easy 5 block walk. Management offered a ride to and from the station. Bicycle rental delivery to the hotel or bike shop rental 2 blocks away, same price per day for each. Offered one time discount to the Indian restaurant adjacent to, but separate from the accommodation. One of the better stays I have had in Worldwide travel. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms worth 2 flights of stairs. Very quiet, considering you are in the center of town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terralong, General Manager at Terralong Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Wanderer43323

Thank you so much for making the time and effort to post your review which certainly highlights the drawcards of Terralong Terrace Apartments! We could not describe our strong points any better than you have, that's for sure.

Our central location indeed makes it feasible to do as you did and visit Kiama by train from Sydney. As you mentioned, we offer a free pick up from and drop off to the train station on request although most guests tend to walk unless the weather is wet or if they have heavy luggage. Bike hire is also an option although Kiama is quite a hilly town so cycling may be a bit of a challenge except for the very fit or for those who want to get fit!

We agree with your recommendation re requesting a top floor apartment - the outlook is definitely more pleasant and it is quieter up there. No lift to this 2nd floor however, so guests who have difficulty with stairs should request lower level apartment.

10% discount offered by the Indian restaurant next door to all guests of Terralong Terrace Apartments provided they pick up a signed and dated business card from our Reception - I only mention this as it is not just one-off - if you choose to eat there for several meals, the discount would still apply on presentation of a new card.

Thank you again for your informative review, hopefully it will help other travellers planning a short trip from Sydney to get a taste of the South Coast of NSW. We look forward to seeing you back in Kiama in the future!

Kind regards
Candy Andersen, Host/Manager Terralong Terrace Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I rented a 2-bedroom apartment with friends for the Easter holiday weekend. The apartment was spacious, clean, and comfortable, and the staff very friendly and welcoming. The pool was nice and we enjoyed borrowing games and movies from the office. The location is ideal- walking distance to the numerous cafes and shops, the blowhole, and local beaches, and an easy drive to other attractions in the area. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terralong, General Manager at Terralong Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear EileenD322

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your friends over the Easter weekend and very much appreciate your taking the time to post your review.

Our housekeeping staff take great pride in the quality of their work, and their pride is reinforced by your positive feedback. Our apartments are indeed spacious and comfortable and our whole team understands the importance of feeling valued as a guest - hence our emphasis on friendly professional service at all times.

Great to see also that you took advantage of our central location to do lots of walking around town as well as borrowing some of our dvds and games - we now have 139 mainly classic titles which many guests enjoy dipping into.

Thanks again for your appreciative review and we hope that you will come and visit us again one day!

Kind regards
Candy Andersen Host/Manager Terralong Terrace Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great location to set up base camp to explore the South Coast area. The hotel is located in the main street but is very quiet. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of all the facilities (spend some quality time in the salt water pool). We had the 2 bedroom apartment and had lots of room. The spa bath is also very nice after a long day of exploring. Close to everything-restaurants,cafes & shops. And the manager Candy is a lovely lady who wants you to have a great stay. Ideally suited for families & those looking for a quiet escape. Would defintely stay here again. Stayed March 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terralong, General Manager at Terralong Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Fiona A

Thank you for your positive review of our apartments. My staff and I are very happy that you enjoyed the space, quiet and cleanliness of our rooms as well as the central location and the solar-heated pool. We are indeed a good base from which to explore Kiama itself and the south coast of NSW.

We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments and hope to welcome you back here again sometime in the not too distant future!

Kind regards
Candy Andersen, Host/Manager Terralong Terrace Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terralong Terrace Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terralong Terrace Apartments

Address: 129 Terralong St, Kiama, New South Wales 2533, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Kiama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Terralong Terrace Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terralong Terrace Apartments is a small complex of 16 spacious, fully furnished and self-contained serviced apartments in central Kiama on the South Coast of NSW. We provide a range of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments, all with fully equipped kitchens, internal laundries, flat screen TVs, DVD players, huge balconies and most with spa bathrooms. Our apartments are serviced daily and fresh towels and amenities replenished as required. Off-street, undercover, allocated parking is free and we are just a 5 minute walk from the Kiama Railway Station. We are also within a few minutes walk of cafes, restaurants, shops, Harbour, and the main surfing beach. Airport transfers from Sydney International Airport (90 minutes from Kiama) can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Terralong Terrace Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terralong Terrace Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.