We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute booking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chachis

Chachis
The Terraces | 32 Collins Street, Kiama, Kiama, New South Wales 2533, Australia
0242331144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 48 Restaurants in Kiama
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
“last minute booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have eaten here a number of times and walked in on a Saturday night. They were able to juggle and find a table. Menu has some constants but also has a number of changing dishes. The food is great tasting and fresh, the décor is simple and is an easy place to have a conversation. The staff are helpful without overpowering. I would recommend

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“What A Wait!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went to Chachis during the Kiama Jazz Festival. We booked a number of days beforehand as we knew it would be crowded, however we wanted to catch the band that was playing there. The idea was we would have an early dinner, then go onto another venue for an evening concert. We arrived at 6:30 to a reasonably crowded retaurant, but weren't concerned as we expected they would have put on extra staff to cater for the night. However it soon became clear that this was not the case and the staff were struggling to cope with the orders. To cut a long story short, we didn't finish our one course until til nearly 9pm, too late to catch the show we had wanted to hear. We (and other dinners) were amazed that knowing 2 days beforehand how many customers they would have, they couldn't organise their staff so they had enough people to cope. When the food finally was thrown on our table (2 hours after we arrived) it was quite an average meal that could have come from the local cafe. Then to top it off, the band was placed on the veranda, facing out into the street, so we couldn't see or hear them! We certainly won't be going back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great meal, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have had several meals at the restaurant as the food and service never wavers. I took my wife after she had been in Australia for two weeks and we had an amazing time, well looked after, made to feel special and nothing was too much of a problem. I had my birthday meal there and again excellent. Our last meal was on the veranda at the front and the food, by now we had tried most, was again top notch cooked to perfection. We even took our own bottle of champagne. One slight criticism is don't let the children run around, get the parents in line as well!!!! We will definitely be going back for more as its value for money

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Kiama!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dinner here was a supremely tasty modern Italian experience worthy of a top class reataurant and they also cater for children! The service was prompt and excellent and the meals were hearty and beautifully presented. 4 of us had 3 courses each and everything was perfect so no need to recommend any particular meal. We cannot wait to return

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Quality food, great service but not really traditional Italian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner at this restaurant. Managed to secure table under the verandah which was very pleasant on a Summer's night. Atmosphere of the place was good. Buzzing with customers most of the night. Menu was extensive but was surprised with the limited number of fish and seafood dishes. Seafood options were generally limited to prawn dishes. Opened with a prawn and chorizo hotpot which was very tasty but seemed more like a Spanish tapas dish. For mains we had the scotch fillet with a mustard base sauce and spatchcock with pea risotto. The latter being the pick. Really felt like a veal or a hearty slow cooked meal such as shanks but neither were on offer. Fish mains were limited to a barramundi dish. Desserts were the highlight. We had the vanilla pannacotta with berry coulis. Location was great as it is close to the main part of Kiama and all hotels. Recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chachis also viewed

Kiama, New South Wales
Kiama, New South Wales
 
Kiama, New South Wales
Kiama, New South Wales
 

Been to Chachis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chachis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.