We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and great shower!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiama Shores Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kiama Shores Motel to your Saves list
Kiama Shores Motel
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   45 - 51 Collins Street, Kiama, New South Wales 2533, Australia (Formerly Kiama Terrace Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic location and great shower!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The four major items I judge for accommodation are location, good TV with cable service, good shower and cleanliness.
The Kiama Shores Motel certainly meets the first three in spades. With cleanliness however, although the room was very clean with nice linen, there are stains on the carpet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    43
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
26
31
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I travel to Kiama once a year to visit relatives. Can't believe the transformation of the Kiama Shores Motel since I stayed here last year. The change has been extraordinary.In particular the new digital TV's and new quality linen are the stand outs. Also the best shower I've had in a motel.

Prices however have gone up, but it's worth it especially considering the location.

There is also a cafe (Shores Cafe) and the breakfasts are fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

it was nice to be centrally located. the staff where friendly but some furniture in the room was stained ripped and old....but the bed was new and bathroom clean. they are partway thru medium renovations so i gues this will be addresed. cant wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Location Was Good But When We Went To our room , There was stains All over the Carpets,We had a spa room With a queen size bed And a sofa bed Which was not made up On opening the bedThere was just a sheet and lots of crumbs, They sent staff To make up bed On our return All they had done Was add ablanket and left the crumbs. Travelling for5 Hrs it was like sleeping on rocks . I went to office And asked for another another mattress or mattress topper But was told They didnt have eitherWe paid $249 for the night . we didnt get any sleep Because of the beds. We arrived at 1.00pm and left 5.00 am Next day very tired wouldnt recommed to any one, Maybe next time a back packers would be more comfortableand cheaper

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We recently stayed one night in Kiama Shores motel. We were shocked to see the customer service. A man sitting at the reception counter to serve the guests was dealing terribley. He was looking at us as if he wanted to dominate us. He was speaking as if he was doing favour to let us to stay in that motel though we spent $200 for one night. Both my family and I were worried to see that. I have stayed in several motels several times in Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide, but never experienced such a poor customer service. He needs a proper training.

Other amenities in the hotel are satisfactory.

Room Tip: If anyone is with pram and baby, then better to choose the first floor, because motel does not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Good value for the quality of motel amenities. Rates are seasonal so I don't agree with others comments that's over priced. Bed linen is first class and so is the 3D LCD with glasses, kids loved it. The free WiFi internet was also a bonus to have.

Swimming pool was the cleanest I've seen and the BBQ is top notch and free. Good area to sit back and relax on the outdoor area.

Staff were friendly and great.

Coffee and food at Shores Cafe was delicious and variety was great and best of all the servings were huge. Staff at the cafe had activities for my kids to enjoy.

Will be coming back.

Room Tip: Cafe is very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Booked two nights and had the best stay. Renovation of the motel is amazing. Rooms are clean, LCD TV, bed linen and hot water system is first class. Cafe has the best coffee and food in Kiama. Staff are friendly and very helpful. My kids were made to feel very welcomed. Location is convenient as everything is walking distance. The swimming pool and BBQ area is a great place to sit back and unwind. Well done to the new owners.

Room Tip: Get a room with a spa, worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiama Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiama Shores Motel

Address: 45 - 51 Collins Street, Kiama, New South Wales 2533, Australia (Formerly Kiama Terrace Motor Lodge)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kiama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kiama Shores Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiama Shores Motel is fast becoming Kiama’s best kept secret for accommodation! Offering 50 spacious air conditioned rooms featuring wide screen LCD TVs, Foxtel and 30 Digital stations. Egyptian cotton sheets are on our queen beds. Our Motel provides Free Wi-Fi and state of the art hot water system, which provides consistent and endless hot water. BBQ facilities are located within the outdoor swimming pool area. Relax in our Cafe and enjoy our home-baked treats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kiama Shores Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiama Shores Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.