We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Harbourside Kiama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Harbourside Kiama to your Saves list
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Shoalhaven Street, Kiama, New South Wales 2533, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kiama
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely large, clean rooms. All staff were approachable and friendly and rooms were serviced at a decent hour (mid morning). Close to Kiama Sunday Markets and shopping centre. We had an issue with our room at 2:30am and the night manager was exceptionally helpful. Couldn't have asked for better service. Breakfast was great and when we stayed the parking was free. Bonus!!!!

Room Tip: The windows cannot be opened so if you like lots of fresh air it would be advisable to get a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    217
    84
    25
    8
See reviews for
113
299
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

a quiet , balconied room looking into the branches of a magnificent tree, sea glimpses and a short stroll to everything ; the room was clean, simple and modern with a lovely color palette - an excellent onsite restaurant/bar with a delightful outdoor setting where you can have a cocktail overlooking the harbour. The whole complex has as its centrepiece a beautifully restored 19th century schoolhouse. There is swimming in the harbour rock pools, a fine selection of shops and clubs and best of all the magnificent Kiama coastal walk right on your doorstep.
This isn't a classical deluxe product but a modern,tasteful and comfortable accommodation house that is a perfect seaside getaway.

Room Tip: a room overlooking minamurra street with its lovely houses and leafy outlook - ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good location overlooking a park and the harbour. Very pretty area. Accommodation was tired, but spacious and clean. Expensive for what was offered but the location made up for it. Small restaurant in front of apartments was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I travel a lot, and my experience here was so wonderful, it really surprised me. I had booked a family room, for my friend and I. Upon recognising there were
only 2 adults, your staff member, I think her name started with an R, rang me in advance of my stay and told me the bed configuration included twin singles and
did I want them joined to make a king. That was very thoughtful and impressed me greatly. Upon arrival, I was told I was upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite, which
was such a great surprise. Your team are great there and I would certainly stay there again and recommend it also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A last-minute decision to grab a few days of R&R while in Sydney has proved to be an excellent idea as we had the chance to discover this part of the stunning coast south of Sydney and the pleasure of the Sebel. A modern hotel, the room had all the comforts, with a huge, comfy bed, a clean, large bathroom with very big shower cubicle and tea/coffee making facilities. The room was light and bright and we had a balcony. The staff were so friendly and accommodating and our complementary breakfast offered an extensive, tasty choice. The hotel is positioned opposite the bay and tiny harbour, near the famous Blow-Hole, which spurts impressive fountains of water through a hole in the rocks when the tide is right. I advise requesting a quiet room as some rooms overlook the road or the train line.
Kiama is delightful, with numerous cafes and restaurants. the Thai and Chachi's Italian (a BYO) restaurants were the two we most enjoyed. We also indulged in great coffee in several cafes. The row of traditional, wooden shops and cafes are so pretty, like stepping back in time. The shops have an array of nick-nacks but not the tacky, tourist ones.
There is so much to explore here. The coastal walk is breathtaking, across beaches and cliffs for as far as your legs will take you. Then there's the inland gem of Berry, with the utterly indulgent Treat Factory a few mimutes drive away. You won't fing this easy to leave, with its abundance of chocolate treats ina ll disguises, nuts, oils, marinades, jams and gift packs. Both sweet and savoury tastes are catered for.
Then there are the vineyards to visit and "test", as well as the coastal towns of Gerringong, Gerroa and Seven Mile Beach. You really won't want to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms with FULL harbour view are the quietest, especially with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights in a studio apartment and had a first class experience. The Sebel is a modern 3 storey apartment complex located close to Kiama's shops and marina/waterfront area. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. A minor problem with a noisy air-con unit in our unit was resolved with a temporary pedestal fan and an efficient relocation to another room the next day. All staff were polite and helpful eg offering advice about local restuarants - several exellent Asian, Mexican etc eateries are within a 5 min walk. The hotel offers free parking and our buffet reakfast was included in the reasonable tariff. In summary, this hotel provides exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor balcony room if you like fresh air and a small outdoor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Harbourside Kiama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Harbourside Kiama

Address: 31 Shoalhaven Street, Kiama, New South Wales 2533, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kiama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Harbourside Kiama 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Harbourside Kiama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Harbourside Kiama Hotel Kiama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Harbourside Kiama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.