We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karuah Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Karuah Motor Inn to your Saves list
Karuah Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   422 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE TO BOOK
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Karuah
Nambour
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We stayed here on our way to the Blue Mountains very clean place to stay.The staff were very friendly and accomodating.Rooms were a little old and small in size but very good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    24
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

The room was older but clean and the motel reasonably quiet. The room was quite small but cheap, making it great for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stopped off at Karahu enroute to Sydney and were surprised and delighted by the little extras provided by the owners (who were very polite and helpful). The breakfast was exceptional value at $6.00 p/head. We have stayed in many places like this one but this place just had the extra touches to make life more comfortable. The bed was fantastic and being away from the new freeway was peaceful and quiet. There are a few places to eat in the small village and we opted for the a chinese meal at the RSL . WOW!! The (international) chef prepared the best duck I have ever tasted (and I love my duck) and the whole meal was great. Now that the village has been bypassed I think it will take off tourist wise being on a river etc plus would make a good base if you are interested in touring the Hunter Valley.... We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The staff at Karuah Motor Inn were more than accommodating and were happy to help in any way - very friendly. As other reviewers have mentioned not much to eat around there. We ended up taking the hour drive to Nelson Bay and Newcastle for food. Would be a great stopover, except we were there to do some exploring rather than stopping by. The town was very very quiet. The breakfast was fantastic! But if you are not a morning person, they will only serve it by 8am at the latest... so that was not great for us. All in all a lovely place and the people who run it couldnt be more wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

This is our second time at this great little stopover motel! Again it was a clean, comfortable, quiet and friendly place to stay a night on a long drive. The owner was very welcoming and gave some good advice on finding dinner. The queen deluxe is well worth the few extra dollas, plunger coffee and little chocolates on our towels. The rooms were so cosy, quiet and offered a fantastic nights sleep.

WE sampled the breakfast on our first visit at christmas, very cheap and yummie, bacon, eggs, toast, juice, coffee, brought to your room at a time specified by you! Absolutely fanstastic! Dinner is a little harder to find but the fish and chip shop directly across the road was fresh, very well priced and cooked to perfection.
Would happily recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

I stayed here on the way for a trip further north, and loved the service I received. Very accommodating and provided us with everything we needed, we had 5 people. Love the little packets of shapes and biscuits and drinks cold in the fridge. A thousand times better than the Novotel we stayed in coffs harbour. Not much to eat for dinner in the area though (everything was closed at 8pm when we arrived except a 24 hour mobil).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

What a great little stopover! I would definately recommend this place as a clean, comfortable, quiet and friendly place to stay a night or two. The Inn is owner run and the couple could not be more accomodating and welcoming. We arrived at 9pm to a spacious room that had been opened up, had the lamps on and little chocolates on our towels. Karuah was orignially a small town directly on the Pacific Highway however the traffic is now diverted onto the new pacific highway leaving it quiet and peaceful.

We paid $70 for our stay here and would have to say it was the best accomodation stopover deal we had on our drive to Queensland and back.
Whatever you do DO NOT GO PAST THE BREAKFAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT IS SO CHEAP AND SO GOOD!!! We ordered bacon, eggs, toast, juice, coffee and raisen toast for a grand total of $9.65!!!!! And it is home cooked and brought to your room at a time specified by you! Absolutely fanstastic!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Karuah Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karuah Motor Inn

Address: 422 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Karuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Karuah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karuah Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karuah Motor Inn is a quiet resting place to recuperate from your day's journey or the ideal place to base yourself for that relaxing holiday. Within a few minutes of the Pacific Highway, in the centre of town, the Karuah Motor Inn provides convenient motel accommodation only 200 metres from the waters of Port Stephens and a short stroll to shops, food outlets and the RSL club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Karuah Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karuah Motor Inn Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karuah Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.