We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and really good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karuah Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Karuah Motor Inn to your Saves list
Karuah Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   422 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE TO BOOK
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Karuah
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and really good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great for a few days stopover. Friendly staff, clean rooms. I've stayed in hotels which couldn't live up to this standard. A little noisy but everyone soon settled down for the night. Very friendly place both visitors and staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night between Christmas and New Year. Loved this motel - well equipped and reasonably priced. Staff were most welcoming and we certainly felt at home. Breakfast was great value and topped off a comfortable night. It is so good to feel that the first meal of the day was a treat rather than an excuse to make more pfofit. We will certainly come this way again, sometime.

Only one drawback - almost everything was closed when we wanted to have dinner so we just bought something from the grocery over the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed in Karuah for the Australia Day weekend and found the motel to be a little gem. We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room and the quiet setting of Karuah. This was an ideal location to explore Port Stephens. Maryanne and the staff were extremely friendly and more than helpful in assisting us in things to see and do in Port Stephens. We had a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We decided to escape the heatwave in Sydney with a few nights away and this was the most affordable motel in the Port Stephens area at the time. So very glad we stayed here, the room was very clean and comfortable, as others have already commented, the attention to detail is beyond reproach, there was even ground coffee for the plunger. The staff were ALL very welcoming and friendly, the location is within easy access of all amenities. Will definitely return to Karuah and to this motel on our next short trip.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed for a night earlier this week on a trip back to the Gold Coast. We booked here on trip advisor recommendations. All the compliments are well deserved. Excellent hosts, spotlessly clean and well thought. Whilst we were only there for an overnight stop on a trip back to the Gold Coast, Karuah is obviously a popular spot for holiday makers. Clearly quite a few people make this motel their base for the area.

Room Tip: Town has been bypassed. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way home to Queensland. It was mainly a rest and relaxation stay after a hectic three weeks over Christmas/New Year, and we were really happy with our accommodation. We appreciated being given a room with a comfy couch to relax on after a five hour trip, and negotiating our way around the Sydney motorways. The facilities were excellent and very good value for money. The only thing I could be 'picky' about would be the shower door, as it was quite narrow and my husband, being a big man, found it a bit 'squeezy' to get into the shower. On the whole, we would certainly recommend the Karuah Motor Inn, and compliment the hosts on their extremely friendly welcome and care during our stay.

Room Tip: We had Room 12, which was tucked away in a corner and very quiet, with plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed one night there and it was so calm and clean, the room was equipped with flat screen TV and Ipod player.

The staff were so friendly too and hospitable


Definitely recommend it.

I can say more and more, but gotta go

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karuah_Motor_Inn, Owner at Karuah Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you, we are pleased that you had a comfortable and restful stay, and hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karuah Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karuah Motor Inn

Address: 422 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Karuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Karuah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karuah Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karuah Motor Inn is a quiet resting place to recuperate from your day's journey or the ideal place to base yourself for that relaxing holiday. Within a few minutes of the Pacific Highway, in the centre of town, the Karuah Motor Inn provides convenient motel accommodation only 200 metres from the waters of Port Stephens and a short stroll to shops, food outlets and the RSL club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Karuah Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karuah Motor Inn Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karuah Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.