We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury for parents, fun for kids - perfect combination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat to your Saves list
Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat
1655 Kangaroo Valley Road, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
r
1 review
“Luxury for parents, fun for kids - perfect combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We loved the beautiful property and stunning views.
We had a barbeque by the lake at night, the kids ran freely all around chasing chooks.
The cottages were a real treat, very spacious, cosy and clean with everything that you possibly need at your finger tips, even Cocoa Pops for breakfast and homemade, organic marmalade.
The owners were absolutely fantastic, accommodating and helpful. They booked us a place at a local restaurant which was a hit with everyone.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

This is a beautiful gem of a getaway in a wonderful location. This holiday was a surprise birthday present from my boyfriend, and I couldn't have asked for a more romantic gift. We stayed in the Billabong cottage, and our stay was not nearly long enough!

The bedroom, loungeroom and bathroom are roomy but cosy. It looks good on the website, but so much better in real life! The fireplace is great for rainy nights, spa bath with the view of the pond is great anytime and the small but important touches - candles, beautiful books, aromatherapy toiletries, luscious linen just complete the experience. Our breakfast of scones and jam and teas was highly appreciated.

The location is great as well - so close to Kangaroo Valley's natural attractions as well as to the surrounding charming towns with their antique and craft stores, cafes and gardens.

There is also an option of having a spa treatment in your own cottage, which we took, and it was just what I needed - so wonderfully relaxing!

The host is so helpful, attentive and accommodating, and her passion for what she does really comes through.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We recently spent 4 nights in Fleur Cottage at Crystal Creek Meadows with our 9 year old. We had a fantastic time.

From the initial phone call for booking, every little detail - including the type of juice for breakfast, white/brown bread, everything was taken care of.

Checking in was a breeze with Sophie warmly welcoming and genuinely caring throughout our stay almost intuitively providing all relevant information on eating out, local activities etc.

The cottage was gorgeous and set in the most beautiful gardens, and was very private. The decor was lovely, beautiful king and queen beds, table set for three and all provisions one could possibly need. There was also a stack of DVDs to borrow - and some books in the cottage.It was a pleasure wandering about the well laid out gardens with the lavender bushes and citrus trees and the little pond with a picture perfect gazebo in the middle.

It was a bit cold and rainy during our stay - all the better for we got to use the log fired heater! Our son loved feeding the free-range chooks,and locking them up every evening. This is definitely a place where one is made to feel welcome.

On our way to Kangaroo Valley, we had driven through Peppers in Sutton Forest to explore it as a weekend getaway for 2 in the future; however, having experienced Crystal Creek Meadows, we know where we will be going in the future!

PS - For good eats around KV and Berry: (in order of preference) - Cafe Bella, Jing Jo, Hungry Duck in Berry, The Friendly Inn Hotel - does a pretty decent meal for a pub.
The Magpie Cafe in Berrima was absolutely divine - great sevice, lovely food & great value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Though it has been a while since we stayed a recent resolution to reward the good things in life prompts me to mention that I am still savoring the fresh eggs and bread provided for us for our breakfast at Crystal Creek Meadows. That may not seem like much but the fact that I can, despite the span of 10 months, rave about the breakfast, and the accommodations not to mention the pride and hospitality of the owners, speaks volumes.

Crystal Creek Meadows is hard to categorize. On one hand it is a B&B, but you cook your own breakfast. It has accommodations that rival a fine hotel and yet they are cottages. We stayed at the Jolly Jumbuck and the views across a small pond to the valley surrounds seemed to change constantly for the good. Chris and Sophie take great pride in the place and that pride is fully justified. You will find romance, seclusion and Chris will let you know where to find the platypus.

I was originally a little apprehensive about staying in what seemed to be remote location because I didn't want to have to drive back to the "hotel" after dark. No worries, the curry dinner that was provided in pouches was instant gourmet and almost as memorable as the breakfast!

There are two other things in need of mention. One the bath products hand crafted by the owners and two the 1969 MG that the Warrens make available to guests for the perfect drive through the valley. The former brings a sense of comfort and the latter a dash of class.

This is the perfect place for a honeymoon or a romantic get away - life doesn't get any better.

If there was one disappointment to our stay it is that Kangaroo Valley itself is a bit of a misnomer. You are unlikely to find any! That aside what you will find is a warm reception and a heavenly stay.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

My husband and I took our two kids to Kangaroo Valley for 3 nights and chose to stay in the luxurious Rose Garden Cottage at Crystal Creek Meadows. We were awe struck with the detail and charm of the cottage and the property. The kids settled in well and loved the lush pillows and soft doonas. The King size bed was the best I've ever slept on. The elegance of the cottage was incredible. It was filled with colour yet class. It was the small details which capped off the experience. A dvd library to use, toys for the kids, afternoon tea on our arrival, chocolates and port, fresh bacon, eggs and lots of other breakfast goodies. The bath robes, slippers, baths salts, oil burner and the body lotions. The massage and facial I had in my room were exceptional. I was left relaxed and rejuvinated. We all felt safe, comfortable and content in the cottage. The kids really enjoyed exploring the property and playing with the chickens also. We were sad to have to leave and look forward to Chris and Sophie's warm reception when we visit Crystal Creek Meadows again very soon.

  • Liked — The luxury and detail of each room.
  • Disliked — Nothing....it was absolutely spectacular. I can't find a fault.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

What a fabulous stay myself and 3 other friends had at the Crystal Creek Medows last weekend.
Fabulous accomodation, gourmet food to rival anywhere,
very generous gifts & inclusions, super professional beauty therapist, divine location & the most friendly approachable hosts I have come across.
An escape from reality into the world of the pampered..........well, thats how this usually busy mother of a young child felt anyway.
Well done, Congrats on all the awards already won, Im sure there is more coming your way.
I will be back.
Annette

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

My partner and i stayed at Crystal Creek Meadows for a luxurious weekend away in the Rose Garden Cottage. Our hosts were very accomodating and welcoming. The cottage was set in beautiful gardens amongst a very spacious property that offered peace and quite whilst still being close to town for the essentials and the luxurious that made for a fantastic weekend away.

We entered our cottage with soft music playing to find our breakfast hamper filled to the brim with superb quality local produce-cheese, wine,eggs, bacon, juice

The home made spa products were a real buzz for my partner and combined very well with the spa bath!! The huge bed and great views onto the verandah and gardens made our nights very special. All the little details were taken care of, the fireplace lit up the cottage and warmed every corner.

This as a fantastic place to stay, not just for the accomodation and etail, but for the centrality of it located so close to Berrima, Bowral, Fitzroy Falls, Kiama...and Kangaroo Valley has some devine cafes, restaurants and gift galleries. 3 days was certainly not long enough....even a week would be too short...we will be back again and again and again.

An amazement of luxury and Romance!

  • Liked — Absolutely everything....no faults at all!!!!!
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat

Address: 1655 Kangaroo Valley Road, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Kangaroo Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat provides, 4.5 Star award-winning, self contained B&B farmstay accommodation. Four luxury eco cottages are set amongst 16 acres of gardens and stunning country vistas - privacy assured. Each cottage has king bed, bath, log fire, living room with DVD, digital TV, ipod dock, full kitchen facilities including breakfasts and cooking essentials. Treat yourself with luxury extras included in the tariff (ie: breakfast, pampering handmade Aromatherapy bath & beauty products) or create a holiday package with extra services; Day spa treatments, gourmet meals & classic MGB car hire. Free bike hire, tour desk, on-site management, edible gardens, farm and nature discovery walks. Guest BBQs by the lake.Intimate and romantic country weddings and elopements are a specialty.Eco-certified and child friendly, perfect for romantic couples getaways, family holidays and small group bookings. 3 Minutes from Kangaroo Valley village, restaurants, shops and country swimming pool, 2 hours from Sydney NSW or Canberra ACT Australia. Scenic drives Kangaroo Valley and South Coast NSW beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.