We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing as Always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat to your Saves list
Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat
1655 Kangaroo Valley Road, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing as Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Its always a pleasure staying at Crystal Creek Meadows. Its forever peaceful and just has that air of sophistication in the cottages. I have been going there now for a few years with the kids and they just absolutely love the environment, love the egg collecting and the freedom to roam the property. It is a true credit to both Sophie & Christopher and they're kids to all the hard work , effort and pride that they take to make Crystal Creek truly what it is. Words just cannot express how amazing this place is, you'll just need to experience it yourself. The only let down is the fact that you have to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieKangarooValley, Owner at Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Carlos, so great to hear you and the kids had such a good time again. There is so much to do down here and different things to enjoy at different ages. Kids (and adults) love feeding the chickens and collecting the eggs, and the chooks love it too! Hope to see you again soon, all the best, Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went to Crystal Creek Meadows for our Honeymoon in November last year. I could not recommend this place enough. After organsing the wedding it was a great venue to just chill, and relax. Kangaroo Valley is gorgeous. We spent three days there sightseeing, eating- the restaurants are gorgeous and just hanging in the cottage. The fresh produce provided in the room was fantastic, We also ordered 'high tea' and we had enough food to last a couple of days- if we decided not to go out. The owners are just gorgeous and leave you alone or show you around the property, if you want. Being locals they also recommend some great places. If you are just looking for some 'down time' - spend a couple days here( at least) - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Owner at Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Petrina, it's so lovely to read your review of your honeymoon stay with us. We love having newly weds to stay and are so happy that we provided the right amount of 'being available' whilst still giving you the peace and privacy that you both needed. I'm glad you opted for the Deluxe Tariff as it is lovely to have all that fresh produce from the local area, and means if you don't want to go out you can still enjoy lovely food. All the best to you both for a wonderful first year as newlyweds, and a happy life together, Sophie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narellan, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

For a quiet, relaxing holiday in a beautiful location close to Sydney, choose Crystal Creek Meadows. In just 10 years Chris and Sophie, after a lot of research and hard work, have transformed this 16 acre property from grazing land back to a native bush setting with beautiful native gardens and ponds. From the beginning, this transformation was planned and created with a very strong emphasis on environmental responsibility and sustainability, something about which both Chris and Sophie are passionate. We only had to speak to them for a few minutes to understand this. They are also wonderful and knowledgeable hosts from whom we learned a great deal about the local ecology and the surrounding area. The native bird life on and near the property is incredible, a bird watchers paradise.
Accommodation: The cottages are luxurious, self-contained, cosy and very well appointed, each with their own lovely native garden. We opted for the breakfast hamper and dined on fresh Crystal Creek eggs (chickens wander around the property which adds to the country feel), local bacon, orange juice, yoghurt, local chocolates and various other goodies. Kangaroo Valley township is only 3 klm away. This township has an array of excellent restaurants and coffee shops (not to mention arts and crafts). There is also a boutique winery in the valley (Yarrawa estate).
For a quiet, relaxing time in a beautiful setting with excellent hosts, then this is the place.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Owner at Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thanks so much for the kind review and generous comments about our sustainable practices. It is lovely to see that guests appreciate the eco-friendly efforts and notice that it does not detract from the luxurious nature of their stay (in fact it adds to the experience!). I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast hamper, we try to use as much local produce as possible, which is great for our local community and great for guests too as it is all excellent quality (and lo food miles too). Also, thank you for your generous donation to the Friends of the Bush-Tailed Rock-Wallaby - they are an endangered species in NSW and your donation will go towards protecting them from predators. Sophie and I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Four friends got together for a much needed weekend away. We couldn't have asked for a better destination. May I also say the Pamper Package which we had was amazing value. 2 nights in excellent accommodation "Rose Cottage", three course meal At Bella in Kangaroo Valley. Driven by Sophie picked up by Christopher, an exceptional massage for all of us the next day, more food than we could possible eat (thank you chickens for amazing eggs) supplied to us, and beautiful gift bags on our beds. Let us not forget Christopher coming to our rescue so we could watch and dance to Mama Mia!
The weekend was a stand out success we all went away having rested laughed and relaxed and all thanks to Sophie and Christopher at Crystal Creek Meadows. We are all so grateful. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rose Cottage slept 4 people very comfortably. Two bathrooms made the difference. Great family cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Owner at Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
How wonderful to see that the four of you had such a fabulous time on the Divine Girls Pampering Package. It is a great package with lots of indulgences - gorgeous dinner, lunch delivered to the cottage, aroma gift bag, bubbly, chocolates and treatments - what else do you need for a great girly weekend! Also great to see that although you only live 45 minutes away you chose to come to beautiful Kangaroo Valley - so close but a world away! Looking forward to seeing you all again for another great weekend. All the best, Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had 2 nights in the Jolly Jumbuck. It was not long enough, we left wanting more time in the beautiful surroundings. The fireplace, spa and cottage were just gorgeous and perfect for the cooler weather. Our hosts were so friendly and accommodating, getting gluten free bread in specially, suggesting some lovely drives and winery, and even driving us into town for dinner when the taxi was booked out. The gardens were beautiful and our hosts even encouraged us to pick flowers to take home. We fed the chooks and wandered the gardens, so peaceful! The beautiful smelling home made soaps were a perfect touch for the big spa which overlooks the gardens and wombat hole. The town was close; people were so friendly and we had a great time eating out and wandering through the shops. Thanks, we will be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Owner at Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We make it our specialty to personalise every guest's stay to suit them, and are more than happy to accommodate dietary requirements and to make recommendations they might like - as we live onsite we are always around to help when needed. I'm glad you enjoyed the beautiful soap and aromatherapy products - they are all handmade by us using 100% essential oils, so the beautiful scents are long lasting as well as being therapeutic. I'm glad you got to enjoy Kangaroo Valley - it is a quaint village with some great little shops and top quality restaurants. We look forward to having you stay again, All the best, Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I were a bit burnt out looking after our 15 month old, who was having some sleeping issues. We had never been to the Kangaroo Valley before and thought this would be the perfect place to relax and switch off. My wife found Crystal Creek on the internet and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to unwind. Peaceful, quiet, spacious, beautifully appointed and lots of fresh air. We stayed two nights but wish we had time to stay four. Sophie was a fabulous host… not just a friendly service provider doing her job, but just a lovely and caring human being. She even mailed back our phone charger that we had left behind.

Our daughter loved the open space and the chickens! She chased them all over. The fleur cottage was perfect, complete with fireplace. We will certainly be back.

Darren & Sarah

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Owner at Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
It was lovely to read your review Darren, and to hear that you and your family loved your stay. It is so important to find somewhere where Mum and Dad can really relax and feel refreshed, while little ones also feel welcomed and free. We try to anticipate everything our guests might need, whether they are honeymooners or a family with a young baby, so you can have a special time together - so important in everyone's busy lives! Best wishes to you all and we look forward to welcoming you again, Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I've just been reading through reviews from other patrons and I must say I'm very surprised! There seems to be quite a few complaints on cost. Coming from a couple who are just starting out with a new home with broken down appliances and in desperate need of a paint job... yes it was an expensive weekend away for us. Was it worth it though? Yes yes yes!!! It was worth every single cent.

From the moment we arrived at 9 pm on Thursday night, the attention to every tiny detail was immediately evident. The beautiful smell of lavender incense, orchastra playing over the radio, lovely lamps left on and a nice big pile of firewood for us. We took the dutiful pics of our fully stocked fridge, beautifully made bed and the boy making fire :)

The next morning we woke to 5 hours worth of spa treatments. .. heaven. Having a glass of the beautiful wine out of the fridge while we relaxed in our own cottage and we were totally spoilt. Sandwiches for lunch made out of fresh local bread ham and tomatoes. It couldn't possible get any better than that!

But it did! The hire of the MG and the picnic the next day. Oh wow. As we pulled put into the tree lined roads, Sinatra blasting from the stereo, we couldn't help but look at each other in awe. We truly felt like this was an experience from another world. Such pure bliss.

In all we had the most wonderful, decadent, romantic holiday I've ever experienced. Sure our bathroom wasn't marble encrusted.... There was no fancy sculptures in the lounge... no schmancy lap pool. But go into the city if you want that :p Sophie and Chris have done the most amazing job of making the cottage not only a home away from home but a step out of reality. A glimpse into an alternate reality with bird song at dawn, frogs at dusk, and delightful chickens full of personality through the day.

We really can't wait until we have the time to come back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Owner at Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Sophie and I are delighted you had such a wonderful time. It’s great you appreciated the value of offering guests fresh, local and handmade products where ever we can, and the quality of the products does make all the difference between a good stay and an excellent one. They help to give our guests an indulgent and memorable stay (we love to showcase our beautiful region and spend 71% of our expenditure in our village). We look forward to welcoming you back to wonderful Kangaroo Valley another day. All the best, Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat

Address: 1655 Kangaroo Valley Road, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Kangaroo Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat provides, 4.5 Star award-winning, self contained B&B farmstay accommodation. Four luxury eco cottages are set amongst 16 acres of gardens and stunning country vistas - privacy assured. Each cottage has king bed, bath, log fire, living room with DVD, digital TV, ipod dock, full kitchen facilities including breakfasts and cooking essentials. Treat yourself with luxury extras included in the tariff (ie: breakfast, pampering handmade Aromatherapy bath & beauty products) or create a holiday package with extra services; Day spa treatments, gourmet meals & classic MGB car hire. Free bike hire, tour desk, on-site management, edible gardens, farm and nature discovery walks. Guest BBQs by the lake.Intimate and romantic country weddings and elopements are a specialty.Eco-certified and child friendly, perfect for romantic couples getaways, family holidays and small group bookings. 3 Minutes from Kangaroo Valley village, restaurants, shops and country swimming pool, 2 hours from Sydney NSW or Canberra ACT Australia. Scenic drives Kangaroo Valley and South Coast NSW beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.