We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, too bad about the After service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heavens Mountain Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangaroo Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Heavens Mountain Escape
Save
You added The Heavens Mountain Escape to your Saves list
94 Paddington Lane, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Blacktown, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place, too bad about the After service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed at The Heavens for two nights, celibrating our anniversary. Very nice and tasteful. enjoyed every minute.

Only problem was, three days after leaving The Heavens we recieved an email stating of additional charges that have already been charge onto our credit card for damages that we caused. Damages that after discussing with the owner we could not prove that was not caused by ourselves andwas already there prior to our arrival. And since we had no evidence that this was the case, the charges we had to pay.

Do not give your credit card details, you will have no way of getting out of it.

Room Tip: Do not give them your credit card details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Russia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed at The Heavens for two nights. We were at Elysium cottage. From the first sight you feel it is a basic and not very quality accommodation but once you enter you immediately change your mind.
The cottage is very tastefully decorated, has very comfortable furniture and is fully equipped for a long stay.
We had two bedrooms with a bathroom between them and a living room with a kitchen and dining area. There is a table on the terrace and a BBQ there. The cottage is located in such a way that you do not see anyone else and you really feel you are alone there –excellent for those looking to disconnect from it all !
On our arrival we discovered the full breakfast basket with farm eggs, home made bread, jams and even plenty of oranges to make a fresh juice in the morning. There was also a full mini-bar with wines, beers etc.
The house has a spa with a nice view to the outside lawns and from the terrace and windows you have a peaceful views of the valley and pastures around. A small stock of farm animals including alpacas’ are wondering in the paddock next to the house and add to the picture.
At dusk there are mobs of kangaroos around and we also saw clear traces of wombat though did not see himself !
Great experience and we are very upset we were not able to stay longer !

Room Tip: You are in nature, so be calm if you see an ant or two the spray is under the sink :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

My partner and I booked in online, got a bunch of info from Jan to help us see what was around Kangaroo Valley. We loved the cottages, spacious, comfortable, warm. We really enjoyed the home made bread, organic bacon, eggs and tomoates. Berri is near by, we bought up and had a wonderful dinner at the cottage. We're looking forward to our next stay at The Heavens.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Only 2 hours out of Sydney (easy weekend getaway), The Heavens, in my opinion is the perfect retreat for busy Sydney couples! Three equally gorgeous cottages (the top one is my favourite) with beautiful views, well equipped and quiet and private. On arrival, the cottage has been prepared by Jan (we found Jan to be so helpful and informative) with tea lights, music on softly, and assortment of books and up to date mags as well as some appropriate DVD's to watch a movie - perfect!
In the fridge you'll find brekky - freshly laid eggs, bacon from the local famous butcher and mushrooms and tomatoes. Not to mention bread that has been baked over night - what more could you want?
Sure there are a few bugs and cobwebs and mozzies - but you are in the bush for goodness sake! We found the cottage to be very clean and well serviced - nothing to complain about at all!
We have been to The Heavens now probably 4 or 5 times and come back home each time feeling like we've had a holiday. The views, the clean, fresh air and the wildlife all add up to a really lovely weekend. Jan and Rob - we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Having stayed in the Aurora cottage back in 2003 and being totally blown away by the luxury, eye for detail, little extras and amazingly friend service we were very disappointed this time around.

Putting aside the run-in I had with the owner Jan the week prior when she SCREAMED abuse at me on the phone for daring to question why my friends refund money hadn't gone through (my sister stayed two weeks prior and unfortunately they had a blackout - no heating, power, flushing toilets or running water - Fair Trading agree a refund is in order!) As it turned out, the refund was given but the damage was done - WHO SCREAMS AT CUSTOMERS THESE DAYS? Yes, would have pulled out at this point if I hadn't already paid my deposit (non refundable within 28 days). I did ring Jan again prior to my stay and requested an apology for the previous screamed abuse which she reluctantly and sarcastically spat out. (!)

So, with some trepidation but DESPERATE to have a nice time as it was our first time away without the children in 7 years we travelled to Kangaroo Valley. It was immediately apparent that the cabins had been neglected, little things like holes which hadn't been patched, although tidy, not particularly clean, BBQ couldn't be used as it was too dirty, pots/pans needed to be replaced, kettle had obviously been boiled dry once or twice before meaning the noise it made when it boiled made it difficult to have a conversation while in the same room. Also, my husband noticed the toilet seat dirty when he lifted the seat. Little things like the out of date "visitors information" book that looked like it had seen better days (ripped, cracked) etc such small things when you list it here but cumulatively showed a distinct lack of care. Certainly not "luxury".

Good things: very comfortable bed, very roomy, great view, loved the spa (which we washed before we used it) private, good heating, loved the complimentary breakfast, tealights, essential oil burner, books for borrowing. VERY PEACEFUL!

We were so disappointed to see the state of the heavens - it could be sooo goood! We realised that the owners struggle with cleanliness when we saw the state of the office that "the Heavens" is run from - DISORGANISED, SMELLED OF CAT URINE, MESSY, DIRTY, RUN DOWN.

So, although this place could be great, unfortunately we will not be returning. Nearby Berry looked very appealing we might try that town next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

My partner and I choose the Elysium cottage as a weekend escape from the city.

The tariff was on the pricey side for a small cottage in Kangaroo Valley but it has lovely views and was relatively private. There are alpacas right outside your window as the cottage is within larger farming grounds.

The decor was lovely and when we arrived, the house was all warmed up for us and a couple of hours later, the hostess even brought around freshly baked bread...delightful!

The spa was big and deep - no problems for a couple and the house was clean.

It would have been the perfect weekend if I stopped there...

But on our 1st evening, we had visitors - ANTS and they were everywhere. We would put out some orange juice and it would be black - covered with ants by the time we returned. They came in from all around the kitchen and we spent what was meant to be a romantic weekend away cleaning up dead ants from our crockery, food, stove top and the garbage bin was just filled with them. No need to line the bins when you had insects lining them for you.

It pretty much ruined the weekend for us and it was DISGUSTING. Being a self contained cottage, we wanted to cook our own breakfast and dinner but the thought of eating after insects had been crawling through all the food and cookware was not really something either of us could stomach. We did mention this to the owners upon departure and we could tell this was not the first time a problem like this had occurred.

My conclusion - The cottage is lovely as long as you're happy to share it with the creepy crawlies!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We chose to stay here as it was self contained, lovely location and claimed to be 4.5 star - what a joke! There were cockroaches inside, none of the glasses and crockery were clean, there was dark hair in the bed before we had even slept in it, dark hair in the bathroom, clumps of hair on the towelspuzzle pieces from other tenants strewn all over the floor so obviously it hadn't been vacuumed. The TV channels didn't work properly and when all of this was brought to their attention, nothing was done about it. I was there with my 3 month baby and couldn't believe how filthy it was. I would never recommend anyone stay there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heavens Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heavens Mountain Escape

Address: 94 Paddington Lane, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Kangaroo Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heavens Mountain Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.