We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dangerous and un professional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Inn Hotel

Friendly Inn Hotel
159 Moss Vale Rd, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dangerous and un professional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went down for a motor bike ride. we had two lots of couples and we sat out the back after ordering a twenty five dollar stark each (bit over priced for t bone salad and chips) . We had a very close encounter to seriuos injury or worse. Although mother nature is not predictable, i tree fell down on us in the rear yard, the four of us were injured and the young bar staff came over with a reply to "[--] are u guys ok"? although he did replace two of the drinks spilt my sister and law and i were hit with the tree The young staff member ill talk to management for you guys ...............and we lost two of our meals oh and we are still waiting to hear from mamanement. Other families who were thier where more concerned and worried about us then the management. Very disappointing ..........

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    8
    17
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loads of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a girls weekend in Kangaroo Valley, visited the Friendly Inn twice. A very warm & welcoming pub, mingled with the locals, enjoyed some food, musician was fab, overall a wonderful experience. Thanks for having us :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful pub!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had a devine lunch and some drinks there - Service and atmosphere was friendly, very family orientated feel. The food was delicious and the pub was clean and interesting with the KV history that is evident throughout the rooms! Will definetly be back there soon! Thank you for a great afternoon in Kangaroo Valley!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orient point
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very disappointing...just don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I went here for lunch on our way back from the Southern Highlands.

Kangaroo Valley is a very pretty spot, with lush farm pastures and scenic sandstone cliffs everywhere you look.

The (so-called) Friendly Inn is a pub in the middle of Kangaroo Valley township. It has a great outlook and a big area out the back with great rural views.

Inside however is not so pretty....

The menu has a broad range of pub type food and we had no problem choosing something that we thought we would like. I paid with my credit card, only to find that a whopping 2% surcharge had been added to the bill.

When I queried this, the person who served me claimed not to know what the charge was for. When I asked if it was a credit card surcharge, he begrudgingly answered that it "probably was", but made no attempt to find out, and didn't seem to care one way or the other.

I checked, and there were no signs anywhere saying that there would be a credit card surcharge.

Drinks at this place are also expensive, with a small beer and mineral water costing over $10.

The food, when it arrived, had a small serving of overcooked fish and some very soggy salad that was nowhere near fresh. The accompanying chips were good.

To cap it off, our table and chairs were sticky from previous occupants. Overall it was not at all a pleasant environment.

We travel through Kangaroo Valley fairly regularly, but I doubt that we will return here for quite some time.

Dodgy food and dodgy service.......My recommendation is to go somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leumeah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Olde Worlde Inn but pity about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Called in here mid afternoon to await arrival of sister and brother in law with whom we were spending the weekend in the Valley. Wife and I sat at a table and I purchased a beer from a rather disinterested staff member who was more occupied in creating a bulk beer order than serving customers. We shortly moved outside as we felt that we were an imposition being there. When our Rels arrived they wanted a drink so we went back in. Same service standard - not really interested in the customers. However as soon as a "local" came in the staff were all smiles and "jolly good company". Its a pity because the place has potential. We could not fathom why the 2 rooms which had open fires were not in use (4pm on a winters day!l ) as it would have made the place a bit more inviting. I guess they really only care about the locals and "Put Up" with tourists. We had intended to have a meal there but decided that we would eat back at our accomodation rather than pay probably $100 for 4 of us to eat pub food and be ignored.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly Inn Hotel also viewed

Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
 
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Friendly Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.