We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprised at the excellent quality of the food and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro One46

Bistro One46
146 Moss Vale Rd, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 4465 2820
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: European, Australian, International, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Bistro One46 has become a favourite meeting point between the Southern Highlands and the NSW South Coast. Whether you are taking a day trip, staying in Kangaroo Valley or travelling through, be sure to drop in to Bistro One46 for a meal or a coffee. In the heart of the village or scenic Kangaroo Valley, Bistro One46 is the place to dine all year round with the grape-vine covered balcony, air conditioning available inside for summer or the open-fireplace inside for winter. Silver award recipients for the South Coast Tourism Award Best Tourism Restaurant in 2013. At Bistro One46 we pride ourselves on offering tasty, fresh food sourced local where possible, local wines, professional and friendly service as well as value of money in a relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant is family friendly and offers kids meals, has high chairs available and welcomes bookings for groups of up to 60 people. Open for LUNCH Saturday to Wednesday from 11.30Am-2.30Pm and DINNER Friday to Wednesday from 5.30-8.30Pm as well as BREAKFAST on weekends from 8am-11.30Am. (Closed on Thursdays and Friday lunch.)
1 review
“Very surprised at the excellent quality of the food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I was impressed (and surprised to be frank) at the quality of the food, wine and the service we received at Bistro One46. Coming from the inner city of Sydney, you embarrassingly become a bit of a food snob, however given that I considered marrying my duck and pistachio terrine at the end of the meal, it's safe to say I enjoyed myself.
The two figs Shiraz we picked up for a lazy 30 bucks wasn't even available for sale when we visited the cellar door the next day it was so popular. I wish we had scoffed another whiles we were there, or at least tried to sneak one home in my purse.
The wait(tress/person/lady) was lovely. Attentive, knowledgeable and gave us plenty of time to relax and gorge ourselves.
If you visit Kangaroo Valley, do yourself a favour and treat yourself to a meal at this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Julie,
It is nice to "surprise" our guests so pleasantly. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and it is nice for us to hear that you went to the winery. We enjoy selling local wines from Kangaroo Valley, the south coast and the southern highlands -- there are some great wines, but we don't always hear that people do visit these little wineries.
Hope to see you in KV again.
Happy New Year!
Nicole & Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    28
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprise treat in Aussie countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Recommended...yes. Our first visit to Kangaroo Valley and this was a classy but friendly restaurant/cafe. Popular with locals we chatted to on the adjacent table. Good food. Good atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Colin,
we are glad you enjoyed your first visit to KV and hope to see you here again soon. Lots to offer in KV -- activities and shops and restaurants.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Regards,
Nicole & Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“All about the balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

It's funny how the great vine-covered balcony transformed the decent but not spectacular food at this place on a warm December evening. Youthful (but very competent), friendly service was most welcome. Arancini for entree went well with very fresh tomato sauce. Chicken 'Tagine' for main was essentially a chicken stew, albeit a pretty good one, with a mouthful of coucous, overall a little light on quantity. Mudcake for dessert served with cream shaken from a can, enough said.

Pro tip: Free glass of housewine each if you bring the flyer for the restaurant from the information centre in Kangaroo Valley.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Hitch,

We are glad you enjoyed the service. We do pride ourselves on our level of service, as well as our food. We are glad you enjoyed the arancini, and hope you also enjoyed the rest of your meal. I am not sure what you expected from a Tagine, however, it is not only essentially a stew, but -- exactly a stew: "Tajines in Moroccan cuisine are slow-cooked stews braised at low temperatures, resulting in tender meat with aromatic vegetables and sauce". Traditionally they are cooked in clay Tagines, which we don't have for serving. Our home made "chermoula" is a marinade used in Algerian, Moroccan and Tunisian cooking. We use local olives, in-house preserved lemons, fresh bay leaves from our own bay tree and other spices including cumin, fresh coriander, paprika and saffron. It is very fragrant and spicey, though not hot.

Our cream is fresh cream, served whipped using the bulb whip cans. It is not the pre-packed cream-in-a-can.

We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary glass of wine which we offer to our guests. These are available from many of the bed and breakfast/accommodation providers in the valley.

Best wishes with your future travels.
Nicole & Gerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Valley NSW
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect place to watch the afternoon go by while sipping a glass of wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Bistro one46 is situated on the main street but sufficiently elevated so one may enjoy a little people watching without being watched. Superb selection of wine to wash down the great food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Manager at Bistro One46, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks Pommy Pete for taking the time to make a note here. We're glad you enjoy the wines! Lots to try - local and Australian!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have had 2 meals here now a lunch and a dinner, both were superb. I had the Pork Kassler, yummy is an understatement! Nicole's knowledge of the menu is fantastic and she explained the fish dish very well, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Gerald (husband and chef) managed to leave the kitchen on both our visits for a little chat. We appreciated that. Great coffee to end the meal. We highly recommend this restaurant. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Manager at Bistro One46, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear KaiViti_123 , we are glad you enjoyed your meals with us and your coffee. We look forward to serving you again. Gerald (owner/chef) enjoys meeting the customers too with the open kitchen and sometimes even comes out to say hi if it's not too busy!
Thanks. Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro One46 also viewed

Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
 
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Bistro One46? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro One46, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.