We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic - well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junee Roundhouse Museum

Junee Roundhouse Museum
Harold Street, Junee, New South Wales, Australia
+61269242909
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Junee
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our child felt like he was in Chuggington and absolutely loved getting to visit Wilson, Old Puffer Pete and other trains! It's great that you can get on and see what the history of the trains and the kids are allowed to sit in the driver seats. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. We'll definitely come back again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Choo-choo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I loved my visit to Junee's Roundhouse Museum. It was a nostalgic trip being able to walk through trains that I remember from my childhood. The displays are interesting, the roundhouse itself unique, and volunteer guides passionate about trains. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting if you are fascinated by trains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very knowledgeable volunteer guides. Rather spartan presentation. Cute place, but only if you are very interested in trains and railway history.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My 19 yr old son is the train buff and the reason we dropped by the museum during a Melbourne-Sydney driving holiday. Wow, what a place. I'm glad he insisted going there. Talk about a workshop. Even if you're not into trains there are some seriously impressive power tools and heavy machinery to drool over, and interesting answers to questions like how do they juggle replacement electric motors into the massive diesel-electrics. We visited on a rainy day, which didn't detract at all from the experience other than more vigilance on where we placed feet (rails get slippery in the wet). This place is BIG and if you want to see it all you will need to allocate a couple of hours. Closed footwear is advised.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junee, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Alot of interesting history of these trains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Cheap entry, alot of old trains bringing back memorys

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junee Roundhouse Museum also viewed

 
Junee, New South Wales
Junee, New South Wales
 

Been to Junee Roundhouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junee Roundhouse Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.