We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyams Beach

Hyams Beach
Hyams Beach, Jervis Bay, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540 , Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Jervis Bay
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Jervis Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Peaceful and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pristine sand and beaches surrounded by nature at its best. A wonderful beach easily isolated from the hustle and bustle of life. Take a long walk with your loved one and you will not regret it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    25
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful white sand beach with chrystal clear waters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Hyams beach is a beautiful white sand beach on Jervis bay. The water is chrystal clear and a lovely blue. The view over the bay looking towards point perpendicular and Baum island. The waves are gentle, so good for children or those who are not strong swimmers. From here you can walk along the white sands walkway to other beautiful beaches along Jervis bay. There is a cafe selling good cafe style food nearby. One suggestion, if you don't like crowds avoid going on an Easter weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I thought it was to good to be true to have such a beautiful white beach in NSW. I've been to beaches overseas such asThailand and in The Philippines which I thought were one of the best. I'm so glad I found out about this place. The sand is really that white, soft and the water is so clear. I don't need to go overseas for a beautiful beach anymore.
The parking there is really small about 10 spaces but there is street parking available too. Toilet facilities are also there which was convenient.
There was quite a few people when we went on the first day but it's a nice long stretch so you just need to walk a little further to have more room to yourself.
Can't wait to go back already!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Pure white sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A lovely little beach, clean, easy to get to. A short drive in from the main road. Squeaky white sand between your toes! The colour of the water is brilliant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is the most amazing beach I have ever visited! It is definitely worth doing the White Sands Walk which passes through Chinamans Beach. This is smaller than Hyam's but less people visit and the sea is a bit calmer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyams Beach also viewed

Jervis Bay, Shoalhaven
 
Jervis Bay, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Hyams Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyams Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.