We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to take someone if you are looking to impress them” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huskisson Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huskisson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Huskisson Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
12 Tomerong Street, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Huskisson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
wollongong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect place to take someone if you are looking to impress them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

My partner and I recently stayed and found it to be a wonderful experience. The room was really nice and well presented .The bed was the most comfortable bed I had ever slept on and the bathroom had a fantastic huge bath tub for two. The common room was fully of interesting books and also had a wood fire which sets a relaxing mood and can be used to heat some marshmallows. The balcony had tables with some comfortable chairs there are candles to use for lighting if you wish. The owner’s pet dog was well behaved and loved a pat. The owners Kate and Stephen Broadhurst were helpful and made us feel welcome and were happy to help, for instance supplying a bbq and they had it ready to go by the time we had gone to the shops and back to grab our meat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    24
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
104
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

This was my second stay at Huskisson B & B. Both of my visits to Huskisson B & B were very enjoyable. The family room was extremely comfortable and was the perfect accommodation for our family which includes five-year-old twins. The owners are great and are very helpful when it comes to making bookings for activities in the area. My only complaint is that we didn't have more time in the area!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Me and my partner decided to spend a long weekend around Jarvis Bay and to stay in a B&B. Staying in Huskisson B&B was one of the best decisions we made. The place has charm and it appeals to people who like a stylish and romantic accommodation.
The room was nice with the most comfortable bed I've experienced in a B&B. The bathroom was fantastic, perfect for relaxation. The living room is exactly how I'd like my holiday home look like.
Huskisson B&B is a 5 minute walk from the centre of Huskisson and there are few shops and restaurants around. The local are is great with the beaches, the lagoon, and the bush.
Kate and Steve, the owners are lovely people. Thanks for your hospitality, we'll definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I stayed at Kate and Steve's delightful B&B for my first ever 'holiday alone', a break from the demands of family and business. Their hospitality was the perfect balance between friendly chat and leaving me to my own devices. I felt totally at home with them, and in their beautiful weather-board house, which is full of character and history. The clean lines and 'shabby chic' French style of decor are exactly what I would choose for a beach house.

Breakfasts were ample and delicious, made with local produce. Bathroom and bedroom were comfortable, well-appointed, with high-ceilings and full of sunlight. It was an easy walk into town to local restaurants (I especially recommend the Indian one). Huskisson was my favourite town of all the places I visited in the Jervis Bay area, too. While the beach isn't on the doorstop of the B&B, it's not far!

The full book shelves, range of teas, sea shells, movies, rambling garden and comfortable verandah all add to the charm of this B&B. The fireplace and cushy sofas were wonderful for reading on chilly nights, and I enjoyed having 'house pets' around too. Steve and Kate were sublime hosts.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel Peninsula
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My friend had booked for two nights based on website appeal. This proved rash as website shows probably the most misleading pictures of this rundown shack. Check-in was 3pm, we arrived exhausted from long flights, at 4pm to find beds unmade. The place was a mess. The garden looked like Steptoe's yard! I have no idea where breakfast would have been served. We did not stay. We went to a nearby Motel which did indeed overlook the sea. A warning never to book based on website pictures. Check Tripadvisor! Anne Hunter

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuskyHouse, Host at Huskisson Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
Well it had to happen one of these days - someone turning up at Huskisson Bed & Breakfast who "Just Doesn't Get It " and would rather stay in a Motel!

The woman who wrote this review was the friend of the woman whose daughter had made the booking for them, so it was a third-hand booking. Usually our guests have done their own individual research, so they have chosen us specifically, knowing what they are getting and exactly where we are.

It is true that the bed wasn't made in time (a first in six years). For that we apologise (as we did one the day) and explain that thanks to the recent weeks of rainy deluge, our greeny policy of line-drying had failed (as had the local laudromat that had been over-run). Steve was about to make the bed with linen fresh from the laundromat when the guests arrived, so he explained that it would take him five minutes. They weren't happy.

Usually people who come here are a bit more friendly and relaxed, but then usually people who come here appreciate our gorgeous restored weatherboard home, delighting in its rustic charm. Usually they are the kind of people who fall in love with our hundred-year-old cottage and revel in its unique interiors (Country Style loved it), forgiving us the occasional unpolished or whitewashed floorboard, vintage quirk, beachy chic or - heaven forbid - runaway garden.

Thanks to our many great TA reviews and word-of-mouth buzz, we are full most of the time. We do almost everything ourselves and try very hard to create the perfect experience for guests. The B&B is super-comfortable and spotlessly clean with deluxe bathroom fittings and clawfoot baths in every ensuite. We provide everything anyone could need - far, far more than your average motel.

As the reviewer above says: read the reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

There's not a lot to say that hasn't been said before so I'll keep it short. The Jervis Bay area is glorious - wide-open spaces, sweet little towns and pristine beaches and forest. Steve and Kate's lovely laid-back house is situated a short walk from the town centre and they are the perfect hosts. The house and rooms are decorated to a restrained, washed-out aesthetic with plenty of quirky details to add interest. We came with our two jetlagged baby daughters and were treated with great kindness throughout, despite our odd hours, and many requests. We'll very much look forward to going back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

We decided to stay with Kate and Steve for a couple of nights at the end of our 3 week Sydney holiday, to get away from the city, and ended up extending for a third night.
The town of Huskisson is an idyllic spot, perfect for families looking for safe beach days. It has an old fashioned, sleepy, laid back feel, with some wonderful restaurants and pretty views.
Huskisson B&B is a wonderful place to stay. It has a rustic feel to it, thanks to the many restored vintage pieces of furniture that provide such character. The beds were a real feature too, the most comfortable I have used away from home. The breakfast was the highlight of our days. The place was very clean. Everything was geared up to make the stay a home from home, and it succeeded!
As hosts, Kate and Steve simply could not do enough for us, which was perfect as we have a 15 month old son, so we need as much help and understanding as possible!
I would thoroughly recommend anyone staying here, and would return in the blink of an eye if possible.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huskisson Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huskisson Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12 Tomerong Street, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Huskisson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Huskisson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our original and authentic 1913 weatherboard cottage bed and breakfast has three luxury, beach-style, queen-sized bedrooms with huge modern ensuite bathrooms, clawfoot baths and big walk-in showers. The airy, whitewashed rooms have super comfy beds, TV, DVD and free movies and loads of individual style. Big guest sitting-room with real log-fire, deep shady verandah and huge enclosed garden. Delicious, local, fresh breakfast with real espresso coffee or leaf tea. 5 min walk to white sand beaches, Huskisson village centre with cafes, restaurants, boutique shops, dolphin cruise wharf and play parks. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huskisson Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.