We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Famous? Not even best in the Street!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of World Famous Fish N Chips Huskisson

World Famous Fish N Chips Huskisson
54 Owen Street, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
61 2 4441 5556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 23 Restaurants in Huskisson
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World Famous? Not even best in the Street!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Initially impressions are positive as the shop is clean and well presented - but that's the end of it. A 20 minute wait was closer to 40 and service seemed very disorganised. The food could make up for that but unfortunately the fish is greasy and a little slimy (how fresh?) with a "glow in the dark" batter. Chips are fair only. In short.....avoid, there are better options in the same street.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    18
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I wish I'd read reviews first”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

While not the worst fish and chips I've eaten, they definitely did not rate terribly highly. The flathead didn't have the typical fresh delicious taste I have had in many places. My daughter's salt and pepper squid looked pale and uninviting. After finishing our meal our comment to each other was, "GREASY, YUCK!!" The cost was very high...but I guess that's what happens in holiday areas. Definitely not worth the money, definitely nothing to rave about and we definitely will not be returning!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callala Bay, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Qunitessential seaside experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Some of the best take away seafood and chips ever. We regularly return and are never disappointed, although the queues are longer in the holiday season. There is an advantage to being a local and choosing the best times though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World famous - seriously?! More like world's worst! *RUN*”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

First time was for my husband's birthday and it actually made him violently ill, not to mention how oily the food was. Figured we would give it another shot a few weeks later, thinking it was a bad night... after having to wait for over 45 minutes for our order - we arrived back at home (2 minutes away) to find we had stone cold food - disappointed would have been an understatement - especially with your pricing (and that wait)! We will NEVER go back which is a shame as we only have 2 local fish shops - thankfully the other one is way better! This would have to be the yuckiest food I have ever been served!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Be afraid, be very afraid...with seafood you need to go somewhere decent where you know the produce is fresh. Enough said.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Famous Fish N Chips Huskisson also viewed

Huskisson, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 

Been to World Famous Fish N Chips Huskisson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Famous Fish N Chips Huskisson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.