We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Husky Beach Bites

Husky Beach Bites
64 Owen Street, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
61 2 4441 5245
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Huskisson
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
UK
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked this with two friends on the night of the Melbourne Races in November. It came highly recommended by the Manager of our Motel. Well the noise was so bad we could not hear ourselves talk so we had to leave.

My second photograph was in the afternoon. The patrons were elsewhere on the premises.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Manager at Husky Beach Bites, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks for your review, and great photos!
We're sorry you had a disappointing time with us recently, but would suggest that most country pubs would be a little noisy on Melbourne Cup day!
While we do try and keep noise to a minimum during the week for the comfort of our guests (including a very reasonable 9pm music curfew), we note that some weekends, holiday periods and special events such as the Melbourne Cup will naturally result in more noise than usual.
The fact that our accommodation is within a working pub and venue space is clearly stated on our website and also brought to guests' attention when they both book and check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    55
    22
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a top spot . Perfect location to sit early afternoon snd have a few quiet drinks out on the deck . Once the sun goes down grab a meal from the bistro and kick on into the night with some of the best live entertainment ive seen. We make the trip from the nsw central coast just to enjoy this beauty. Will be going back time and time again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Prawns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great bucket of prawns for lunch, looking out at the ocean. Method for ordering food and then another queue for drinks is ridiculous; do it all at once, and get more people behind the bar; queuing for 25 minutes to get food is not good enough. The salmon fillet salad with salad and potatoes did not have half of the ingredients in it that were mentioned, namely prawns and avocado?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Manager at Husky Beach Bites, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We're glad you liked our terrific spot in Huskisson, but obviously not that you felt disappointed with our usually popular local prawn dish. We hope you'll come back again and let us have another go... this time with plenty of delicious fresh local prawns and creamy rip avocado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is one of the best pubs I've been to, the food is great and the location is waterfront. The drinks are reasonably priced, wouldn't say the entertainment is all that great but overall a good experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food although crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went to the Husky Pub during the week for lunch and had a lovely meal, even though it was slightly expensive for a pub (but the servings are huge). I had a tasty chicken and bacon pizza which was really good. We attempted to eat here the next day on a weekend and the line to order was out the door. I'd recommend this place when it's not so crowded. There are too many tables for the kitchen to cater for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Husky Beach Bites also viewed

Huskisson, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Husky Beach Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husky Beach Bites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.