We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite awful food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Club Jervis Bay

Club Jervis Bay
Corner Owen & Currambene Streets, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
+61 2 4441 5282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 24 Restaurants in Huskisson
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Quite awful food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My daughter, grandson and myself had dinner at this Club on one night during our recent two night stay in Huskisson. Yes, the view from the windows was lovely but the food was quite awful, the presentation of it wasn't great and we vowed not to return on our second night. Also I considered the prices charged were high, especially as it wasn't good food. We have dined in many RSL clubs over time and I would say this rated very low compared to the others we have been to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    25
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great view, ok food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

What a gorgeous waterfront location - especially if you can get a window table.

I ordered barramundi, chips and salad. The fish was lovely although far from the best I have had. Great chips and a very sad salad which I should have expected at an RSL. My husband had steak, chips and veges. He said the steak was unevenly cooked but delicious. Great chips and veges were fine. $8.50 bought us a glass of sav blanc and a schooner of beer. Brilliant.

The staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. We arrived at lunchtime in school holidays and only had a 15 minute wait for our food.

Overall, a fabulous location with friendly staff and your typical RSL food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Make sure you have ID... Yes even if your 40!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Customer service at The Huskie RSL leaves allot to be desired. The bloke on the front desk is bonkers about ID. Don’t go there if you can’t prove you live in Sweeden or somewhere far enough away to be outside the poxy 4 kilometre radius to be allowed in a RiSoL without proof (even though EVERYONE from Huskisson knows EVERYONE from Huskie and therefore I’d is irrelevant)! Moving on from that bloke and his very small world... Bar staff unfriendly, locals borderline, lots of very old people having a bad day. On to Sunday lunch. Food was great and very good value. Flounder is brilliant. But get there early. By 10 past 12 it was dog eat dog and finding a seat was becoming impossible. On the up side, the pokies paid out big time for me which annoyed all the locals (especially the oldies and on getting the payout the bar staff were not amused!). Top food, average in all other departments but slightly amusing if you have the right frame of mind and a good payout on the pokies. Otherwise avoid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Institutional Anachronism”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

RSL institution makes itself irrelevant and on its way to extinction through its arcane rules.

Arrived for lunch with a group of 14 family members from overseas.

Simple interaction - all adults require ID, said the front desk attendant. Thank you, we will go to the cafe across the road, which does not require passport entry.

RSL will not become extinct, there are clubs with views like this one, but if it were an animal, it would be critically endangered.

If you want to preserve some of Australia's heritage, change your rules or get the law changed. Ultimately, you need to be commercially viable to survive, let alone thrive.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huskisson R, Manager at Club Jervis Bay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi, thankyou for your comments, unfortunately entry conditions into the Club are established by licensing. These laws apply to all registered Clubs throughout NSW and is not something i see changing in the near future. For what its worth, we agree these regulations are outdated, regrettably though we have to follow them to ensure we remain compliant. I apologize if this inconvenienced you or any of your party.

Kind Regards

Rita Muscat
OPERATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland Shire, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good family food - Spicy squid recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

After a lovely day at the beach and browsing the many shops of Huskisson, we had a delicious lunch at Huskisson RSL. It was quite busy and the airconditioning was lovely!
For a family of 4 it was reasonably priced for an RSL and recommend the spicy calamari on ceasar salad, yummo.
Kids were happy with childrens meals too, spaghetti bolognase and chicken snitzel accompanied with a fire engine drink of course.
Lovely outlook over the inlet of the gorgeous Jervis Bay from where we sat.
I've really fallen in love with the little coastal town of Huskisson!
Discovered a hidden gem next door to the Huskisson RSL called the Bayside Emporium, what a great shopping experience, hubby was not very happy with me, there are so many different shops in there under the one roof, too much to choose from! Clothes, vintage items, jewellery.
All in all we'll be back to Huskisson, we loved it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Jervis Bay also viewed

Huskisson, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Club Jervis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Jervis Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.