We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay to your Saves list
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Tomerong St, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Huskisson B&B and Inns
Canberra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Dolphin Sands. The hosts were really friendly and welcoming. We absolutely loved the breakfasts.. they were AMAZING!!!

Pros -
* Breakfast (so good! homemade bread, rhubarb and baked yoghurt.. nom nom nom)
* The Gardens (beautiful)
* The Heater & Electric Blanket (we were snug as a bug)
* The Hosts (kind, funny and wonderful people)
* The Fridge (handy!)
* The Dining Area (nice and homely)

Cons/recommendations -
* Replace linen
* Renovate the Bathroom in the Large Queen Room (it's outdated and looking a bit sad)
* Put lights along the path outside (I almost fell a few times in the dark)
* Remove all blurry photos from the internet (stayz etc)

All in all, we would recommend this B&B to others. It's a great place to just relax and unwind. I can't get those delicious breakfasts off my mind! Will have to come back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneWJervisBay, Owner at Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Great review thank you and realy liked the photos you took of the back garden.
Breakfast is important to both Beatrice and myself and we enjoy finding new things to tempt the taste buds.
All rooms have an outside entrance and inside entrance with plenty of lights. The garden lights are solar and when there is little sun they can go off early but thanks to your comments I have put the sensor on a higher pole to get more sunshine. I will also remind guests to use the front entrance rather than via the garden when coming in late after a delicioud dinner from our many local resturants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place is very nice but misses the mark, in my book. We visited Dolphin Sands B & B for a two night weekend stay earlier in the year. Wayne & Beatrice were welcoming & gracious hosts & the breakfast they served us was really excellent. But the place is a little tired (old house converted to a B & B). And I think our room was the "runt" of the litter i.e. tiny with a prehistoric but functioning bathroom, & most unlike that paraded in the photos. Booking a month in advance is clearly no guarantee of the best room during school holidays but perhaps some forewarning that our accommodation wasn't to that standard might have softened the blow a little. It was very clean, quiet & a short walk to town, I can't say it represented value @ $265.00 per night. Perhaps with one of the larger rooms we might have felt differently. We would consider a return visit but only for a better room & off-peak rates.

Room Tip: Room sizes vary, check in advance that you have a "brochure" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneWJervisBay, Owner at Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Dolphin Sands our home and B&B was built in 1953 as a grand residence for a local hotel owner before it became a B&B. Most B&B's are in homes converted for home hospitality.
High season we do use all rooms and yes your room was the last to be booked and the smallest.
The benefits on the other hand it is a very quiet room, has been recently re-decorated and has an entrance direct into the garden and to the car park.
Glad you enjoyed our breakfast and hospitality and hopefully on a return visit we can accommodate you in one of our larger rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Found this little gem on the way back from the Tourist Information office where we had just been told we would not find any accommodation as we had not booked ahead!
Large comfortable room with an excellent home cooked breakfast each morning, including home baked breads, stewed fruits and a delicious baked yoghurt. All freshly prepared by our delightful hosts who were also extremely helpful.
Great location within easy walking distance to the main street in Huskisson.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Sorry the local Tourist Information Center was not very helpfull but so glad you found us and we were able to make your stay at Dolphin Sands in Huskisson an enjoyable one. We love to have guests leave our area after a great experience.
So glad you also enjoyed our home cooking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

What a fantastic B&B for a few nights away from the kids and the rat-race of life. The house itself was set off the road and hid behind the well kept gardens, without a hint of the beautiful breakfast area (as it was inside and outside, and a little of both :-) ). The rooms were spaciuos, inviting, peaceful and serviced everyday. Waking up to breakfast ready made is always a treat, but a breakfast that sends your tastes buds into a frenzy and fills your belly for the day, is quite an experience. The baked yoghurt would have to be my favourite. Close enough to HUskisson to walk and very short drives to some beautiful seaside bush walks. Found a quiet spot to watch some dolphins play. Recommend for a quiet getaway, even if you wanted to share some kid free time away with friends, as there are plenty of rooms to go around.

Room Tip: The room with it's own private balcony is nice. The door is very private and you can leave it o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your supportive comments. We have spent a great deal of time on our garden with native hedgeing to make our B&B as private and as peacefull as possible. Being a couples retreat without children also helps with the relaxing nature of our retreat.
The home cooked food quality and comfort of our guests is our primary focus and we are aware this is Australia and we do have more mosquitos at certain times of the year. We provide repellant in the rooms with air-conditioning so doors are able to be closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Huskisson is a great little seaside town in the Jervis Bay area. This B&B was a 5-10 minute walk from the main street, and the same from the beaches, which are pristine white sands and stunning turquoise waters, sheltered bay beaches and ocean beaches too. Breakfasts of stewed fruits, baked yoghurts, hot options such croissants filled with ham and cheese, good coffeee and sweet breads with coconut, banana, dates, walnuts and many others.

Rooms spacious and pleasant, everything provided for including robes, fruit, chocolates and a spa.

We stayed in the front room of this delightful B&B which was street facing and a little noisy with all the passing traffic, and the breakfast traffic also as is served outside on the terrace, which meant a real sleep in was not an option. Having said that I would stay again as no idea why you would want to sleep in whilst in this area, make the most of every daylight hour.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneWJervisBay, Owner at Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your great comments about our breakfast, we realy enjoy sending guests out for the day having enjoyed our home made delights.
We do encourage guests to make an early start as the mornings on the coast are just the best so alot of guests like to have breakfast around 8 to 8-30 and head off to our beautifull beaches and national parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here in September and this B&B has a LOT going for it.

- Superb breakfast, equal to the best I have experienced anywhere. They could open a restaurant with food of this standard!
- Excellent dining room and deck with beautiful outlook over very lovely gardens
- Delightful, friendly host that couldn't have been more helpful and yet kept his distance
- Tasteful decor
- Wonderful towels

But for me, a lot of this was negated by poor cleaning and attention to detail - this could be maybe accepted at a cheap motel but not at this style/pricepoint. Examples include a bathroom floor that needed a good scrub, bedside lights with broken bulbs, ceiling fan with dirt on the blades, dusty shelves, pillows well past their use by date, clocks set to the wrong time. Fix these and Dolphin Sands would be close to perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneWJervisBay, Owner at Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Yor comments about our breakfast and our service make the effort we put in make it all worthwhile. We love what we do but not wanting to open a restaurant as well.
Thanks for your review which was very helpfull in confirming that we made the correct decision last November to replace our cleaners. We have also since updated linen and pillows and hopefully now near perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We spent my birthday at this wonderful b & b. The owners were very welcoming and attended to our every need but also allowed us to have our privacy. The room was spacious and very comfortable, and warm and cosy but would be cool in the summer due to the air conditioning system. We had a wonderful nights sleep and woke to a breakfast that could only be summed up as 'amazing'. There was so much on offer that we wanted to spend more nights there so we could try everything. There was home made breads to die for and compotes and baked yogurts and a cooked option for those who wanted more! The location is excellent as close to Huskissson but away from the husle and busle too. I am already planning my return trip to Dolphin Sands. I would highly recommend a stay here and a walk before for breakfast to make room for the choices they have!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay

Address: 6 Tomerong St, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Huskisson
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Huskisson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Sands B&B is what life by the ocean is all about. It is a tranquil retreat for couples, only minutes away from the white sandsof Jervis Bay at Huskisson. Enjoy the Dolphin Sands gardens as you sit on one of our garden decks for your late afternoon pre-dinner drinks or your tea and coffee before heading out on a short walk to one of the many eating places in Huskisson. Dolphin Sands is only 2 to 3 minute stroll to local restaurants, shops, water and beach. On your morning walk you may even be treated to a Dolphin parade off Huskisson Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.