We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sydney food in a country town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Ginger

Wild Ginger
42 Owen Street, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales St Huskisson NSW 2540 , Australia
02 4441 5577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Huskisson
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sydney food in a country town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

we were recommend this new establishment in huskisson by very fussy foodie friends and to this moment I am still thinking about my meal at wildginger...it was fully booked on a thursday night (outside of peak season) so we were glad to have booked for the six of us...firstly the owners deserve credit for turning that old building into a funky stylish establishment..My whole meal was up there with any flavours that I have eaten at higher profile restaurants..(we were told the chef/owner use to work for david thompson at sailors thai)you could tell straight away that this was true....from the braised beef cheeks to the dlicate pork belly + trout betel leaves this place is going places...well done and lucky locals..we will definately return!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    24
    11
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a sensational new restaurant in Husky offering a modern and relaxed dining experience. I am a local and I dont venture to the restaurants too much but this one is by far the best I have been to (I am yet to try Sea Grass which is owned by the same ppl as Wild Ginger).
The menu is modern gourmet thai. I sampled the group menu which is great value..the squid was amazing however all dishes were lovely.
This place also has a great vibe, love the little wine/cocktail bar. A really great addition to husky and I will be back :-)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect New Years Eve Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This past New Years Eve the boy and I landed in Huskisson and booked dinner at Wild Ginger hours before eating in the early seating. The meal and the service was great. It was Thai inspired, fresh and flavoursome. The staff were friendly and helpful. In fact everyone we came across in the town was a credit. It is great to see good customer service is not a lost art. Beautiful place, great restaurant!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Delicious food and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We visited Wild Ginger two weeks ago, in the Christmas Party season.

Groups of party goers were enjoying cocktails at outdoor tables, overlooking the harbour.

Inside, we were welcomed by a charming hostess and our orders for drinks taken.
It has a funky, cool vibe with bench seating along the walls - nicely decorated too.
Staff were mostly young, willing and obliging.
We changed our minds several minutes after ordering - no problems, and the result was spectacular - the squid is absolutely exquisite. Melt in the mouth stuff, yum.
There is an Asian undertone to the food, it is done to perfection.

Families, oldies and the younger crowd were all represented here, and I am sure absolutely everyone enjoyed the experience. Well done Wild Ginger.

(Dining at the NSW coast is usually so awful)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Asian Inspired Good Quality Exciting New Taste Adventure at Huskisson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Betel leaves with pork belly or trout an absolute hit to start with. Fish cakes, coconut crusted squid in thai egg plant jam to die for, tomato and coriander soup with gyoza sensational, and beef and lychee salad delightful. Now entrees finished we moved to beef cheeks in thai green curry and ocean perch in sri lankan curry with rice all providing a taste sensation. We visited twice in this period, the first time with dad and kids manning the kitchen and we were seriously impressed!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Ginger also viewed

Huskisson, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Wild Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.