We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a happy stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park
50 Crowdy Road, Harrington, New South Wales 2427, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Gosford NSW
1 review
“Not a happy stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

16 May 2012. We rang from Buladelah to see if Big4 Harrington had any accommodation we were told yes plenty and a studio cabin would cost $95 for the night for two people. We arrived around 2 hours later only to be told the studios were all gone and the next available was $125. We had no choice but to take it. We stayed in cabin 1 and the shower had dead cockroaches. My husband got locked in the bathroom because the sliding door came of its track. I couldnt get out of the window side of the bed as there was not enough room. I got up in the night and there was large cockroaches running around the loung floor. The lounge/kitchen lino was dirty as my shoes were sticking to the floor. We left the next morning and was well on our way to Yamba when we realised we had left behind our pillows. they rang and said they would put away and save for us to pick up on our return journey. We returned almost 3 weeks later to be told they couldnt find our pillows and the boss would have to find them and they would post to us. 2 weeks later i sent an email as we hadn't recieved our pillows. we recieved a call another week later only to be told the pillows were gone and they would refund us $50.00. but we were to lose pillowcases from a matching quilt and sheet set. I wouldn't recomend this place to anyone and I certainly wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Harrington, Manager at BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at our Park. We do appreciate your comments as it assists us in improving our park.

Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay was not what you had expected. I can assure you all issues you have raised in your feedback have been followed up with relevant departments. Although we are unable to change your recent experience we would very much appreciate the opportunity to make amends and invite you to contact the Park Manager directly for further explanation or resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We just got back from 5 days staying on a powered ensuite site.
The park was great and had lots of things for the kids. A Jumping pillow, fantastic pool with huge bucket that tips on the kids, putt putt golf, toddler play room, organised arts and craft.
The only negative would be the gravel site instead of concrete. The ensuite was large and clean.
All in all I would say it was a great place.

Room Tip: Bring the aeroguard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have just returned from 5 days at the park staying in the new safari tents. It was a great experience and the tents were so nice and clean!! There was everything we needed in the tent. Dont take a kettle or toaster as already there and the only thing you will need is a small camp stove and some pots and pans and frying pans as there is none in the tent kitchen but everything else if provided even a microwave!(there is pots etc in the big camp kitchen but nice to cook on your own wee verandah.) We have already booked again for next year! Advise to spray around the outside of the tent and verandah for beasties that like to crawl around. Ensuite toilet and shower perfect and the man who comes round in the van to ask if you need any more towels etc is very friendly and helpful. Bed is so comfy I just advise to take your own pillows if you like comfy ones but bed itself and all linen spotless.

Camp site is very quiet so if you are after a rowdy holiday this is not the place. During the day the kids run around all day and its a hive of activity but after dark its as if the whole place goes to sleep. We were happy to sit and enjoy the quiet. You wont get a long lie as the milk truck blares at 7.30am but thats ok too as the park dies before 10pm.

Pool area not really for adults. Very crowded and noisy and small really compared to a lot of parks but clean enough. The local beach at Crowdy head is heaven and only a few minutes drive.

Overall a great holiday with friendly staff who I think would do anything to make your stay happy. We didnt need to ask for anything but if we had I am sure it would have been fixed. Will take my son next year who was away at camp and I am sure he will love it too. So if you want something different to a cabin or your own tent go for the safari tents. There are only two so get in quick.. Only last thought is it a shame they didnt put the safari tents a bit more isolated in the park rather than in the middle as sitting high up on the deck its like being in a gold fish bowl with everyone walking past and looking in, but I guess as they are new it was a bit to be expected...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for this most comprehensive review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit and introducing your son to the fun here at BIG4 Harrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here with our neice who is 9 in october 2011. We stayed in a two bed cabin which was very old smelly and out dated. The floor was filthy when we first entered and my husband had to sweep and mop it. Our friends also travelled with us and booked the same accomodation but were given a new cabin which was lovely. So if you are thinking of staying make sure you call and ask for one of the newer cabins. The place has lots of fun stuff for the kiddies to do and the jumping pillow was awesome. The pool are in unreal. If you can overlook the old smelly cabins then the place is fantastic.

Room Tip: Call and ask for a new cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which helps us to continue improving our facilities and service.

Our number one priority is a happy and memorable holiday experience for all guests and it is obvious that the accommodation during your stay has let us down. We would appreciate you contacting us directly so that we can investigate this further and make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed two nights in a two bedroom cabin which was clean and very comfortable. The park is well maintained and the staff were friendly and helpful.
As our stay was in August, the park was extremely quiet.
The caravan park is ideally located at the mouth of the Manning River and provides easy access to the sea and to beautiful Crowdy Bay National Park.
The Harrington area offers plenty of activities from walking and exploring to swimming, boating and fishing. It’s an interesting and enjoyable location.
We would stay at the caravan park again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We have just arrived home after spending 10 nights at BIG4 Harrington. Yet again we have had a very enjoyable time. Kids loved jumping on the Jumping Pillow, playing putt putt, swimming in the 2 pools and water slide, and my little baby nephew enjoyed the new Toddler's Toybox Playroom which caters for 0-4 year olds.
We enjoyed cooking breakfast at the Camp Kitchen and BBQ's which are always kept very clean. A lovely place to enjoy a family holiday. Thanks to the Managers and staff at BIG4 Harrington.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for this kind review and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maiing Valley, NSW
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The park was great the cabins comfortable however, we could not believe it after going out to a local restaurant for dinner and arriving back to the cabin (3 bedrom one with BBQ on the verandah) at 9.45pm were sitting on the verandah talking and were told we had to be quiet at 10pm which we thought was a bit much (Saturday night) but then the next night the same thing but this time we had a BBQ on the verandah and again management came over at 9pm and told us we would have to be quiet at 10pm and that put a damper on that night for the last hour until 10 watching the clock before we HAD to go inside. So if you are planning you stay here plan to be inside and in bed at 10pm which is very early for Christmas time and daylight saving it does not get dark until 8.30pm. The pillow was great for the kids but instead of turning it off at dusk as on the sign it was turned off at around 5pm possibly to get eveyone in bed early. What a shame this put a damper on the whole weekend sorry but we will never stay there again and we live locally and were planning to stay more often. WHAT A SHAME very disappointed. By the way we were a group of yahoo's 2 x 80 year olds 2 x 50 year olds 2 x 30 year olds with 2 children 6 and 10 for an 80th birthday.... what a shame very disappointing..

Room Tip: Dont go if you go to bed after 10pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback which helps up to constantly improve our park. It is a reality that noise travels at night and what seems too early for some families can impact on others who have already retired, have young children or simply want quiet. This effect on other guests is often not realised and we are obliged to ensure the comfort of all by following through with the park rule of no noise after 10pm. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park

Address: 50 Crowdy Road, Harrington, New South Wales 2427, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Harrington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Harrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Harrington Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.