We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge to your Saves list
Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge
Harrington Waters, Josephine Blvd, Harrington, New South Wales 2427, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My Brother-in-law, his wife, my wife and myself,Like to have drives and lunches in many of the towns on the Mid-North-Coast of NSW. Yesterday it was to Harrington, NSW and we decided on lunch at Harrigan's Irish Pub, situated on the backwater of the Manning River, a magnificent outlook. The staff were very helpful and most welcoming, and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. The food was of high quality and at good value prices. It gets very busy so it would be a good ideal to book for lunch weekends. We will certainly be going back there for lunch again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Bar, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have eaten here for lunch on a couple of occasions. The food is always great and very reasonably priced. Great value with the seafood platter for two. The staff are also helpful and friendly.
The meal deals are quite wide in range from fish and chips to lambs fry and bacon. Salmon rissoles are also great along with the rest of the menu

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

How disappointing to visit Harrigans at Harrington on Mother's Day afternoon to be treated so poorly with terrible hospitality. Firstly we arrived to find no live entertainment. For some reason the usual Sunday afternoon music started early and finished early on Mother's Day. Unfortunately this was not mentioned on their website - so we arrived and the whole place was so quiet.

We then took a seat at a table and no more than 15 minutes after we sat down we were asked to move from our table to enable the staff to set it up for a 6.30pm reservation - it was only 4.30 but we happily obliged. The table we were asked to move to was not clean, nor did the staff member assist us with moving our drinks or belongings.

We were a little confused because the table we were asked to move to had a 6pm reservation sign on it! Half an hour later we were asked to move again, by now it was 5pm, to enable the staff 'to set up'! After challenging why it would take 1 hour to reset a table we were abruptly dismissed and again asked to move on. The staff told us that there were no tables inside however we were welcome to sit outside! As we sat and finished our drinks before moving on we endured 30 minutes of constant harassment from 3 different staff members repeatedly requesting we move. We moved again.

By this time I was confused as the place was so vacant with reserved signs everywhere and yet they clearly did not want the service they had! Finally, we thought we would order pizza's. Pizza's are normally on the menu, but as it was Mothers Day, we were advised that no pizzas were being served today!!!

So, in the end we gave up and came home ....

Such terrible service - if you want to get repeat customers, you need to do better than this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrington hotels

Curl Curl, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a friends engagement party that was also held at the lodge and I have nothing negative to say, everyone was very friendly, and always willing to help.
we stayed in a superior waterview room with a spa, and it was amazing, the bed lovely and comfy and the room was very large and very clean. The view was lovely and very relaxing.
Checking in and out was both quick and easy.
We will without a doubt be back to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Three of us went for dinner on a Wednesday night. The food was pretty good although the chips on one meal weren't the best but the meals were generous and tasty. The service was a little slow but friendly. The atmosphere was nice. All in all an enjoyable, good value night out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding at the property.

From the moment we arrived, every staff member we spoke to (both at the pub & accommodation) were REALLY friendly & helpful- being in the accommodation industry I was very impressed at how great the customer service was - not the 'fake nice' but genuinely happy to help & friendly!

The room was a good size & had lovely decore & patio area to sit & have a drink. Being a small town, the property is very central to everything nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had the best weekend stay ever, the meals at the irish pub are the best we've eaten ever. My husband Highly recommends the lamb shanks. The breakfasts are fantastic also. The staff are wonderful and helpful, the views are stunning, we even saw dolpins swimming up the river. The rooms are gorgeous opening onto the river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge

Address: Harrington Waters, Josephine Blvd, Harrington, New South Wales 2427, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Harrington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Harrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.