We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“busy day, average food, bad attitude” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge to your Saves list
Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge
Harrington Waters, Josephine Blvd, Harrington, New South Wales 2427, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
midnorthcoast
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“busy day, average food, bad attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lunch on 1st January. We expected the restaurant to be busy and to have to wait a while. We were told about half an hour. 45 minutes later we checked to make sure we hadn't been forgotten. "You were told the wait would be an hour" was the response. After 1 hour and 30 minutes we were served our (very average) meals, once again with very bad attitude. My husband and I have a policy of not being rude or demanding to any person providing a service. A busy day is no excuse for poor service and bad attitude, we will not be eating at Harrigan's Irish Pub again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I surprised my partner for NYE staying at room 17 River Lodge & wow we were not disappointed! From initially calling to book the room Danielle was so helpful on the telephone talking me through the room & the amazing view then to arrive at reception 31/12/12 Jo was a bundle of information & only too happy to help with any request. Once leaving reception we ventured to our room WOW!!! Modern room with king bed, oval spa bath, generous tiled balcony with views forever over the river where we spotted dolphins passing by. We dined at the Pub for lunch, dinner & breakfast definitely value for money where do you get a seafood platter for two for $65!!! Following dinner we headed back to our room waiting for the fireworks on our balcony & they were the best fireworks I have seen it was as though they were put on for us going off just above us.
I would not hesitate staying at The River Lodge again & dining at Harrigan's Irish Pub!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Speent 2 nights here & had a wonderful time. We had continental breakfasts and ate at the hotel each night. The food was wonderful! Night 1 I ate pasta as a small size & as a small eater it was definately enough. Hubby ate a steak & really enjoyed it. Night 2 was seafood for me & lamb for my hubby & again it was well cooked and very tasty! The hotel rooms were bigger than my ddaughter's flat in inner Sydney! Subtely decorated and very comfortable made a quiet night in definately relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want, poolside, riverview, spa or courtyard (very private).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed overnight in a premium river view room en route from Newcastle to Port Macquarie. Very large room with a small separate seating area and massive balcony overlooking the Manning River. Cannot fault the accommodation at all. Having read previous reports we decided not to eat dinner here so ate at a hotel down the road. However, a buffet breakfast was included in the price. The couple we were with decided to pay extra for a cooked breakfast. What a mistake that was! Their breakfast food was inedible with even the eggs not cooked. They returned their untouched food to the kitchen and declined another breakfast with the request for the cost to be credited. Our buffet breakfast was not much better. There was no bread left, no butter, no milk, no teaspoons and no knives. The staff had no intention of restocking the supplies (this was at 9am not at the end of breakfast) and we had to ask for items one by one as we found them missing and wait for each requested item for a few minutes each time. By the time they had brought the milk and then found us teaspoons the coffee had run out and we had to wait another 10-15 mins for fresh coffee to arrive. By then we had virtually given up on breakfast. We were just glad that we hadn't stayed for dinner the previous evening! On checking out the extra 'cooked' breakfasts that had been sent back were charged on the bill and we had to have those taken off. However, because we liked the rooms so much we would return but would not use the restaurant at all. We did play the nearby 9 hole golf course which was enjoyable but a pretty tough test of skill. Not for the faint-hearted!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the premium river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We are residents of Harrington Waters and took our visitors out for a nice meal. What a MISTAKE and an embarrassment!!!! The food was less than ordinary. Example...brushetta was a bowl of onion and tomato and 4 pieces of bread on the side. Cab you believe that!! No table service and we had toclear our own table so as we could have a drink and then we were "entertained" by a few drunks. Such a sad, sad and embarrassing night for me and my husband. No more nights out a Harrigan's.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrington hotels

2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

Terrible meals at restaurant. Overcooked meat, raw fish. Basically inedible. Showed staff raw fish meals. No apology no replacement, no refund. Not happy

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We recently went there for dinner while on holiday. The staff were very unfriendly and not smiley at all. They have no clue how to pour a guiness properly and even put it in the wrong glass! The place is lovely and clean and the views amazing but the food was rushed. We ordered an entree which never came and when we went to get the main course and said that we hadnt had our entree we didnt get an apology all we got was a "it will be ready in a minute! "No point in having your entree after your main! We ordered the lamb shanks which were thrown together on the smallest plate crammed with food and far too small for the dish. The meat was nice but the gravy was watery and it spilled everywhere as the plate was so small. The mashed potatoes were awful and not even mashed properly and still hard. The vegetables were badly presented and again had no flavour. Very hard at bits and tastless. The Steak and kidney pie pastry was still raw and half cooked.

Overall next holiday im sure we will go back and try it again but stay away from the mashed potoatoes!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge

Address: Harrington Waters, Josephine Blvd, Harrington, New South Wales 2427, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Harrington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Harrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrigan's Irish Pub & River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.