We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the old style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merino Cafe

Merino Cafe
62 Yass St, Gunning, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Gunning
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: http://insidecuisine.com/2011/03/11/regional-roadstops-merino-cafe-gunning/
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,802 reviews 2,802 reviews
1,606 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 361 cities Reviews in 361 cities
1,337 helpful votes 1,337 helpful votes
“Loved the old style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had stopped at Gundagai for a fuel topup and started with a cup of coffee - a long black meant one shot of coffee and fill the rest with hot water - it was revolting. We looked at the future and saw complexes of Subway, KFC, Hungry Jacks etc. and decided to drive on.
Fortunately we turned off at Gunning and had a wonderful "Back to the future" experience.
It's a lovely old country town that has now been bypassed by the freeway and the Merino Cafe reflects all that is good about the past.
A lunch of lamb chops like they used to make them and a good cup of coffee - service was good too.
Next time I drive, I'll skip sutton Forest or Gundagai and return to Gunning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Country charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stopped for lunch here and really thought it was great. I had lamb shanks from the lunch menu....well priced home cooked country food. Try the iced coffee.....perfect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a shame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Have taken a side trip off the Hume Highway several times to go to this cafe - coffee is good, food is good but service and attitude this time can only be described as poor - staff really didn't seem interested in their customers - I don't think I will bother them again!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young NSW
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Trip review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great liitle find can't wait to go back to Sydney so I can stop here for breakfast Food is great and service excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lucky find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were lucky enough to turn off the Hume at Gunning in desperate need of a coffee. What a find! Great coffee, amazing raspberry meringue slice and apple crumble slice. A lovely warm fire made us feel very cosy. Definately worth the detour off the main road!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merino Cafe also viewed

Gunning, New South Wales
Gunning, New South Wales
 
Gunning, New South Wales
Gundaroo, New South Wales
 

Been to Merino Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merino Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.