We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places for fish and chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monti's Ashore

Monti's Ashore
65 Masons Parade, Gosford, New South Wales 2250, Australia
02 4324 3366
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 82 Restaurants in Gosford
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places for fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good food, good customer service.
Tad too much oil - but that never hurt anyone...unless you have bad cholesterol and after all it is fish and chips.
Runner up to my favourite fish and chip shop. Mum's kitchen at Umina.
Overall a good feed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service. Average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Had to wait 30 minutes for my order. Lots of people, so I was expecting good food. Unfortunately the fish was very oily and overcooked. The batter was almost brown. Chips were ok, but nothing special. I probably wouldn't go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Way too much oil.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The only thing that let this cafe down was the amount of oil in the bottom of the tray. The fish was cooked well but had not been left to drain properly before it was placed in the tray. It was very greasy and made this seafood meal average instead of very good. Did note cash only, so is limiting to some customers, especially where it is located away from town and banks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Best on the Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The fish and chips here are easily the best on the Central Coast. In fact, you will be hard pressed finding a better one in Sydney. This is my regular when I don't feel like cooking and you know you are guaranteed freshly cooked seafood. Staff are always inviting. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“fresh is best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Crispy batter and a variety of seafood make this a great source of fish & chips. Fish of the day is often barramundi or whatever is good at the markets so it's worth asking what it is and going with that rather than just the standard 'fish'. Lovely fish cakes too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monti's Ashore also viewed

 
Gosford, New South Wales
 

Been to Monti's Ashore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monti's Ashore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.