We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sesame

Black Sesame
20 Victoria Road | East Gosford, Gosford, New South Wales NSW 2250, Australia
(02) 4324 5060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 86 Restaurants in Gosford
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nomad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful food with amazing flavours. Especially the Wasabi steak and the Basil Chilli Jam Chicken. Great variety of dishes and a lovely atmosphere. Always seems to be busy, which is often a very good sign. Do yourself a favour and go!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best chinese on the central coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We eat out every week, an have found this the nicest Chinese ever, the service was attentive, presentation was superb, an most important the taste was first class definatleyy going to be our regular restaurant

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast nsw
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“pleasantly appealing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ate here on our way home from a special occasion, so it was a little late, nearing on 9pm and we were still able to sit down and order our meal, which was a pleasant surprise for the Central Coast. Loved the Wasabi steak, but a bit disaapointed with the Lime Chicken Fillets, was not expecting these to be battered :( .Overall it is a lovely space and enjoyable dining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful food
Great service
Good prices
Menu has good variation
Very friendly, attentive staff
Family friendly

All up a very good dining experience.
Great to see a classy Asian restaurant on the coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Pleasant Decor, Enjoyable Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Arrived at 6.30 pm for an early dinner. Quite a few families with young children already dining. The decor was fresh, bright and gave a positive feel to the place. The staff were very friendly, prompt in their service and helpful with their suggestions. The menu itself was quite extensive from the appetisers, soup, meat, poultry seafood, rice and noodles. Wine list restricted to about 5 whites, 5 reds and a couple of sparklings. Beer also on offer. As the restaurant is a BYO wine (corkage at $3.50 pp) this is probably a better option.
We had 3 entrees, 2 mains and fried rice. The food was nicely presented and we all agreed it was of a very high quality. With a bottle of wine our bill for 3 came to $98 - we didn't think it was overly expensive, probably because we enjoyed the food so much.
I'm not sure of the practicality of having about one quarter of the tables with ottoman type seats. Two people from different dining groups asked for backed chairs and their requests were immediately attended to - a positive for the staff.
There is off-street parking for about ten cars but the parking area is tight. When we were about to leave someone, picking up a take-away order parked outside the designated spaces making it extremely difficult to get out. If you arrive and car park is full then it would be a reasonable walk back to the restaurant from where you would have to park. The evening we were at the restaurant there was torrential rain so parking can be an issue.
There is also a private room that can be booked. It looked like it would accommodate up to about 12 people.

However, that said we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Black Sesame and certainly we will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sesame also viewed

Gosford, New South Wales
Gosford, New South Wales
 
Gosford, New South Wales
 

Been to Black Sesame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sesame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.