We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Gerringong Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Gerringong Resort to your Saves list
Mercure Gerringong Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Fern Street, Gerringong, New South Wales 2534, Australia (Formerly Bellachara Boutique Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gerringong
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mercure Resort. The rooms are spacious and well endowed and we enjoyed the use of the kitchen facilities even in a standard room. The restaurant was beautifully designed and the food excellent. The beach is about 15mins walk away and the town a further distance and mostly uphill but if you don't mind using the car that is acceptable. The only negative was the poor quality television and its remote which I had to wave above my head for it to accept directions. All in all, a pleasant stay.


  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    181
    65
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
213
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed over the easter long weekend so the hotel was a backup as there was limited accommodation in kiama. We're glad we made the choice as gerringong is a nice seaside town. The mecure is probably is one of the better choices there but not walking location to the beach or shops. However still a nice location with nice surrounds. The rooms are fairly modern and roomy although we did have a connecting room so could here noise and talking from next door. There is a nice pool area although we didn't get to use it as it was too cold. We were a little surprised there was no gym available at the resort as we've stayed in many accor hotels and theyusually have gyms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We visited the Mercure Gerringong on Saturday to meet friends for coffee. When we were arrived we were told we could not sit at a table, only at a very low leather sofa with a leather cover stool. We ordered coffee and asked for some scones, cakes or biscuits. We were told there was nothing available. After about 45 minutes we decided we would have another coffee (by this time it was around 12.10pm), Two ladies arrived and sat at one of the tables and had 'high tea" which consisted of sandwiches, scones, cakes etc. We could not understand why we were told there were no scones or cakes, or even a biscuit available. There was only 6 people in the restaurant and when we have visited previously there has never been more than 10 people in total. Why then were we not offered scones etc. It is very short-sighted of a hotel which is clearly not doing very well in the restaurant to refuse to serve us what we asked for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Margaret T
Thank you for your review as posted on TripAdvisor regarding your experience in our restaurant at Mercure Resort Gerringong by the Sea.

Please accept my apologies for this experience not meeting your expectations.

I believe that our Food & Beverage Manager contacted you to advise that we will ensure that there is a "little something" on offer should guests like something extra with their morning or afternoon coffee.

With regards to the High Tea that you mentioned, bookings are essential for this offering, as our chef's make the necessary items fresh on the day.

Again, Margaret T, thank you for your review. Without feedback such as this, we cannot improve on the service we give to our customers. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Michael Eggers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

After having a lovely stay at the Bellachara Boutique Hotel in 2008, we headed back to what is now the Mecure Resort Gerringong by the Sea for our anniversay weekend. Room was nice enough, roomy, comfy bed, very nice lounge. Looking forward to a couple of days of sleeping in, relaxing with a book & watching some TV etc. First morning, a garbage truck pulls up outside our room door at 6:45am and is there around 15-20 mins emptying the big commercial bins. Understand that rubbish has to be emptied, but there goes our plans to sleep in. One wall in the room was covered in a very large mirror which unfortunately also had very large hand smears on it - clearly hadn't been cleaned.
Our dinner in the restaurant was very nice. I had heard that quality not as good as previous, but our meals were lovely and the service was friendly and prompt. Breakfast was also very good - simple but one of the better hotel buffet breakfasts that we've had.
There was no hotel 'book' in our room so we had no info regarding internet access etc and the TV reception was very very bad. We were watching a movie and an hour in the picture just disappeared for about 10 minutes and then came back, although very fuzzy and hard to see. Obviously, the story was pretty much ruined. My husband wanted to watch a football match on the Friday night and we sought out a local club that was sceening it because the room TV was so bad. Things like this are very disappointing and when we mentioned it on check out, the staff had a care-factor of zero and basically acknowledged that there are problems with the TV reception.
All in all, I would go back, but only after the TV issue is resolved and I would ask for a room away from the garbage bins. Oh, & one other thing.... take your own pillows if you are a bit fussy with that kind of thing - the ones in the rooms are pretty cheap & uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear rob1404,

Thank you for your review of Mercure Resort Gerringong by the Sea following a recent stay. This feedback has been copied to all department managers.

Please accept my apologies that your experience did not meet your expectations.

In response to your comments;
1. I will contact the waste removal contractor asking them to review the time they collect from this hotel.
2. We acknowledge the problems with TV reception, something we are working with our owning company to rectify, as this involves a some capital expenditure to upgrade the systems to accept digital signals.
3. Thank you for your comments regarding the restaurant.

rob1404, again, thank you for your review. This has allowed me to review areas of our operation that needs attention. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Resort Gerringong by the Sea.

Kind regards
Michael Eggers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in your hotel on Sunday night and was extremely disappointed. After we booked we were called to see if we wanted an upgrade to a 'honeymoon suite' for an extra $50 fee which we accepted as we wanted a bath. The honeymoon suite was a tiny motel room with a spa bath. Definately overpriced! There was also a Pringle lid on the floor in the room, maybe it hadnt been vacummed? We asked at the reception if we had been upgraded and they said we had and were very blunt and not interested in speaking about it anymore. We then went to the restaurant that night. The food was extremely bland and overpriced. We had an extrememly disappointing trip and left feeling ripped of and regrettful that we didnt say elsewhere in Gerringong.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Olive80Sydney
Thank you for your review following a recent stay at Mercure Resort Gerringong by the Sea.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

I have forwarded your comments onto the relevant department managers to review their operations, and therefore the service and facilities we offer our guests.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Resort Gerringong by the Sea, so you can experience our true service.

Kind regards
Michael Eggers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The hotel is nice but calling it "by the sea" to me was a bit of a stretch- its about a 5min drive to the beach and there is no view of it from the hotel.

The grounds were nice and the staff friendly. The room was big but pretty standard, I dont think that there was a mini bar or any room service.

We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and it was nice but nothing too impressive either- there was a good selection of local wines though.

The pool area looked nice but unfortunately the weather didnt allow a swim.

I'd probably look for somewhere else next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Gerringong is a nice little town, and on first look around, so was the resort when we checked in for 3 nights over Valentines. Our first problem was our $100 Accor gift card. I had phoned previous to booking to check that we could have the value of the card deducted from our room rate - i was told a definite yes. On arrival, after we'd already been hit with the entire 3 night room fee, we were told No, we can't use it for that particular room. Didn't like that. However, we could use it for a nice dinner in the restaurant. Ok, could handle that.
Get into the room - its spacious, nice couch, nice bed, plenty of plates, bowls, glasses, cups and cutlery to use...but no sink to clean them in. The only sink to clean the food plates is in the bathroom - less than two feet from the toilet. That didn't sit well.
Great big TV that had poor reception, no digital stations, a PS2 (with no remote & a tendency to skip) to play DVDs, and some strange function that scrambled the picture on any device you plug into the rear inputs.
The first night at 8pm i get a call on my mobile from the Mecure Gerringong to find out when and if we were actually going to arrive for our 3 night booking....Didn't fill us full of confidence with their reception & booking staff.
Next morning at 8.30, housekeeping wake us up wanting in. My wife yells out "Hang on, we need to get dressed!" & a second later we hear the lock click and in they come. Surely when they know you're in there, they'd be listening for a response wouldn't they?
There's a book in the room talking about hotel facilities such as internet. Weekly price, daily price $25, and hourly price $5. We come out of the restaurant at 7pm and ask reception to put the internet on for an hour. Reply: "We don't do that, you have to pay by the day."

I realise that these are small things in an otherwise beautifully scenic venue and comfortable stay, but these small things matter to a great deal of couples who just want their Valentines day to live up to what was advertised.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, General Manager at Mercure Gerringong Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Darren M
Thank you for your review regarding a recent stay at Mercure Resort Gerringong.

I am sorry that "Little Things" during your visit meant your experience did not live up to your expectations. It is the little things that make the difference.

I read out your comments at our weekly communications meeting to our department managers, and all agreed that this was not indicitive of the service we normally provide our guests.

Darren M, I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Resort Gerringong for a future visit, where I can assure you, the little things will be done well.
Regards
Michael Eggers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Gerringong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gerringong Resort

Address: 1 Fern Street, Gerringong, New South Wales 2534, Australia (Formerly Bellachara Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gerringong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gerringong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gerringong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Gerringong, only 2 hours south of Sydney on the NSW south coast & 5 minutes from the beach. With 52 king rooms, an award winning restaurant, an indulgent day spa, 2 swimming pools, tennis court, a sun drenched garden courtyard & a kids play area... for holidays, events, conferences & weddings. Created to offer guests a personal experience... with views overlooking the hinterland, across protected wetlands & back to the sea. Enjoy the local charm of Gerringong, the Illawarra & the Shoalhaven where you’ll find golf, boutique wineries, scenic attractions, coastal walks, rainforests, recreation theme parks, kids attractions, fantastic shopping in many boutiques & the weekend markets…..so much to see & do ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Gerringong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Gerringong By The Sea Hotel Gerringong
Bellachara Boutique Gerringong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gerringong Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.