We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Service and View of the Sea Even for a Pom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shimmer Restaurant and Bar

Shimmer Restaurant and Bar
4/104 Fern St, Gerringong, New South Wales 2534 , Australia
4234 4008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 Restaurants in Gerringong
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Stunning Service and View of the Sea Even for a Pom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had lunch twice at Shimmer Restaurant and Bar over New Year while visiting our daughter and grandchild in Gerringong. The service was briilliant, foiod cooked to perfection, and wine and other beverages well selected and server with a smile. Fortunately, we could all walk home afterwards. This is a very Pom friendly venue with no banter about cricket defeats. I'd say that in Gerringong it's the best place in town to eat well and up with the best other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and interesting food...a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Our recent visit was our 5th. There were 8 of us and we chose the 4 course grazing menu which everyone of us agreed was delicious and interesting! The staff were very professional and attentive nothing was too much trouble. The only problem I have is how noisy it is but apart from that its fantastic that Gerringong has a restaurant with food of this quality will definitely be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mollymook nsw
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good for carnivor's bad for vego's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I pre-booked for late December and asked if they had vegetarian options, I was assured they di. However the options were very poor. Salad is not a good one. The main meal offered was not my idea of a meal. If they charged as for an entre then ok but to pay full price for it was i think very bad.
If you are a meat eater then the meal with more than satisfy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We only found this restaurant by chance on the last night of our holiday. The sad part was that if we had known that it had existed we would have come back here instead of experiencing some other poorer quality restaurants in the area. There is only a part time tourist info shop in town & it is not advertised there & the major tourist info in Nowra doesn’t have any brochures on this restaurant). Their food was fantastic (major city quality) & the chef’s should be congratulated on presentation, taste & freshness. I had the duck, & it would be one of the best ducks I have ever had. Wine prices for the local wine are a bit expensive, so we had a Mudgee red instead. The location is superb, with great out looks over the ocean. Outside seating for dinner would have been great, but a bit windy on the night we went. I have 2 points of criticism 1) the noise within the restaurant made it hard for a conversation, you need to put up some acoustic dampers to soften the talk of patrons (we could hear the conversation 2 tables away) 2) please increase your advertising during peak season & you will get more guests for lunch & dinner

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Shimmer Wedding”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We recently attended a wedding at Shimmer. We were really looking forward to tasting quality food this restaurant advertisers. My husband had chicken roulade for entree which was extremely dry and steak for the main and said its the worst steak he has ever had and he couldn’t even cut through it. Some people at another table had to send theirs back as it wasn’t cooked. This restaurant is in a good location with a great outlook. Its very disappointing the food was of such a poor standard and quality. I feel the chefs couldn’t handle cooking for a wedding of about 45 people.
It is interesting reading the reviews here- weddings are obviously a different story.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonMarshall, Owner at Shimmer Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We dont usually repy to reviews, but feel this is a total misuse of this forum as it was written out of spite.
We unfortunatly have to wear our mistake here, of accommodating to a couples budget and lowering our standard to suit.
This has been a harsh lesson learnt with nastiness, and we should have stuck to our guns on what we normally provide for the price instead of lowering it.
We submitted to their every request from beginning to end, adjusting to changes and indesciveness of menu and beverage choices continually to just days before, all revolving around cutting cost.
Due to this complaint we have standardized our menus ect, which we passionatly felt was the thing that set us apart.
Being able to create your own menu is a major input, that sadly others will now not have the benefit of.
We have had nothing but praise from all our previous weddings, and we ask readers to take into consideration all our reviews and disregard this one.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimmer Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Gerringong, New South Wales
Gerringong, New South Wales
 

Been to Shimmer Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shimmer Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.