We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sick of rude staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands to your Saves list
North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Park Street, Evans Head, New South Wales 2473, Australia (Formerly NCHP Silver Sands Holiday Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sick of rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Found the staff especially the manager to be very rude as did most people we spoke to,cant understand why they do this job when they dont seem to like dealing with public.Dont know what they are doing cleaning toilets in afternoon when families are trying to shower children when mid morning would make a lot more sence when quieter.The cleaning was not very good at all,more time was spent standing outside waiting for them to empty then inside cleaning.The park itself is in a wonderful spot for families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong NSW
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed on a powered site with my husband and son. From the second we stepped into the reception area we received excellent service. We were given the option of walking through the park to choose our site. When we returned we spoke to a different receptionist who was also super helpful. She explained where all the eateries were and what time they closed and also showed us where we could walk out to the beach and shops. The amenities were top class and spotless. We had a concrete slab which was great and all the gardens were lovely. The camp kitchen and BBQ area were also amazing. Really enjoyed our stay and will definately be back for a longer stay in future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Park is huge, I think the former Council park was incorporated to make one large park. Camp kitchens are very well appointed and very clean. Ablution facilities are also very good. Just be aware that internet reception is poor.

Room Tip: The northern sector of the park (security fenced) has better facilities (camp kitchens) but the olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you plan on going here with a group of friends please think again a group of families from our footy club went there and although it was a beautiful park and great location the staff how .ever were very rude.At nine oclock on our second night we were rudely told to be quiet,we have a group of young chilldren ranging in age from 5 to 15 whom at that time were all in bed and were clearly not affected by the noise . The next night we were sitting around chatting again and having a few drinks and laughs and the next morning we were told that there were numerous complaints about our noise and that we had been evicted and had two hours to exit the park, try telling that to our kids who were crying and upset because they didnt want to go home, One of the families who were going home that day had paid for a late checkout and whilst they were packing up were told that should have been out of the park by now.One of our party also got a call on his mobile phone to say that they had also had a complaint about pot being smoked on our site! we will never go there again and would not recommend this place to people who want to have a bit of fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are single and want tranquility, a couple wanting a weekend away without the noise of happy children, or a retired grumpy old person who has lost touch with socialisation then this is the place for you. It is a shame that such a beautiful spot can be ruined by the people who manage it. Went with 8 other families ( Approx. 35 people) and as is the case with such a gathering, multiple conversations aorund the communal area ensue and the noise is a level above a quiet conversation between two - Well this is unnacceptable here, even at the early hours of the evening and before the 10pm curfew. I'm not referring to yelling or shouting or singing or music here - Just simple multiple conversations. So if you are a group or large family, I say avoid for your own sanity and head somewhere else for a laugh, if you fit into the first few catregories, enjoy your stay - Oh, just be wary of the pub across the road that they don't mention plays loud music and karaoke to the early hours of the morning and of which is well within earshot of your campsite, or the 6am bin collection that rattles near your tent to wake you up. They fail to advise you of these, which is a suprise, because they seem to be all about the decibels?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went here with a group of people to enjoy a great weekend...The park itself is beautiful and the staff at check in were lovely BUT we were told at 9.pm at night that we were too loud and had to be quiet even though right across the road was a hotel that had loud music playing until 12 midnight on the Friday and sat night whilst we had a cheap ipod docking station ..Yes we were talking and laughing and having a good time but apparently this is not acceptable....The lady who came to give us the news was very rude...so my recommendations are that if you want a Nanny weekend by all means go and enjoy but if you are going to chill with friends ...Forget it ...we wont be going back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a large site at Evan's Head NSW. On site vans, cabins and camping sites - powered and not powered. Also, permanent sites. We booked a cabin - sleeps 4. One large room included the kitchen and beds. One double bed and one bunk. Full refrigerator, microwave, hot plates, pots, pans, etc
Very clean on arrival. Room cramped for 4 adults, utilizing outside area for space. Bathroom small, but water very hot.
Linen provided. Bunk beds not made up as we added two extra after booking. Linen then supplied in extra person cost. Bunk beds difficult to make up. Cabin warm.
Outside area used for some meals. Other meals had with our larger group at the communal camp kitchen. 4 good sized bbq's, toasters, pots pans, utensils all availabe for communal use. Picnic tables to eat at. Plastic windows to keep the wind and rain out. Would be perfect rolled up in summer. Solid and good quality camp kitchen. Very clean area. All users took responsibility to clean up after they finished.
I used the amenities - very very clean toilet and shower area - newer one on the site.
Reception very welcoming and helpful.
Secure area. You need a code to use the pedestrian gates and the vehicle gate.
Easy walk to the surf and river beaches. Onsite kiosk with quick takeaway meals, coffee open at various times - check first.
Main street only 5 minutes walk away - IGA, butcher, bakery, newsagent, takeaway, etc.
Purchased seafood from a trawler shop over the river - King Prawns (huge) $20/kg.
Plenty of bike riders around the park. Police did a drive through to check on the park one day.
The lawns manicured and roads tidy and safe for vehicles, pedestrians and bike riders, as well as children running around.
Large park - no noise from neighbours heard.
A great place to stay for a long weekend or a holiday. Day trips could be taken to Byron Bay, Ballina and beyond.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands

Address: Park Street, Evans Head, New South Wales 2473, Australia (Formerly NCHP Silver Sands Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Evans Head
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Evans Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.