We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep driving!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands to your Saves list
North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Park Street, Evans Head, New South Wales 2473, Australia (Formerly NCHP Silver Sands Holiday Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Keep driving!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Terrible park! Tent sights are RIGHT next to a public footpath with early morning joggers bashing past as well as the local teens just hanging around ready to have a peek in your tent when you go for a walk! We nearly got blown away as it is a very unsheltered spot on the stinky creek with large pine trees ready to drop a branch and plenty of green ants ready to attack you from below! The friendly groundsman starts his mowing at 6am- right next to your tent.. oh and don't check out a minute late! We got charged half a day for checking out an hour late! Since when is 1 hour half a day?. Completely unnecessary as we were the only tent there! Staff also quite rude.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this park camping in our tent. It was a great site we were given. It was clean and close enough to the toilets and showers. Very friendly staff who make you feel very welcome. A short walk to the beach makes this place a great spot for camping, fishing or just simply having a great time at the beach. Would recommend this holiday park and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights pre christmas on a powered reserve site.
Great location with an easy stroll to main street with everything u need.( Spar, coffee shops,takeaway, chemist etc)
Kids loved the river to swim in, with the beach only on the other side too.
Good skate park near jetty which kids loved too.Nice playground.
Amenities were clean. Kiosk was great to grab some chips for lunch or an ice cream ( and fantastic lolly section).
Definately get a river site for the view. It does get alot of traffic walking by, but we didnt mind.
A few more BBQ's would be great as ours only had 2 close and they were always busy with the locals.
Also the little rubbish truck came every morning between 5:30am - 6:00am and that made our day start very early as it was SOOO noisy!!! maybe wait a little later??
All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Evans head and would stay again in this lovely town.

Room Tip: Definately a reserve site
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed one night in a self contained cabin. Great spot and will definitely return. The town itself isn't recommended for thrill seekers but is a great spot to relax. Good for families. Will stay longer once the kids get a little older.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Silver Sands Caravan Park for the October long weekend. I booked only a week before I came down and still managed to get a good site in the 'Reserve'. Given that I only had a small one-person tent, the site was fantastic because it was designed for a large family tent. It's not often that I get a full site at a caravan park in my little solo tent: I often just get shoved in a tiny space.

The great thing about the park is the location: right on the Evans River and across the road from the main street of town. The showers were hot and the water pressure good. The amenities were clean ,despite the park being very full. There were no nasty "you must not do X" signs all over the park, which was a pleasant change from many caravan parks I've stayed in. And there was limited manager presence - everyone could just get on with camping.

However, there were a few problems:
1. On Monday morning (public holiday) the rubbish bins right near my tent were emptied (loudly) at 6:05am by a big rubbish truck.
2. There are no recycling bins anywhere in the park. The park manager admitted this so it's not just that we didn't see them. This is totally unacceptable in this day and age, particularly when most people bring the following items to camping: cans, glass bottles, tins and cardboard boxes.
3. The lady who conducted the children's activities on Sunday 30 September was terribly rude. It's great that the park offer free children's activities and is part of what makes it attractive to families but surely the employees chosen to run the activities should try to be friendly to the kids.

All-in-all this was a really great camping ground. The three negatives mean I can't give it a 5-dot rating but it was at the top end of 'very good'.

I recommend staying in the 'Reserve' because it is unfenced so you have direct access to the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a site in the 'Reserve'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We took our caravan to Silver Sands at the start of January. We were surprised at how quiet the park was at night considering it was such a busy time of year. Great location, it is in the centre of everything - short walk to the beach, river and centre of town. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely visit again. Rates were pretty cheap considering you are right next to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We just stayed at the Silver Sands with our family and it was great. We did not even know where Evans Head was prior to our trip. The park staff were great - very friendly. Great acess to a beautiful, clean, patrolled beach. Friendly locals, great short trips and fresh fish from the co-op - what more do you want? The kids had a great time. We will be back !

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands

Address: Park Street, Evans Head, New South Wales 2473, Australia (Formerly NCHP Silver Sands Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Evans Head
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Evans Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Coast Holiday Parks Silver Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.