We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the weather” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Head Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent Head Holiday Park
Save
You added Crescent Head Holiday Park to your Saves list
Reserve Road, Crescent Head, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shame about the weather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was my second year at Crescent Head.
There were quite a few cabin improvements which made the trip more enjoyable - new mattresses and new digital TVs.
Unfortunately the weather wasn't great again, and the creek wasn't clear. We only got to swim twice.
Then on the second last night the rains came down and come the Saturday we were supposed to leave the town was cut off. We had to stay an extra 6 nights - but our cabin was given to the people who had it booked after us (who came through floods and closed roads to claim it, despite us not being able to leave) so we moved on to a motel up the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonny Hills
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Were fortunate to get a cabin for 3 nights the day before Easter.

I was immediately impressed with the courtesy & professionalism of the proprietor.

Holiday Park is ideally situated between the beach & the shops with an excellent bakery & friendly club & pub.

Would happily visit again.

Room Tip: Our cabin was in a get spot. We had a toddler & it was a child friendly park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Shame about the people in the caravan park- the caravaners I mean not the owners of the park! First time visitors any wow the people are so rude that stay there, don't talk, don't wave, don't even want to look at you. We just like to say hello when walking past or how are you going to our neighbours. But not here, head down & off they go. Tooooo rude won't be back sorry. Nice spot of this plant, relaxing and all the good things in life, but just not the visisting people.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

What an amazing destination for relaxation. This is a small town but with all the amenities. You walk everywhere. We parked our car and it never moved for a week. We had a lovely waterfront site on the river. Sit back and watch the kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards float by. The old footbridge over to the surf is iconic. Jump in when the tide comes in and be carried effortlessly down the river in the clean cool water. Jump out, walk back to the start and do it all again! Great fun! One reviewer complained about the locals dogs - Well, yes, the locals walk along the footpath beside the water with their dogs, but everyone is friendly, and besides, it is a public area! Yes, the bins are a bit of a walk, but at least you don't have to smell the neighbours prawns and besides isn't that what camping is all about, getting out and about! Take a walk out onto the headland and and have a quick 9 holes of golf and take in the views. Wander up the beach for hours and not see another soul - Heaven. We are going back again this year to meet up with our new friends we made on this trip. This place took me back to my childhood camping days where holidays were spent swimming, eating and relaxing and making new friends. I thought the park itself was very clean. They were doing up the amenities when we were there. Can't wait to get back there.

Room Tip: Grab yourself a waterfront site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Disappointing. Booked for 4 nights gave up after 3. For the price NO VALUE. No dog policy but all the dogs living in the town walk through the Park. At least caravaners keep the dogs in check.
No camp kitchen or undercover area. NO VALUE AT ALL BETTER PARKS NEARBY. Be prepared to be belted by the wind. Rating 0 out of 10.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Camp right on the headland and wake up an play nine holes before a swim at the beach! Re-noun for its right hand break and long ride it's the perfect place for a swim! Amenities are really clean and there is plenty of good places to take in some sun! Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This was my first year at the holiday park - but my family visit every year.
It was also the first time my husband and I had stayed in a holiday park/cabin - our holidays usually consist of hotels in major cities.
I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the cabins, and they weren't as bad as I thought they'd be - though are very small. Not sure how we'd go with a baby/toddlers.
Only really big downside for us was that we both had horrible nights' sleep (for the 7 nights we were there) - I think the bed in that cabin needs replacing.
The location is fantastic and Crescent Head is a lovely little town. We enjoyed many nights at the Country Club, we played tennis, my husband and father played golf and the kids loved playing in the creek.
The convenience of the park, along with having the facilities in the park for the kids (the creek and playgrounds, which can be seen from my sister's cabin's balcony), and being able to stay separately while still holidaying with family outweigh the negatives for us. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crescent Head Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Head Holiday Park

Address: Reserve Road, Crescent Head, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crescent Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Crescent Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent Head Holiday Park is situated right on the beach, with the world renown Crescent Head surf break right at your front door. The holiday park is perfect for the family staying for a week or the traveller looking for that special experience.The park is within the main township so all of the facilities that you require when on holidays is just a 2 minute walk away. So simply park your car and relax ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Head Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.