We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Beach House At Byron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Beach House At Byron
12 Giaour St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here over the Labour Day weekend and had a relaxing weekend. The location is great - just 100 m from the beach and walking tracks to Cape Byron. The Beach House is a short walk to the centre of town, but not so close that it is noisy. The Beach House is modern with ample decking and is quiet, as it only has four rooms. The staff are friendly and provide a great breakfast spread.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Recently stayed here for 4 nights with my husband in the studio. Overall the property is lovely with beautiful gardens and each of the 4 types of accomodation charming. Even though the studio is stand-alone, it is really no different to a hotel/motel room. A room with a bed, TV, etc ensuite and kitchenette. The studio is at the front of the property and unfortunately subject to quite a bit of noise from the properties either side and the backpackers across the road. The garbage truck at 8 i thought was coming through the wall it was so loud and the guy who i am assuming takes care of maintenance made no attempt to be quite whilst rumaging around in the side shed which was located next to us nor be quite with the storage room that was at the back of our studio. We had to wait around for just over 1/2 hour for someone to unlock our door which was frustrating and disappointing as I had advised our arrival time. In addition, there was no soap in the shower, no coffee and the CD player did not work. We were advised that most people bring their MP players, etc but considering we dont have one and the facilities stated there was a CD player, we were banking on this. Music is something my husband and I enjoy whilst relaxing with a glass of wine, etc and only having the local radio did not quite fit the bill. The coffee was missing initially and we were advised some would be brought the next day but it did not arrive. Overall our stay was pleasant but found $155 per night a little expensive for what you get and certainly would not say it was peaceful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We recently stayed in the Wing for a week and loved it! It was quiet, peaceful and calm, and we got all the TV channels receiving perfectly. So close to everything but a little off the beaten track as well, and soo close to Belongil Beach. No sleeping, cleanliness or noise issues and Tracey was very helpful. Next time we'll try out the Gazebo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just returned from 6 nights in Byron. Main plus of overall property is its location- sunsets to die for every evening. The Garden Wing is merely part of the cottage, sectioned off. It is not soundproofed at all. We could hear every word the other guests in the Cottage spoke. The Wing consists of a large bathroom (no soap-holder in the shower and no heater -absolutely freezing in August). The "double bedroom" is a tiny room, taken up entirely by a double bed. The other room contained a queen sized bed, a television receiving one channel only ( frustrating as the Olympics were on and we saw none of it) and the appliances as perthe website. There was only one chair, so to eat, one of us had to perch on the bed. In warmer weather you could eat on the deck, but not in winter. This accommodation is way overpriced for what it offers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonybones, Manager at A Beach House At Byron, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at A Beach House At Byron. The Wing is primarily set up for a couple or two singles who want their own bedrooms or a parent with child. The bedrooms are quiet and have no noise issues with the main house, if you are in the hallway you may hear occupants in the other part of the house. This is a charming substantial timber house and the Wing is called this way because it is a Wing of the main house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in the Gazebo a month or so back. Finding reasonably priced accom in Byron these days is not easy!! The gazebo was very clean, amazing setting perched over the river, quiet and very funky. Every amenity was supplied and the bed comfy. We so enjoyed chilling out on the verandah with our wine and cheese just taking in the amazing sunset, bird calls and ripples on the water. All that was missing was a fishing rod!! I am sure if I had asked this would have been no problem. Definitely recommend it if you are visiting Byron, want somewhere beautiful, secluded and at half the price of all the others and no crowds....serenity. We shall definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in the gazebo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Warning, there is no one on site to assist, should the need arise. It did for us and we just had to deal with it. The Gazebo is up a flight of stairs (bedroom/frig/deck are upstairs) Downstairs is the small toilet/shower. Once the sun goes down it is dangerous to try and navigate the stairs and while we were there the outside lighting on the stairs was not working. Very slippery when wet so go slowly. Several attempts to contact the number left for us on a card inside the room were unsuccessful. Since everything is done only by email, we tried emailing to no avail. In all fairness to this place, I must read the details more carefully next time. The place is a good distance from the town of Byron and the beach close by is not really swimable according to the locals. Much safer to walk 30 minutes to the roped off flagged area in Byron town. The Gazebo itself is "quaint" with the bare necessities. It would have been great to have had a BBQ even if it was one that all the people staying there could share. The make shift tea kettle sat hap-hazzardly upon the top of the microwave and that constituted the kitchen. It is about 2 feet from the bed. If you are fearful of BATS, look elsewhere. While we found them interesting as there were thousands of them that flew buy at dusk each night. The grounds are lovely, I felt like I was in Bali but all in all we were disappointed paying $200 a night and expected more. Byron itself is a fun place and we took a bus to the monthly market on Sunday that just happened to land on the day we were leaving. We attempted to contact the caretakers to see if we could leave our luggage but again, no response.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonybones, Manager at A Beach House At Byron, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay in the Gazebo. Unfortunatly the manager was on holidays that week but there are two contact numbers listed in the room one of which is always attended. The lights inside and outside the room have all just been replaced during an extensive upgrade of all rooms and gardens during May. The advertized facilities for this room do not include a 'kitchen', we do however provide a full suite of appliances and crockery for guests convenience.
We do love our wildlife as we are situated on a nature reserve and a bird sanctuary; so the birds can be numerous but only during short breeding periods. The beach is a very popular swimming beach and is well protected from the large southern waves for most of the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband & I had a 2 night getaway and stayed in the Studio. We would highly recommend the experience. We could only get into the Studio but found it was all we needed (very cute).
Take the essentials with you. Enjoy the walk into town at low tide along the beach. If you like Greek food, try The Cypress............... We went back on both nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Beach House At Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach House At Byron

Address: 12 Giaour St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beach House At Byron offers quiet, unique and self-contained accommodation in a great location: Belongil beach and cafes are a 2-minute walk from the property. All units are set among lush tropical gardens, featuring cozy décor with high ceilings, hardwood floors, quality furnishings and artwork by local artists. Each unit is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, tea & coffee making facilities. A Beach House At Byron is a 20-minute walk from the heart of Byron Bay. Arakwal National Park is an 8-minute drive from the property and Ballina Byron Airport a 35-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your A Beach House At Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Beach House At Byron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.