We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious and well-equipped with good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Bay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Bay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outrigger Bay Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   9 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious and well-equipped with good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went to this apartment complex in June - and because it rained so hard, we stayed in the apartment quite a bit, making us perfectly equipped to comment on them :-)
Outrigger Bay Apartments are just a little bit outside of the main Byron Bay town area, but that's a good thing because it can get quite loud as you move further in. After a quick mix-up with bookings (which got resolved without any fuss by one of the managers), we got an apartment that went out towards the main road leading out of town. I was quite worried about that because it can be quite noisy (lots of drunk teenagers in that town) but as we were only two people in an apartment for 4, we simply chose the bedroom bordering the atrium and were okay.
The apartment was VERY spacious: even with 4 people, you would have plenty of space to spread out, together with lots of storage compartments to unpack properly. There was a large dining table that could easily sit 6-8 people, and a comfy couch and armchair in front of a surprisingly good and large TV. There was even a second TV in each of the bedrooms.
To our delight, the kitchen was extremely well-equipped with pots and pans, cutlery and crockery. The only thing you need to bring are condiments. We only needed the two dishwasher sachets provided, not sure if you need to buy more or they might just give that to you.
The bathroom was very clean, had a spacious shower and a nice bathtub. Showers were great, good water pressure and as hot as you could take it. There was also a tumble dryer and a washing machine (neither of which we used).
We felt the apartment was quite secure - each door also had another security screen in front, so you could lock it twice.

Another very nice touch was the heated swimming pool, and the even warmer bubble bath spa, both situated in the atrium. We could see that this would be really nice in Summer, with lots of chairs etc. to lie on. It was quite cold outside, but we enjoyed the bubble bath regardless (water temperature a balmy 30 degrees Celsius or thereabouts).

Access to the beach was literally 3 minutes, just through a backdoor and down a short path, and the beach was gorgeous. As I said before, we had an apartment to the front road, I assume apartments towards the beach would be very nice.

We could park our car in a spacious garage right under the complex, very secure and very easy to get to.

One entirely unnecessary disappointment was the fact that you had to pay extra (and not cheap either) for Wifi access. In 2013, I expect this to be a standard commodity included in price.

Overall, the place delivered exactly what we hoped it would, and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get an apartment towards the beach. Also, I assume it would be better to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    26
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
64
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the outrigger for 6 nights & it's beautiful. Very modern apts clean comfortable with everything you need. Short stroll through back gate to the beach & only a few minutes walk to shops & cafes etc It is a wonderful place to stay. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thanks so much to Shannon and Bruce. We had a wonderful family holiday staying at Outrigger apartments in which we extended our stay 3 times during this time. The apartments were extremely comfortable, spacious and immaculately clean. The direct access to the beach and best surf break is an added bonus as well as the short walk to town. We enjoyed our stay here so much that we will be returning next year. I would definitely recommend Outrigger as the place to stay in Byron.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Outrigger apartments were located perfectly. A Close 5 min walk through the path at the rear of the complex to the beach and another stroll along the sand to the local restaurants and pub. Walk out the front gate and your into the other side of town, very convenient. The apartments were very well appointed and slept 4 very comfortably. The plasma tv, the reverse cycle air con, the well set up kitchen and multiple outside sitting and dining areas to accomodate a bit of privacy if required. Clean, neat, tidy and best of all, quiet at night. The couple that managed the place were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The BBQ outside was a great area to cook up and the outside spa and pool had a great feel, lots of palm trees set up a real tropical island environment. Good nightime security and being left to your own devices and not bothered by the hosts was a massive bonus. Rules were obeyed and we had no issues whatsoever. I would recommend for families and groups equally. A really good honest place to lay your head with family or friends at the end of a great Byron day.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our first stop in Australia coming from Canada. Stayed at Outrigger Bay apartments in April 2013 for 5 days and it was great! Our two bedroom apartment on the ground floor at the back was roomy, great location and quiet. Fabulous beach at the back of the apartments and only minutes walk from town. We will definitely recommend the apartments and hopefully be back. Thank you!

Room Tip: We hard apartment #9 at the back and it was quiet and had a front balcony and back patio garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful resort during the Bluesfest. A big thank you to Shannon and Bruce who went our of their way to acommodate us. We were made to feel so welcome. The 3bd units were a great size and the ones at the back are so superquiet. Best outdoor shower ever. We enjoyed our stay here and old recommend to others to stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in Outrigger 3BR just after Bluesfest for 10 wonderful days. Shannon was a wonderful hostess, freindly and very helpful in making sure we enjoyed not just the apartment but Byron. The apartment kitchen was modern and well stocked with a wide range of kitchen cooking utensils and accesories. You could actually cook and bake. We had a couple of minor things go wrong in the apartment while we were in residence, these were fixed quickly and without issue.
Enjoyed the farmers market 2 min walk- kids had a ball buying handmade things they cant get in the city.
Pool was clean, with plenty of places to sit for parents to watch kid + the Spa kept kids happy for hours, even in the rain as its covered
Perfect 3 min stroll into town via sand or path
Great spot and well managed.

Room Tip: The back upper rooms face the beach (through trees ), but still meant you could peak out to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Bay Apartments

Address: 9 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Specialty lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Bay Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical gardens, direct access to beach, 3 minutes stroll to town with pubs,cafes,restaurants and shops. BBQ area, secure free underground parking, and heated outdoor salt pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Bay Apartments Hotel Byron Bay
Outrigger Byron Bay
Byron Bay Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Bay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.