We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New years 2012/13” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner Bay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Mariner Bay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariner Bay Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   41-43 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
2014 Early Bird Specials
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New years 2012/13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here over the new year period with a group of friends. We really enjoyed our stay. Apartments are great... large, spacious and clean. Contained everything we needed.
Great location as well, only a 5 minute walk to the main strip and beach but still far enough away from all the noise and commotion of the bars/clubs. The apartments are self contained but when needed anything staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a great vibe at the apartments... had a very young crowd during our stay but it was new years so we had expected that. Security patrolling every night so felt quite safe. I would definitley recommend mariner bay to anyone visiting Byron Bay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review – we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. NY was a very hectic time for the whole of Byron but we are lucky enough to be slightly out of town so you can get away and relax a little when needed. Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    29
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
37
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed over Christmas at Mariner Bay, on our trip around Australia from the UK. We found the apartment well equipped, very spacious, and comfortable. The kids spent hours in the salt water pool, and we enjoyed meeting some of the other guests staying there. Its very close to everything, but just outside the main centre, which was very busy. The staff we extremely helpful, booking us onto tours, and always had a friendly smile. We got the feeling nothing was too much trouble for them. Would definitely recommend taking a family to stay there. Ann - from Essex, UK

Room Tip: Talk to the managers about your stay - I'm sure they will make you comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was a great place to stay and we'll definitely be back when we visit Byron next.

So very affordable for families with great special deals when we stayed in November. I'm assuming the apartments are furnished by individual owners, if so, the kitchen utensils etc could use an update where we stayed, hard to cook and store meals with only one large bowl! A quick trip to Kmart and about $40 would fix that ;)

An easy walk to town, just strolling down the main street (even with our 3 children) and close to everything.

Would recommend to anyone! Thanks for having us!

Jane

Very helpful staff available to help with any inquiries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our apartments – we are glad you enjoyed your stay. You have read our minds and we are re-stocking all our kitchen utensils as we speak! You will have everything you need next time you stay at Mariner Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Fantastic. A great choice of accommodation for schoolies. Service was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful from the time of our booking to our departure. We stayed in a 3 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment that was very clean and well equipped. The location was great an easy walk to town and beach, yet peaceful and relaxing for those quiet times around the pool.
Night security for schoolies added to the safety and ensured guests weren't disturbed by late night partying. This was done at the numerous clubs, bars and beach. I would definitely recommend these apartments for anyone visiting Byron and for schoolies they are an ideal safe place to stay. My sister will be staying with her friends in 2014. Thank you to the staff at Mariner Bay we had the best time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks for your review. We had fun with all the schoolies groups as well. We are glad you felt safe and secure with the added night management of the complex and we look forward to meeting your sister in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I had a great time at Mariner Bay Apartments, the service was great, and they were laid back people. It was a bit of a walk to town/the beach when going multiple times a day, but not an issue. The room was slightly outdated and lacked privacy, but other rooms I saw had been refurbished and were brilliant. Overall it was a great stay and I will definetly be returning when I visit Byron Bay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The apartments are all privately owned and furnished differently which makes every one of them unique. We look forward to seeing you back in Byron soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As a large diverse group of mature gentlemen, we sometimes find it difficult to find a venue that suits all our needs. We found the Mariner Bay Apartments ticked all our boxes. The location is great, being just outside of town to be relaxing and tranquil, but only a five miutes walk to the hustle and bustle of the bars, clubs and restaurants that Byron has to offer. The pool is very relaxing and easily assessble from all rooms. The rooms sleep four adults with enough storage and living area all the esentials, clubs, bags, etc. The staff are excellent with regards local knowledge and info. See you all next year, thanks, RJL

Room Tip: Appt 12. local to stairs to get to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks for your review Ricky, we appreciate it. We are glad you found the apartments and location ideal for your needs. We would like to thank you for leaving the apartments so clean and tidy; your golfing group was very respectful. Make sure you come back and visit soon with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Mariner Bay was a great place to stay, the family stayed in a two bed apartment and found it to be very clean, well presented and maintained. The amenities are good and it's a great place for families, the apartments are a close walk to the city centre with plenty of restaurants and shops to keep everybody happy, also very close to the main beach.
The management were very helpfull and were quite open about having guests attending a bucks party and gave us good instructions on what to do if the noise level became too high - wasn't needed. I also appreciated management coming to ask me if things had been ok during the night.
I would recommend the Mariner Bay to all who wish to have good stay in Byron. I room tariff was also quite acceptable.

Room Tip: We preferred our room at the back of the complex, a little quieter - away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for your review Stephen, we always appreciate guest feedback and glad you found the apartment great to stay in. Families tend to have good fun and the kids do love the heated pool. We do see a real mix of people staying, from couples and families to groups getting together so we always make sure guests are aware of our terms and conditions – we find the majority of people are very respectful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariner Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Bay Apartments

Address: 41-43 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Specialty lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariner Bay Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property offers modern self contained apartments in this family friendly resort complex. The one and two bedroom apartments are located on the ground level and have easy access to the heated saltwater pool and barbecue area. For larger families the spacious three bedroom apartments are on the first level and have a stylish mezzanine master suite, with two further bedrooms on the same level as the living accommodation.The individually furnished apartments are modern, air conditioned and well appointed, offering bright, spacious indoor and outdoor living space.Lounge around the salt water heated pool or surrounding gardens with a good book. Access to the beach is a stroll along a bushland path and the town centre is a short walk.Mariner Bay is great for a weekend escape or a longer leisurely holiday to really explore the wonders of Byron Bay and the hinterland area. Byron Bay is an amazing sensory experience that will mesmerise and capture you. Stunning beaches, littoral rainforests, the annual migration of the humpback whales and that famous icon the lighthouse makes Byron Bay a special place for everyone to enjoy.Please note that this hotel has a strict 'No Party Policy'. Any violation of this policy will result in eviction from the property and additional cleaning fees will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mariner Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner Bay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.