We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACCOMMODATION 12 - 13 OCT 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner Bay Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mariner Bay Apartments to your Saves list
Mariner Bay Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   41-43 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter 2015 Specials
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“ACCOMMODATION 12 - 13 OCT 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Mariner Bay was a great place to stay, the family stayed in a two bed apartment and found it to be very clean, well presented and maintained. The amenities are good and it's a great place for families, the apartments are a close walk to the city centre with plenty of restaurants and shops to keep everybody happy, also very close to the main beach.
The management were very helpfull and were quite open about having guests attending a bucks party and gave us good instructions on what to do if the noise level became too high - wasn't needed. I also appreciated management coming to ask me if things had been ok during the night.
I would recommend the Mariner Bay to all who wish to have good stay in Byron. I room tariff was also quite acceptable.

Room Tip: We preferred our room at the back of the complex, a little quieter - away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for your review Stephen, we always appreciate guest feedback and glad you found the apartment great to stay in. Families tend to have good fun and the kids do love the heated pool. We do see a real mix of people staying, from couples and families to groups getting together so we always make sure guests are aware of our terms and conditions – we find the majority of people are very respectful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    39
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
44
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came to Byron for a conference on Friday and stayed the weekend - would definitely stay at Mariner Bay again, was clean, comfortable and well-appointed and suitable for a much longer stay. Well within walking distance to town. Also appreciated the heads-up from the manager that there was a buck's party staying above us at the same time - we were told to make contact if there were any issues - there weren't - but we appreciated the notice anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review Mariner Bay, we appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment clean and comfortable. We believe that communication is key and always like to make guests aware of what is going on around them. We have a good mix of families, couples and groups that stay here so our job is to make sure everyone is having fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment with a group of friends and the size was perfect for six people. Bedrooms were great. The upstairs loft bedroom was lovely and open. The other rooms were good size with comfortable beds. The bathrooms were huge with great big mirrors which was perfect for all the girls to get ready in. The kitchen and living area were very spacious and beachy. The kitchen had everything you needed with a breakfast bar and dining table. There were two large balconies with outdoor dining also. Overall, we had a great stay and will definitely stay there next time we're in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your review. Girls weekends away are great fun and we are glad our apartments are spacious enough to accomodate your needs. We look forward to seeing you next time but in the meantime, make sure you 'Like" us on FB so you can keep an eye on any 'Specials" that we publish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a great stay at Mariner Bay as 4 guys on a golf trip for a week that we do annually. The accomodation was very generous in size and the place was super clean and a perfect retreat for us at the end of the day. The staff were very polite and helpful if we needed anything. Heated pool was a nice touch. We are certainly coming back to Byron again for our golfing trip and Mariner Bay is where we will be staying. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for taking time to submit your review. We are glad you had a great golf trip away and found the apartment spacious enough to accomodate 4 men comfortably. If you can book your next golf trip a little earlier, the annual Australian Legends Golf Tour in at the Byron Bay Golf Club in December 2012 featuring players such as Bob Shearer and Terry Gale. You can find the details on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Mariner Bay Apartments, the location is fantastic, walking distance to the the beach & town and far enough away for some peace and quiet! The units are large, clean and modern..Most of all the staff were fantastic, they were extremely helpful, always on call and nothing was a hassle. Excellent value for money!! We can't wait to stay again.....Fiona & Simon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you had a great time and found the apartments spacious and well equipped. Byron has been very busy recently but we are tucked away enough from the center of town to be nice and quiet - which you obviously enjoyed.

I will give all my staff your feedback, they will be thrilled and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Recently I stayed here with 6 friends. The accomodation was excellent for couples and singles. The apartment was very spacious and clean.
The location is great, short walk to the beach and shops.
Would definately recommed this place and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad to play a part in people catching up with old friends! I hope you had a good time and now some more fond memories. Come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverloch
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This is our fifth time staying at Mariner Bay as it suits us perfectly. The location is fantastic just a short walk to the shops, beach and cafes. This time we had some friends stay with us who have two small children and they absolutely loved it. The three bedroom unit is spacious and well decked out. Staff are extremely friendly and advised us that if we needed anything which was not in the apartment to see them. which we didn't have to do.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Manager at Mariner Bay Apartments, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found the Apartments had everything you needed to cater for a family holiday and it's great that your friends loved it here too. Wow! 5 times you have stayed here, you will almost qualify as a resident. Look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariner Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Bay Apartments

Address: 41-43 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariner Bay Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property offers modern self contained apartments in this family friendly resort complex. The one and two bedroom apartments are located on the ground level and have easy access to the heated saltwater pool and barbecue area. For larger families the spacious three bedroom apartments are on the first level and have a stylish mezzanine master suite, with two further bedrooms on the same level as the living accommodation.The individually furnished apartments are modern, air conditioned and well appointed, offering bright, spacious indoor and outdoor living space.Lounge around the salt water heated pool or surrounding gardens with a good book. Access to the beach is a stroll along a bushland path and the town centre is a short walk.Mariner Bay is great for a weekend escape or a longer leisurely holiday to really explore the wonders of Byron Bay and the hinterland area. Byron Bay is an amazing sensory experience that will mesmerise and capture you. Stunning beaches, littoral rainforests, the annual migration of the humpback whales and that famous icon the lighthouse makes Byron Bay a special place for everyone to enjoy.Please note that this hotel has a strict 'No Party Policy'. Any violation of this policy will result in eviction from the property and additional cleaning fees will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mariner Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner Bay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.