We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friday on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Friday on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friday on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
“Best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Best location in byron bay - walk out your door, across the lawn and you're on the sand. The rooms aren't very fancy though - quite basic and comparable to your average small town motel. You won't be spending much time in your room with the beach, cafes and pubs so close.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
42
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thursday Island, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Unfortunately only spent one night at this hotel; arriving late and having to leave early, so don't have a lot to share.
The hotel has the most amazing position being literally on the beach yet a short stroll to all the cafe's and quirky places Byron has to offer.
Our room was much more spacious than I had imagined, clean and supplied with the famous home made date cake.
No foxtel, but who goes to a hotel to watch tv? We did not enquire about wifi.
The toiletries were of a very high quality, as was our bedding.
The decor was modern, clean and in good taste.
Shower was great with good quality water pressure, plenty of hot water and good quality fittings to ensure adequate water flow.
The ONLY downside to this hotel was that the blinds didn't quite close fully (venetians) and a light positioned outside our room lit it up a bit at night.
The lady at reception was helpful and friendly, leaving the key hidden for us as we were running late.
I read some of the negative reviews on here before booking so was really expecting something average to below average - but I really couldn't fault the place (except the lighting at night) - it was actually so much more than I expected for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After booking online into a B&B which turned out to be not what we expected, we found Friday's On The Beach. A great location right on the beach, a very comfortable spacious room and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Week day rates are very competitive ( not much more than our poor standard B&B), but weekend rates soar dramatically; but we were so happy with our accommodation that we were prepared to stretch the budget. Breakfast on the balcony was a great way to start the day, the king size bed was very, very comfortable and a great way to end the day. We will definitely stay there again when in Byron Bay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach, so no need to worry about location of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Location is great but accommodation is over priced for what is basically just a simple room with no bells or whistles. Parking is also a problem as there are only limited places at the hotel. It is a nice enough place but i would not go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend anyone to stay here. Mary was a wonderful host, very welcoming, gave lots of advice and the rooms were exactly what we wanted. Very convenient and close to the centre of town and to the beach.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We loved our stay here, and wished we could have stayed longer than our 1 night stopover. Location was brilliant, not having to cross the road to go to the beach was one of the reasons we chose to stay here.

Being welcomed by Mary with the offer of milk and carrot cake to refresh us after driving was a nice touch. Beach towels provided if needed, complimentary sporting equipment - these little things are what would bring us back. We had the family room, travelling with 2 x teenagers, and they loved it as well. Bathroom was very clean, room was spacious (we didn't feel crammed in). Beds were comfortable.

Location was only a short walk into town, either on a path or along the beach. We loved the vibe of Byron Bay, and when we return we will definitely stay here again. Thanks :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

You simply can't find a better spot to stay in Byron Bay. There's a lawn and a pedestrian path between you and the beach, and it's only short walk to the main shops, cafes and bars of Byron Bay. The location is set slightly away from the main road so this makes the evenings quiet - a difficult thing to find in vibrant Byron Bay.

The rooms are clean and very modern, plus a well stocked mini bar makes life easier when you forget to pick up a bottle of wine in the evening or need a sneaky top-up. The bed was super comfy and although there's no pool, you don't miss it when there's a beach opposite your door.

When we arrived, the manager gave us a plate of delicious choc slice, and they were even kind enough to print our internet flight boarding passes for us. Great service.

We had an absolutely delightful experience, if it's in your budget, do choose this place over all the others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday05, Manager at Friday on the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We agree, we would have to be the best location in Byron, right on the beach and so close to all the restaurants and shops. It's an added bonus being situated in a park with the beach access right at our doorsteps
We hope you can come and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friday on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday on the Beach

Address: 45 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Byron Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Friday on the Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sands and blue waters will greet you at the four-star Friday on the Beach located in the heart of Byron Bay. Situated on Byron's absolute beachfront - this luxury boutique property is unique and very special featuring only 19 rooms making it both exclusive and personal with warm and experienced staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Friday on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday On The Beach Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friday on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.