We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to expectation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East on Byron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added East on Byron to your Saves list
East on Byron
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   35 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Christchurch
1 review
“Lived up to expectation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

I was travelling with an adult daughter to a family wedding near Byron Bay. My daughter found the resort and it seemed like a good idea to stay somewhere that she was happy about. The Beach House met our needs more than adequately. It was attractively fitted out with all the mod cons I could contemplate, very close to the beach, and entirely self contained with an attractive balcony and small garden with barbecue. I very much appreciated being able to "keep house" without interference from cleaning staff. Having said that staff in the office were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    39
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Great facilities in 2 bedroom & study apartment. Everything you need. Across the road from the beach.
Walk in to Byron along the beach-miss the traffic jam on the highway (during the Blues festival).
Cafe on site for breakfast & lunch.
Very helpful management. Absolutely made our stay a delight.
would stay here again next time in Byron.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We just had 2 wonderful nights staying at East on Byron, which is directly opposite the beautiful Belongil Beach. It was our first time there so we had no expectations, so when we arrived we were blown away at the quality of the resort. We stayed in the beach house, which was great for us, 2 adults & 2 children (ages 8 & 12). It is 2 storey with a bedroom downstairs & one upstairs, 2 bathrooms & a great open plan kitchen, lounge & outdoor area. The kitchen facilities are great if you choose to self cater, but also on site is a cafe which had good food & coffee. The resort pool is good, the kids spent a lot of time there. Byron is only a 15 minute walk via the beach, just far enough away to be quiet & peaceful.
I highly reccommend East on Byron, it is a beautiful resort with good quality accomodation & in a great location.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We stayed 3 nights in a 2 bed Villa at East of Byron and it was wonderful. Right across from the beach and with a shared pool too. Its a 15min walk into Byron itself along the beach. We were actually grateful not to be right in the centre as it can get very noisey. However a car would of been necessary for any longer stay just for groceries etc. Normally its a 7 night minimum stay but as it was a last minute booking they were able to accommodate us. The villa has a fully equipped kitchen, luxury bathrooms, comfy living/dining area, great patio with BBQ. Everything you could want for a great stay. Vie who looks after EOB was fantastic so welcoming and informative, thanks Vie! There's a great cafe attached to EOB for breakfast and lunches and just 2 doors down a cool bar/restaurant for the evening if you dont fancy going into town.

  • Liked — standard of accomadation, equipment, luxury
  • Disliked — bit far from town centre
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

I must admit I was a little wary about staying here after reading a few bad reviews. Well, to those who didn't enjoy staying at East on Byron, build a bridge!!!. We found East on Byron a great place to relax with the kids. The beach was great, the water was warm, and the pool in the complex was great to jump into after being at the beach to wash the sand off. The town centre was only a short walk along the beach and took only 15 minutes. The room we stayed in was excellent, everything was new, clean and modern. What you see on the website is exactly what the rooms are like. East on Byron has a great little cafe with a great breakfast and lunch menu and really good coffee. East on Byron is basically a complex with town houses/apartments that are serviced once a week. If you are after somewhere that has room service do not stay here, if you are after somewhere to relax at the beach, the pool etc without crowds and being waited on, then East on Byron is ideal.

  • Liked — open plan living
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Fantastic facilities and friendly staff in a quiet location. In easy walking distance to the centre of Byron along the beautiful beach.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — The airconditioning!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Despite some confusion regarding arrival times (if you book on 'Wotif' apparently you have to arrive at a certain time), and a small hitch with the CD Player, East on Byron was wonderful. Located away from schooly-fuelled Byron Bay, this spacious appartment at Belongil was just what we were looking for. The design of the appartment was great with large bedrooms and sleek bathrooms on both levels. My visiting architect cousin was installed downstairs - he really loved the design and spent the first day taking photographs of window frames, door latches etc - that's an architect for you...while my husband and I had the run of upstairs. The appartment was spotlessly clean and the air-con a godsend. There are some good local cafes for breakfast and the bright lights of Byron are only a few minutes drive away. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Well designed spacious and clean appartment in great location
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East on Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East on Byron

Address: 35 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East on Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the peaceful settings of Belongil Beach, East on Byron is the new style of holidaying in Byron Bay. It is positioned directly opposite the beach, and is just a short 15 minute stroll to the town centre. Stunningly appointed 2 bedroom villas and beach houses exuding luxury are set in the most secluded of settings. Two acres of naturally landscaped gardens frame a billabong pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your East on Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East On Byron Hotel Byron Bay
East On Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East on Byron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.