We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East on Byron

Save Saved
You added East on Byron to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
East on Byron
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   35 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Tranquil, peaceful,very clean, aestheticlly appealing in a clean modern european design. We were so delighted in walking in the door and feeling like, "we're home!" At least for a few days. The attendant at the front desk was incredibly helpful, answered texts and calls immediately. Plenty of storage, comfortable clean sofas. PLENTY of towels, hand towels and washcloths (unlike the last place we just came from in Port Maquarie!) We were here in winter, so didn't get to enjoy the beaches, but the town was enjoyable and easy to get to from the apartment. I highly recommend this place. The fact that we lucked into a "yoga" deal, which included the apt plus champagne and chocolate, and yoga for a reduced rate made our stay all the better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at East on Byron last week. We stayed in Villa number 6 which was recommended to us when I called to book. With a 5 year old and 2.5 year old it was great, lots of space and access to the pool. Really nicely appointed and modern. With the temp dropping, the main swimming pool, although meant to be heated was pretty cold but the big spa was ideal. The beach is lovely but be warned that you have to pick your times to walk to the main beach as at high tide it isn't possible. With small children, not easy just to stroll into town so we often had to drive.
The adjoining Belongil Bistro serves great coffee and food as does the Tree tops restaurant next door. Nice not to have to drive anywhere. Relaxing, local feel.
As for value, it was expensive and two other families mentioned they go better value going through a real estate agent, so directly with the Owners. Good tip I thought and I would definitely consider rebooking if we can get it a better value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of East on Byron. We are delighted that you liked your villa and especially glad that you liked our property.
It is actually possible to walk into Byron during all tides simply by using the path just a little further down than opposite our property. It is a shame that you didn't ask one of our helpful reception staff as they would have been able to tell you that.

We are very pleased to have both the Belongil Bistro and the Treehouse Restaurant close by - they are by far the most relaxing places to eat and drink in Byron and great if you have children.
I have checked the rates for last week and they were competitive. We are in low season so there are some great deals available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked the Belongil Penthouse for a girls weekend away. The unit had a double lockup garage, a double room with ensuite, a twin room and a fold out sofa bed in the media room.

Nicely presented, however a number of things ensured that this room was not value for money.

At $700 per night, expectations were high. Entering the unit, by walking under the stairs of the unit above, the entry way had not been cleaned with insects and spiderwebs near the door. As you enter the unit, the wall paint has clearly over time been worn away and when the light hits the wall you can see old water trails down the paint.

The master bedroom was nice, but upon our arrival we noticed that one of the bars on the window shutters was broken, and obviously so - a cleaner should have noticed this. Also the master bedroom had a queen, I would have thought at this level, kings were standard. The media room contained the the sofa bed, however had no blinds, both a problem as a media room and an additional bedroom. It also had a smaller tv then the lving room not quite sure what qualified it as a media room except being able to call it such to sound more lush. The whole room orientation was not layed out for this use either, for if sitting on the couch to watch the television, one
would struggle..
The main lounge, dining and kitchen were open and very presentable. The couch was comfortable. The dining table was spacious The kitchen was ok and moderatley equipped.

The air con in the unit was moderatly ineffective and made a noise - I suspect it needs a service.
The pool and out door area was unuseable sadly as we attended on a wet weekend and whilt a lot of it is undercover there were more mosquitos then we could deal with and the pool had some local residents - a number of frogs and toads. This pool is really on a small lap pool nothing more - only one person at a time could swim here.

This unit could have been great. The rain is out of their control but a number of other things could have been done to lift this from average and over priced to great.
Things that could have been better, clean and with out breakages, the provision of a coffee machine\fruit bowl\welcome bottle of champagne. A carton of milk. Not just a couple of small 15ml long life containers but actual milk, curtains in the media room/extra bedroom, Citronella candles or bug zappers outside. FULL FOXTEL.
There is a cafe outside that does nice food, and a cab to Byron costs $12-15
So in all, this apartment was nice and my gripes may seem petty, but at $700 a night, I believe I have earned that right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of East on Byron. The Belongil Penthouse is one of our best units and is very popular. It is unfortunate that you happened to be here during one of the worst storms we have had in many years. I do remember that you arrived very late as your flight could not land due to the bad weather.
Our maintenance is of a very high standard and we are often complimented on it however, this particular weekend, you may have found insects and even the odd spiderweb outside your door as we had almost cyclonic conditions.

The media room has a sofabed. We wrongly assumed you were 3 couples so thought that a double sofabed would be adequate. We apologised for this at the time and did not charge you for the 6th person. We also gave you a free 4pm check out (usually $49) and two bottles of Champagne to make up for the inconvenience PLUS a $100 refund.

The lap pool is advertised as such and 2 swimmers can easily use it - and frequently do without problem. I wouldn't imagine that a lot of swimming took place during the weekend you were here though as it was just too rainy.

We really did our best to ensure that your stay was made more enjoyable and we are sorry if the weather and flight delays spoiled it a little for you. We guarantee that if you come back when the sun is shining you will love East on Byron!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at East on Byron once before and had a great time. The location itself is great - just across the road from the beach, away from the foot traffic in Byron (hire a bike to get around town). We were therefore excited to stay there again over New Year's Eve but unfortunately a couple of small issues disappointed our trip. First of all, our room was not ready by the check-in time (2pm) and while I am usually a patient person, it was pretty annoying given that we were exhausted from having risen at 3am that morning to fly internationally into the Gold Coast.

The villas themselves are beautiful and well appointed. However, the blinds in the bedroom don't adequately block out the sunlight in the morning (making it difficult to sleep in!) and our bathroom overflowed every time one of us had a shower. Also, the Foxtel selection was very limited, which was frustrating when we wanted to take a rest inside from the sun (only E!, three movie channels and a couple of sport channels worked).

Lastly, the wifi network was terrible. Firstly, we were informed that because our villa is located away from the main office, the network would be weak and we would need to sit in a certain area to get reception. Next, the wifi network did not work altogether. While I understand it is difficult to get a technician out over the Christmas / New Years period, it was incredibly frustrating as I was not able to work on documents I had due the day after I returned from my holiday (and not in the least relaxing!). When I spoke to reception about it, they suggested I obtain a password from the cafe next door and work in the pool area. Unfortunately that yielded little progress as it took more than a few minutes just to Google something on their network.

The point I would like to make is that although the villas are great, we expected a little more when we paid over $600 a night for 7 nights. The could have handled the wifi situation better (e.g. provided a small gift voucher to the cafe next door so that guests could work closer to the network and enjoy a beverage). Although I have highlighted the negative aspects of our stay, I would say that overall it is a beautiful place and we would consider staying at East on Byron again if they improved their service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of East on Byron.
We are sorry that your apartment was not ready for 2pm but I believe that you were settled in before 3pm. We have been so busy over Christmas and New Year and do rely on guests checking out on time so that we can get everything ready for our new arrivals! We do insist on everything being perfect too.

We are delighted that you found your accommodation beautiful and well appointed.
Our Foxtel package is usually quite popular and we have a selection of DVD's at reception if required.
We do apologise for the limited reception on the WiFi network over Christmas. Our aerial was damaged due to heavy winds and we were unable to get it fixed over the holiday period. It has now been rectified and I am sorry that you were inconvenienced.

We are delighted that you would consider staying with us again at East on Byron and truly believe that great customer service is our priority.

We look forward to greeting you again at East on Byron.

The Team at East on Byron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We (2 couples) stayed here over Christmas. We chose the terrace villa (2 bed, 2 bath plus rooftop terrace). It was enormous. The living area was huge for an apartment villa - big kitchen, plus an 'outdoor kitchen', big living room, big balcony plus rooftop terrace.

The villa was well maintained and looked near near as per the rest of the resort. It was pricey, but it was Christmas week.

It is located at Belongil beach - just before you get into byron itself (15 minute walk along beach, or 2 min drive) which is perfect because you can get away from all the droves of tourists and still be in the beauty of byron. East on Byron is great for families or couples.

Only downside was the BBQ in the outdoor kitchen - it is electric which means it doesnt get hot enough to properly BBQ - hopefully they will change this to gas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of East on Byron. We are delighted that you loved your Terrace Villa. They are rather wonderful and the rooftop terraces are the perfect place to view the surrounding National Parks, ocean and varied wildlife.

We think that Belongil is perfect for those who want to be close to Byron Bay to walk there, but far enough away to enjoy the peace and tranquility of a very small community.

Our BBQ's do take a while to heat up - we usually recommend switching them on at least 40 minutes before you intend using them. We hope that you still enjoyed your outdoor cooking experience!

Thank you again. We are very proud of East on Byron and appreciate positive feedback like this.

We look forward to greeting you again!

The Team at East on Byron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here in the week before Christmas. It was very quiet, which meant we had the pool to ourselves. Pool was excellent for families and very close to the rooms. Beach across the road (great for young kids, not so good for swimming and catching waves) and a great cafe at the front of the hotel.

Stayed for a week and could have stayed longer. Was initially concerned at staying in Belongil area rather than in town, but it was a really great location and only a few mins to drive into town.

Room Tip: Terrace villas are great for young families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your week at East on Byron on wonderful Belongil Beach.

Our pool is excellent for families, you are right. Belongil Beach is a great family beach and great for catching waves, but this always depends on the currents and winds. Luckily, it is just a short walk to one of the best surfing spots in the area!

Both our Poolside and Terrace Villas are great for families. People with very small children prefer the Poolside Villas as there are no steps for the little ones to negotiate!

We hope to see you again at East on Byron - mention you are a return guest for an even better rate!

Regards
The Team at East on Byron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It is always confusing trying to work out where to stay in Byron, there are a lot of choices but you don't really know until you get there (and have booked and paid before!). We were really happy at East on Byron. That part of the beach is much nicer than main beach byron, cleaner and prettier. The walk into town is really no big deal- about 15 mins down the beach and it is a nice walk. The apartments are literally across the road (unlike a lot of Byron accomodation) so you can go for swims all day. Everything in the apartments is really clean, comfortable and modern, we really liked the outside area for having barbies and sitting at night. There was a few people staying there but we had no problems with noise, stress or anything. The staff, Vai in particular, were all really helpful and friendly. So the whole stay was perfect, the best time I have ever had in Byron for sure - I would reccomend East on Byron to anyone going there, who wants a quiet and relaxed time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, General Manager at East on Byron, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of East on Byron!

We are truly delighted that you were really happy here and found lovely Belongil Beach to your liking.
We like to think that we are unique - gorgeous pool, private and quiet accommodation with private outdoor areas along with wonderful staff.

Thank you again. We look forward to greeting you again!

The Team at East on Byron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East on Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East on Byron

Address: 35 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East on Byron 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the peaceful settings of Belongil Beach, East on Byron is the new style of holidaying in Byron Bay. It is positioned directly opposite the beach, and is just a short 15 minute stroll to the town centre. Stunningly appointed 2 bedroom villas and beach houses exuding luxury are set in the most secluded of settings. Two acres of naturally landscaped gardens frame a billabong pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your East on Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East On Byron Hotel Byron Bay
East On Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East on Byron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.