We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay. Short and sweet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Bay YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Bay YHA to your Saves list
Byron Bay YHA
7 Carlyle Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good stay. Short and sweet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Only stayed there for one night. It was nice, and the people were friendly. The staff was very accommodating, and didn't ask for the usual deposit for the room key since I would be leaving before the office opened the next morning.
Everything was generally clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
15
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I had a really nice time here. Had plenty of fun and met lots of people. Really friendly hostel with a nice atmosphere. Lots to do like TV room, 100+ movies to rent, help with tours and outdoor activities. Short walk to beach. Great staff. Big kitchen. Big lockers in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

An ok hostel, since it is byron it gets a lot traffic through the doors and is full during the summer. The rooms are quite cramped but not as cramped as the kitchen! The kitchen could double in size and still not be big enough for the amount of beds! Nice pool and decent rates make up for some of this however, the place needs refreshing! Can get a bit rowdy mind so if you want some quiet time go elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

So i stayed here on for 2 nights as i was looking for a cheap stop over on my drive to sydney. Was a great place to stay and not very full. The kitchen was an absoulte mess but what do you expect for a communal kitchen. Was a lovely day when i was there so that made it easier for sitting outside next to the pool. Room was basic and bed was comfortable although the pillow wasnt much. Staff were not helpful at all!!
Overall would stay again as im not really there to talk to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

There are 2 YHA in Byron Bay - on the same street. I stayed here a few years ago & enjoyed it. Back then the one thing that bugged me was no lockers in the rooms. This has been fixed + they have moved the paid lockers out into the courtyard & opened up a big TV room.
There is also a reading room & computer area you can relax in. Was to cold to jump in the pool for me but a couple of crazy people did - would be nice in the summer
Staff were great - organised a day walk up to the light house for anyone who wanted to tag a long - got to see some dolphins below us on the cliff's
They also had a free pancake breakfast once a week & a $5 BBQ night - we got our monies worth.
Each night there was something going on even if it was just a movie night.

Its only a short walk to the supermarket & then down the road to the centre of town before you head to the amazing beach area.

Great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in May and it did the job. I was in a 4 bed room which was pokey, quite dark but was pretty quiet and had lockers to store your things (though you need your own lock).

The hostel had a pool which was okay, a largish kitchen which was cleaned daily. The location of the YHA was pretty good, you could walk to the shops and the beach within 5 minutes - I think if it were closer it would be loud. One of the roads to the reception was quite poorly lit and some of my female friends only walked the better lit way.

The guys on reception were always friendly - big surfer place so it can get quite busy at times. We were able to hire out surfboards for free but don't know if that's because of the Oz Experience bus or whether that is available to everyone.

There is nothing great about this place, it did the job, felt a bit pokey and grubby at times but was average. M'eh. I don't think the Cape YHA would be any better but I get the feeling Byron Bay hostels are generally average anyway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Really cool hostel! lovely staff and riiiight in the middle of town. Any easy walk to anywhere. Just an awesome vibe around the place.
Thanks for having me!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Bay YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay YHA

Address: 7 Carlyle Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay YHA backpackers hostel is in the centre of town, only 400m to the beach. The large comfy common areas and kitchen overlook a heated pool and BBQ. The hostel has both multi-share backpacker rooms, and twin/double rooms with fans. Large decks to relax on. Internet, TV room, locker room, surfboards, free tea/coffee. Hostel bikes and bodyboards available. YHA member discounts on backpacker tours and activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Byron Bay YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Bay Yha Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Bay YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.